We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room service, not so much” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Copley Place

Save Saved
You added The Westin Copley Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Copley Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #30 of 77 Hotels in Boston
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“room service, not so much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is generally a very good hotel. The particular things I like after my multiple stays is that the beds are really great and provide a good sleep, the general overall quality is good, the staff is good and attentive. However, at this particular location the room service for some reason is particularly lacking! The newspaper I left on the floor wasn't touched (one would expect it to be put on the table or something), a shirt left on the bed was just thrown on the side table (one would again expect it to be folded and placed on the bed), the dust has only been cleaned where accessible - none of our stuff was moved to clean under or around, including in the bathroom (which seems rather strange to me). The whole impression I got was that the room service was more to get rubbish out and replenish any of the supplies that have run out, rather than to actually clean the room.

Room Tip: ask for a long corner room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments! We appreciate that you generally have a good stay with us, and it sounds like you come back regularly and that we missed a few things on your last trip? Please feel free to connect with me personally. We take great pride in the services we provide although we do occasionally run into a training issue. I would be delighted to connect with you, as the Hotel Manager I try my best to get to know our frequent guests. Feedback like yours helps us improve. Thanks again! John.Wedig@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    738
    250
    86
    32
See reviews for
483
442
98
668
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here to celebrate Fourth of July. We missed the fireworks due to the rain but the hotel made up for it...the river views outside our windows were amazing. We love that the hotel was connected to 2 nice shopping malls. Our teens was never bored. The location is excellent. If we return to Boston, this will be our hotel to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We are glad that you took advantage of our location and that you had a great stay! A lot of people were disappointed when the fireworks were canceled but many of our guests made the best of it, and it sounds like you and your family did too. Our crosswalks between the malls allow for miles of walking and site seeing regardless of any weather conditions. :-) Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The westin Copley place was a great hotel. The staff there is very friendly and goes above and beyond. The gym is huge as well as the pool. You get a great view. You can see the Charles River,John Hancock building, many surrounding churches and many other things.It is close to Fenway Park(10 minute walk) and is connected to the Copley mall and Prudential Building by a sky bridge.There is also a t-station nearby. the rooms are great and the junior suite can fit 5 adults. The bathroom was tiny with horrible flushing but the amazing and spacious shower made up for it. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are so glad that you had a great stay. Our team works very hard at trying to personalize and experience for each guest, and we agree we are very fortunate to have such a great location. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I cannot say enough good about this hotel! We checked in on Friday morning at 9:30 am and they had a room for us that early in the morning, and were kind enough to give us a 3:00 pm check out on Monday. The room was comfortable and roomy and the bathroom was huge. From the in room safe to the amenities there was everything you could think of--even free water in bottles.

The most heavenly thing was the bed! I have never slept in a more comfortable bed in any hotel I have ever stayed at. So much so that I didn't even want to get up on my last day (even though I eventually did). Also the hotel is pet friendly and it was great to see dogs enjoying their stay too.

The staff was wonderfully phenominal: helpful, friendly, and excellent in every way. I have never run into such a great bunch of people in such a large hotel.

Bar 10 was a great place to finish off the evening with a Sam Adam's or a Dark & Stormy. Great attentive staff and really good drinks.

The location was perfect for walking all over the Back Bay and places beyond. Very close to Swan Park, Beacon Hill, Newberry Street. The T station is close and there are always cabs around when you get too tired to walk.

Fablous hotel, beds, and staff--you just can't beat that! Thank you Westin for making my stay in Boston perfect!

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor and never heard any noise. I don't think you can go wrong with that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you so much! We really appreciate your kind comments and hope that you come back soon. We are thrilled that you had a great experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN, IRELAND
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Super hotel, very helpful staff throughout, starting with Juan at reception, extremely pleasant. Lovely spacious rooms. Dining sampled was the buffet breakfast (extensive choice but quite expensive for a family of 5, only did once!) and Bar 10 for a late night supper (well priced & good). Small deli (Ingredients) close to concierge excellent for tasty sandwiches, fresh fruit and chowder (the latter after 12 noon) – much better option for breakfast or lunch if on the move. Overall happy to recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and kind words in regards to our diverse array of dining options. We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful experience - and thank you for the recommendation! We look forwarding to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

When I stayed here the lady in the front desk made sure I had a fantastic experience. The room I had booked was for two people two queen beds but my travel companion fell ill so she couldn't make it. I let the lady know at check in and she let me know that even though they didn't have any single bed rooms available she would upgrade me to a room with a view. She asked me what I wanted to look at and I of coarse said the river. I had a beautiful view and she called to make sure I liked my room and told me if I needed anything not to hesitate to call the front. Everyone there made me feel so welcomed they really brightened up my trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for such kind feedback and for your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that your experience with our front desk staff was top notch - they are absolutely wonderful and I'm glad you were able experience some of our incredible river views. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. ]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The bed was amazing and the staff were so very helpful. Attached to the hotel is a shopping center and a Starbucks. We didn't use the gym or pool, but heard they were top notch. The housekeeping staff were willing to help in any way. The concierge went above and beyond. Nice, lively, bar and restaurant. The Copley Square area is also amazing. The architecture is amazing. We were within walking distance to so many things!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you had a great experience! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Copley Place

Address: 10 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Boston
#21 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Copley Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Boston Hotel features a great location and comforting accommodations. The Westin Copley Place is linked to the Hynes Convention Center and is only a stroll away from Boston's best shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Westin Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Copley Place Hotel Boston
Westin Boston
Westin Copley Place
Boston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Copley Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.