We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location, excellent choice for Boston Marathon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Copley Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Copley Place to your Saves list
The Westin Copley Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location, excellent choice for Boston Marathon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Over the last two years, I have stayed at the Westin Copley Place three times, most recently in February 2013. Positives: Unbeatable location, great views on higher floors. Negatives: Huge size (29 floors of guest rooms) can sometimes mean long lines, especially during big Boston events or meetings; bathroom is a bit small; lobby currently under renovation.

The Westin is located in the Back Bay area, close to the Back Bay station on the orange line, and the Copley station on the green line. It’s two blocks from Newbury Street, one of the main shopping areas of Boston, and one block from Copley Square, the finish line of the Boston Marathon. You can take the subway from the airport to the Back Bay station with only one transfer. Amtrak trains and the commuter rain also serve the Back Bay station, which makes the hotel even more convenient.

If you’re traveling to Boston for the marathon, this is an excellent choice. It’s part of the massive complex that includes the Hynes Convention Center (packet pickup), the Copley Place, and two other hotels. It’s possible to walk from one building to the next without ever stepping outdoors, which can be helpful when the weather is poor. It should be noted that although the hotel is close to the marathon finish line, race officials force runners to walk down Boylston Street away from Copley Square to around Berkeley Street, before allowing them to turn south and head back towards the Westin. After running 26.2 miles, those few blocks feel like another two miles.

Check in is usually swift and efficient. On my most recent stay, I was given a room on one of the upper “Starwood Preferred Guest” floors. The room was a typical Westin room, decorated in earth tones. I had a sweeping view of the Charles River and Cambridge, which was great. I found the bathroom to be on the small side. As soon as you open the bathroom door, you immediately see the toilet. The room has an iPod compatible alarm clock and nice lighting. The headboard has built-in lights, which allow for easy reading in bed. The desk/work area is sufficiently large, but the sitting chair near the window was rather uncomfortable. The hotel provides snacks for sale on a tray in the room. The tray has a scary note, warning guests that picking up the snacks will trigger the sensors and incur a charge.

The hotel staff are always polite and thoughtful. For example, there is always a crush of guests after the marathon, when hundreds of exhausted runners return to the hotel. The waiting area near the elevators tends to fill up quickly. When this happened, a kind hotel staffer led a group of runners to the hotel’s service elevators to alleviate the congestion. This was a welcome gesture and much appreciated.

Other reviews have pointed out that the hotel lobby is currently under renovation (as of February 2013). The normal check-in area has been moved to the bar/lounge. Guests have to walk along a slightly narrow path in the lobby area to move between the hotel and the complex, but it’s nothing major.

The Westin remains my preferred hotel in Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors facing the Charles River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location. Central to everything you need to do in Boston. Particularly as you point out, during Marathon...we are a block from the finish line so it is an ideal spot for runners. And as you point out with all those runners coming back almost en mass it can get to be slow and that is why we have staff positioned to take folks up the service elevators in a plan to alleviate some of the lines at that time.

Thank you also for your comments on the staff and the service...we are very proud of all of our staff and your comments are very rewarding...I will be sure to share this with the staff.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at least for Marathon, but sooner if that fits into your plans. You an exoerience our new obby which will be done in 10 days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    836
    278
    93
    34
See reviews for
551
498
103
778
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Copley for a two night stay as part of a convention. Every member of the staff was both friendly and very professional. We loved the view from our room on the 30th floor (#3025). The bed one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The room as part of convention rates was very reasonable for downtown Boston. Although the hotel undergoing renovations, there was no problem or disruptions with our stay.

If you are coming to Boston for a convention stay in this area . We had free transportation to the convention center, so there was no trouble getting to courses at the convention. They are still developing the waterfront around the convention center. There is limited shopping and few restaurants to choose from. If you are visiting Boston and want to take advantage of all the city happenings stay in Copley Square. You can walk to the Boston Garden, Newbury Street shops and hundreds of restaurants in every price range.

Room Tip: For a wonderful view of Boston ask for a room on the 30th floor facing southeast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, Owner at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location and the view. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

Thank you also for your comments on the staff and the service...we are very proud of all of our staff and your comments are very rewarding...I will be sure to share this with the staff.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again the next time you visit Boston, either for a convention of for a personal visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The is a very nice hotel near Copely Square. The hotel is very convenient to shopping, restaurants, the Hynes Convention Center and the entire Back Bay area. Our stay was for business. The hotel is very comfortable with all the amenities one would expect from a high end hotel. It has a business center and fitness center. The rates are what one would expect in the Boston area. Very near the T line.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

Thank you also for your comments on the staff and the service...we are very proud of all of our staff and your comments are very rewarding...I will be sure to share this with the staff.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I are loyal Westin customers. I travelled to Boston alone this time, booking the hotel 4 months in advance (thats how much I love the Westin). To my surprise, the hotel was undergoing renovations. I was surprised that the Westin had not taken the opportunity to let it's future guests know that there could be some disruption.

The room was comfortable as usual with tasteful decor and the reliable heavenly bed. All was good until I went to bed and my bathroom sink drain kept me awake all night. Every time one of the neighbouring rooms used their water, my drain would make a loud and awful sound. When I went down to the front desk and asked to change my room the next day, I was told that there was a conference at the hotel and that they were sold out.

I can recognize that my experience is unique, and that there is nothing really wrong with the hotel at all. Under normal circumstances, my stay would have been fantastic as usual. I just feel disappointed that at $350 a night, I couldn't get a good night sleep and was unable to relax in the hotel among the other conference guests.

Note to future guests: call in advance and ask questions. You will thank yourself for it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

The issue with the sink is a bit perplexing...as you can imagine in a hotel this size we have had issues with sinks from time to time, but i believe the loud soungd that seemed to be as a result of another room using theirs is a first for me. Perhaps you might contact me at michael.jorgensen@westin.com to share your room number so I can have it checked.

Quite honestly there is no good time to do a lobby renovation...so you choose what is essentially your slowest time...January and Febrauary in our case and you do the best to diminish any disruption that the renovation might cause...I am happy to sayt that we are 10 days away from completion and it will be quite beautiful.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, ME
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Westin for our annual sales meeting and I have to say it was impeccable. The food was great for every meal. The beds were so comfortable you couldn't ask for more. It was five degrees outside during our stay so the fact that you the hotel was connected to the mall was so nice everyone appreciated it. I would suggest this hotel to anyone visiting Boston. I was a truly nice stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston, and I appreciate your positive comments.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent 2 nights for the first time at The Westin Copley Place for our 35th Anniversary! While communicating with Anna before our arrival about requests and questions (which she had answered all ) , we did not expect to get most requests filled as first time customers. Well...
Upon check in we were greeted with sincere smiles and congratulated on our 35th anniversary ( very surprised nice touch .) When we walked into the room it was a total
( surprise again ) of the magnificent upgraded room. The view of the water and city were spectacular. Room service brough in a bottle of wine and a cheese & fruit tray ( again..wowed ) and a beautiful note from Anna. The room was very clean, modern and comfortable.
Anna went so out of her way to accomodate all our requests plus more. She took care of our reservations at Turner Fisheries in the hotel. Dinner was so special as Christine the maneger had set us up at an intimate and quiet table. Complimentary champagne and the most beautiful sample plate of desserts are memorable for us ( again not expected ) Thank you Christine. Our waiter Ismal was so professional and sweet to take care of us too.
Our stay was perfect in every way and because of all the little things that were not expected we believe ( at least at The Westin Copley Place ) that Service comes first and maybe location 2nd. We know now from experience that we will get the same first class service whether its a special occasion or just a getaway!
Thank you Anna!
Sue & Rich

Room Tip: Ask for a city view if your chillin out at night in your room. Ask for a river view if having coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Happy Anniversary Sue and Rich, and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston, particularly for such a special occasion

Thank you also for your comments on the staff and the service...we are very proud of all of our staff and Anna is no exception...a true Super Star that we are very proud to have on our staff. Your comments are very rewarding...I will be sure to share this with Anna and the staff.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Right in the middle of Boston's Copley Square, this great modern hotel is one of the two anchor hotels of the indoor shopping mall, Copley Place. (The other anchor hotel is the Copley Marriott.) Connected by heated pedestrian bridges, and across the street to the Prudential Center's Shoppes, it is possible to spend your entire stay without putting on a coat. Tons of shops, restaurants, a subway station in the basement, what more would you need?
Rooms are spacious, the lobby is under construction as of this visit (January, 2013), but the temporary lobby is more than adequate.
If you are looking for an indoor shopping venue that rivals Montreal's "underground city", the Westin Copley can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Copley Place

Address: 10 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#21 Business Hotel in Boston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Copley Place 4*
Number of rooms: 803
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Boston Hotel features a great location and comforting accommodations. The Westin Copley Place is linked to the Hynes Convention Center and is only a stroll away from Boston's best shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your The Westin Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Copley Place Hotel Boston
Westin Boston
Westin Copley Place
Boston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Copley Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.