We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Copley Place

Save Saved
You added The Westin Copley Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Copley Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 77 hotels in Boston
North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Westin Copley Hotel was a wonderful place to stay. I was in Boston for a conference and found it to be convenient and well-appointed. The price was reasonable, the service was good and the Back Bay location, meant it was accessible to a lot of quick and easy sight-seeing. My only issue was the amount of time I spent waiting for an elevator, each time I called one; that issue really needs to be addressed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Happy New Year and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

I am not sure why the elevators took so much time to get to you...with seven guest elevators other than the odd occasion when everyone breaks at the same time, there should not be an inordinate wait. I will look into this.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    868
    681
    231
    82
    30
See reviews for
430
421
97
638
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Westin for six nights. Flew in and out of Logan Airport, so did not have a car; however, the location of the Westin was amazing - walking distance to everything and easily accessible via public transportation. Cabs to/from this location are affordable as well.

I attended a large conference at the Hynes Convention Center/Sheraton Ballroom, which was a few blocks away. After long days at the conference, it was nice to be able to find many places to eat at the Westin without having to walk outside, as the hotel is connected to the Prudential Center/Copley via glassed-in walkway. Couldn't have asked for more.

Turners Fisherie in the hotel was great. Had a wonderful lunch with friends. Had a tasty scallop panini. Would go again.

The Hotel itself was well-maintained. The famous Westin Heavenly Bed held up to its reputation. Bathroom was wonderful with great white tea scent products (another Westin staple). Overall, would return again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

Thank you also for your comments on Turner Fisheries our Sustainable Seafood Restuarant....we are very proud of the service and food and your comments just validates that for us.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel was as-advertised - a standard Westin property. The lobby was pretty open and seemed to always have people down there using the free wi-fi, etc. The location was great to do some walking around or shopping (connected to a couple shopping destinations and steps from Newbury Street). Service was good, although I didn't really "use" it very often (check-in & check-out). The room itself was great - clean, big, comfortable, and the best beds in the business. The bathroom was nice and the in-room entertainment was the usual Starwood system.

Just watch out for the extras. If you stay a couple nights and do valet parking, use in-room wi-fi, go to the breakfast buffet one morning and rent a movie, you'll end up tacking on more than the amount of one night's stay. At least at the rate that I was at. Everything here just seemed way overpriced.

And, as usual, shame on Starwood for charging so much for wi-fi that usually stinks anyways. It's free for all of their lower-priced brands (aloft for example), but if you actually shell out some cash for a room, you have to pay extra (and a lot extra).

Room Tip: We had a river view room - the view was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

Sorry to hear that you felt the Wi Fi was not adequate...that can be very frustrating I agree...particularly if you pay for it...which you will at all the major hotels in Boston...I will have someone take a good look at our provider to ensure that we are being provided the correct amount of bandwidth.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here again on business in Boston and would recommend, although with advice to Westin/Starwood management. First, this hotel is well maintained- clean, good rooms, comfortable beds, adequate toiletries, and attentive staff. Great location with access to the T, and walkable to the Back Bay and Boston Commons areas. Good for location and for business travelers. Has a nice pool and high end fitness center with lots of variety of equipment. This time the check in staff gave me the top (36th) floor which is a Starwood member floor, with a slightly nicer room than some others in the hotel, and small perks like 2 robes instead of 1, plus a stunning view of Boston and the Charles river. But, Starwood management, listen to what this hotel drawbacks were: hotel "business center" is composed of a couple of iMac computers located in the lobby that one couldn't print boarding passes from, and one couldn't do any other work on. So why are they even there? Another stupid surprise was that the hotel's public restrooms were access key only, so what's the point of that? Where are guests and conference attendees supposed to go, in the adjacent mall?

I would stay at the Westin Copley again, but Starwood get your act together about the hotel computers and public bathrooms.

Room Tip: Get something high and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location and view. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

The computers that you refer to is a temporary solution until we renovate the lobby in January and add a new technology center called the Haven in half the gift shop space...the gift shop is being renovated and updated as well...we contracted out for the business center, but we are taking it over as I beleive we will be able to add value and provide better service, so this is temporary. Regarding the lobby bathrooms, we lock them to keep non guests from using them, and either the concierge or the bell attnedants have a key for you to use...you can also use the restrooms in the restuarant/bar which are always open and just off the lobby.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is my first stay at a Westin after becoming a Starwood Preferred Guest and I was mostly impressed. I was given a corner room on the 34th floor with great views and a spacious living area. Like others, I wish the bathroom was slightly larger. The counter space is adequate, but the general size of the bathroom leaves a lot to be desired. There's quite a bit of maneuvering to be done around the bathroom door, but it's not awful. Overall, the size of the room, comfort of the bed, cleanliness and great service far outweighs the small bathroom.

The in-house restaurant is good for breakfast, but it's overpriced. Without made-to-order omelettes and more variety, $21.00 is just too much to ask. However, it's good food and the service is outstanding. Perhaps the nicest aspect of the dining choices is the Fogo de Chao that recently opened in the hotel's lobby. As all Fogo locations that I've experienced, it's absolutely delicious and decadent.

Location of the Westin Copley Place is excellent. You're surrounded by shopping, restaurants and plenty of corporate spaces, so walks to business spots are short. The hotel gym is surprisingly well-equipped for a hotel: free weights, benches, cable machines and water coolers, not to mention refrigerated towels for cooling yourself down after a workout. I'm a dedicated fitness person and would use this gym again while I'm traveling.

I did not rate this Westin as "excellent" due to the rates and food prices being too high and the bathroom being small. However, I would definitely return and plan to do so in the future when I'm in Boston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caeur D Alene
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have been in a medical conference several times at the Westin, Copley Place in Boston.
It has always been excellent but this time I would like to especially talk about Loc Nyugen who is the Banquet Captain. This is a person who has gone out of his way. Much more than it is required.

I asked Loc on the second day of the conference if there where any croissants like the ones from last year. He responded that they had not been ordered for the conference but that he wold get some for me. In such a busy environment he took his time to go find me the croissants which I love. He came back with a smile and made me happy that morning. The small things are always the ones that make the difference.
That is impressive but what is even more impressive is the next morning he was waiting for me with a few croissants for my breakfast.
This kind of empowered and driven customer driven service is what makes places like the Westin shine amongst an angry competition.

I travel 200 thousand miles per year and this is the first time I experience something like this. I told Loc that this type of attitude and behavior is what makes people ascend in corporations and people like him eventually end up in the management of the company.

A true sign of great leadership and of great sense of purpose.

I am staying with my colleagues now but will definitely stay in the Westin in the future. The company I work for uses your services and we do annual meetings in the Westin NYC.

Please use Loc's example with the rest of the staff, he deserves the recognition.

Thank you

Jaime Upegui, MD
Hospital Medicine Program Director
Physician Relations Clinical Specialist

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Westinghouse Copley place is not as luxurious as other Westins I have visited. The rooms are large (try and opt for a corner suite), with nice big windows and incredible comfy beds. The bathroom in the junior suite was very very small for such a large room. Breakfast is average. I would expect a much bigger more varied buffet for the size of hotel, that said there is an option to order a la carte which was very good. The location is fantastic. Very close to new berry street which is very nice and short walk to the common, opera house etc. it's also right opposite back bay station and also has two very nice malls attached should you wish to shop. I wouldn't pay more than $250 to stay here as you may find better more affordable options nearby. My friends were staying in the Lenox hotel which is two minutes walk away. They really liked it and got a fantastic pre pay rate online. The Lenox offers a much less corporate feel if that's what you are looking for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Copley Place

Address: 10 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#21 Family Hotel in Boston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Copley Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Boston Hotel features a great location and comforting accommodations. The Westin Copley Place is linked to the Hynes Convention Center and is only a stroll away from Boston's best shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Copley Place Hotel Boston
Westin Boston
Westin Copley Place
Boston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Copley Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.