We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Copley Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Copley Place to your Saves list
The Westin Copley Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Bucks County, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Location and Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

What a great hotel. Attentive staff knew it was my 22nd anniversary (I informed them when I called to make the reservation) and there was a bottle of champagne cooling in the ice bucket and 4 huge chocolate covered strawberries on a lovely platter, when we arrived. All this was a gift from the Westin.
Bed Comfy. Requested down pillows and got them.
called ahead and made a reservation at the spa for a swedish massage, which was wonderful.

We were on the 35th floor which is the "owners" floor...which we are, I guess, as we own time share in St John. The views were of the River and they were beautiful...but we were rarely in our room. Which was large, comfy and had a flat screen TV (large size) and a nice size bathroom.
Inside the hotel they have Star Bucks and several restaurants.
There is also a coffee machine in the room and Starbucks is the brand they serve.

"10" Bar and Restaurant was very loud at night so we skipped it cause you could not hear yourself talk.


Had lunch at the Turner Fishery which was very good. They are known for their clam chowder and I now know why. Very tasty!

Skip breakfast at the hotel and walk thru the glass encloure to the mall (attached to the hotel) and get a great (cheap) breakfast at the Au Bon breakfast bar. Yogurt, fresh fruit and Bircher Muesli along with the usual Bacon, Eggs and french toast and berries as well as fresh blueberry pancakes. They weigh it and we ate a hearty breakfast for $6.00 each (instead of $17 each at the hotel for less food) which also included a large bottled water (you can have juice too, or coffee, tea, etc)

You can walk every where from this hotel. We walked to the Symphony on Saturday night (fabulous) and on Sunday walked to Faniel hall and Quincy Mkt. Had Lunch (Lobster Roll) at
Todd English's King's Fish restaurant...which was the best Lobster roll witht he sweetest lobster and most side dishes for $18.98.
Also went to the IMAX and Aquarium. which were both wonderful.
GIANT sea Turtles at the aquarium made the trip worth while as never seen any that old, large or close up. They also have sharks, seals, penguins and other things to look at. A sea life hospital is located in the lobby area....they were working on a sick fish (how did they know it was sick??) so we got to see that also.
Save your entrance ticket to the Aquarium and Imax and you get 10% discount at a lot of restaurants.
also BEST Ice cream we found (can you tell we are foodies??)
was right in front of the IMAX theatre..(across the street) there is a large Ice Cream cone hanging over their door so easy to see. they advertise on the Imax screen. Home made and huge portions.

Walked from the hotel to Beacon Hill one morning (thru Boston Commons) ...which is a beautiful park with a child's playground, swan boats on the lake and plenty of food vendors if you get hungry...as well as great places to picinic.
Lovely gardens are blooming everywhere and lots of sculptures and fountains to enjoy.

Wonder over to Charles Street which is Antique row .
The shops had so many museum quality things that it was fun looking at everything and being able to pick them up and touch them...unlike a museum which is hands off. I thought prices were very reasonable for the items we looked at.

There is also Hermes and Other Hi end shops in this area.

On the way back stopped at the Four Seasons hotel and had lunch...the cheapest thing on the menu was $17 for a turkey club sandwich and $4.00 for iced tea...the sandwich was delicious but I would have probably skipped this had I known the limited menu and hi prices...I could have had another Lobester Roll for the price of my turkey sandwich. (yea, I know ...enough with the Lobster...but hey, this is Boston!)

If you like Seafood we LOVED the following places:
*Atlantic Fish Co. on Boyleston
*Legal Seafood - still family owned and they have restaurants all over town.
*Skip Jacks - by far the largest Lobster roll but the bread was stale and the lobster rubbery and not sweet. (@ $23.00 was the most expensive too)
**Todd English at Faniel Hall by far the best, freshest and least expensive.
If you don't want sit down meals you can get great food in Quincy Mkt (Reminds me of a clean Reading Terminal in Philadelphia)

There are TWO malls located by the Westin Copley and both have plenty to see and do...Neiman Marcus and Saks 5th Ave are at one and Lord and Taylors at the other.
It rained while we were there so we went across the street to a Marshalls and bought cheap umbrellas...so you can even bargain shop at Copley.
You will not be disappointed with the hotel or it's location. We weren't. By the way...Valaria was wonderful at the front desk and
David and John at the Concierge were very helpful and knowledgable of the area. Book early for getting reservations on the weekends as they fill up early for dinner everywhere.
It is a Non smoking state...so sitting at the bar is always an option even when the place is full.

  • Liked — indoor pool and hot tub was great, bed comfy
  • Disliked — having to leave.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    779
    266
    89
    33
See reviews for
513
463
102
721
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

Overall, I was pleased with my stay at the Westin. My wife and I have stayed at several hotels in Boston and have always liked the Weston. While its not the Boston Harbor Inn, it is very nice and priced reasonably given its location. Only complaint was that I had asked for an early check in and while not guaranteed, they have always accomidated me in the past. Normal check in was 3:00 pm and we arrived at 12:30. Because the Red Sox had played a playoff game the night before they were sold out and behind. They took my cell number and said they would call when it was ready (1 to 1 1/2 hours they told us). We came back a little before 3:00 and it still wasn't ready. Without even asking the desk clerk had the floor manager come out and found us another room that was on the 24th floor (we originally had one on the 32nd) and appoligized for the trouble.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

I was in Boston for a conference. It was my first time spending any real amount of time in a major city. I was very impressed with what I saw of Boston. I stayed at the Westin for 3 nights and I was very impressed with the hotel. It was incredibly clean and quite upscale.

I was able to walk to the Hynes Convention Center without going outdoors by way of a walkway between hotels and buildings that even extends over streets.

The room was decent -- not great but decent. The gym on the fifth floor was far above average for any other hotel that I've ever stayed at. They had many (8-12) treadmills, free weights, and numerous machines.

One night I stopped at the concierge desk to ask about a good place to go for a run. They had laminated maps for 3 and file mile loops around the Charles River. I didn't really even expect to get a good answer much less a printed map.

  • Liked — Clean and convenient location
  • Disliked — They charged for internet access
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

Stayed here as part of a 100 strong group of 'Achievers' from my company...all expenses paid! We had a UK based travel team looking after us so they took care of all arrangements and as a result I didn't have much need to call on Hotel's own staff. Great hotel with great highrise views. Those Westin beds are amazing, almost worth the $10,000 you can buy them for from the in-room catalogue (add a bottle of Westin fragrance and a Westin shower to complete the experience at home!!). The breakfasts should not be missed, especially the breakfast bagels.

  • Liked — Upscale feel to the whole experience
  • Disliked — Bar prices!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

Went to Boston for one night and needed a hotel room. Ran a search on Hotels.com and saw that the Westin was offering a $189/night rate. Other hotels in the area were $200-$450/night, so I decided to book a room at the Westin. I hear that the Westin normally goes for $250+/night. Before booking, I signed up for Starwood Preferred Guest Services. It was very easy - did it online. Booked room via Westin website.

The Westin is in a very good location - attached to the Copley and Prudential Malls and within walking distance to Back Bay, Newbury Street, Boston Commons, etc. Lots of shops, restaurants and sights in the area.

Check-in was a breeze. I was very happy that they allowed me to check-in 3 hours early. Asked if they had a high floor and they upgraded me to a room on the 35th floor. They were originally going to put me in a room in the 15th floor. Doesn't hurt to ask for these things!

Didn't order room service, so can't comment on that. But, there are so many options of places to eat right outside the hotel lobby that there is no reason to get room service.

Room was spacious and clean and the bed was super comfortable. The Westin boasts that they have a "heavenly" bed and they're right. Bathroom is a bit small, but very clean and had a fancy shower head.

I highly recommend staying at the Westin Copley Place.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, and ease of check-in and check-out.
  • Disliked — Expensive parking ($40/day) and Internet charge
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

Had a Wonderful time at the Westin, wish i would have stayed there my entire trip. Stayed 1 day in sept of 07. upon checkin asked the front desk person if there were any upgrades and was immediately upgraded to a Corner Suite on the 32nd floor with views of all of downtown boston and the Hancock tower. Everything was very clean.

Ordered Room service that evening due to the red sox game running very late, and although the prices were astronomical the food was very very good even at 2am, and came up in the time frame they specified. For some reason downtown boston doesnt seem to have any 24 hour eaterys, as both hotels i stayed at i asked and noone knew a single one. Odd for people who work overnights not to know a 24 food place, esp. since the other location i stayed at was a B&B and didnt have room service to sell me.

I would highly recommend the Westin to anyone, Its pricy, but so is everywhere else in downtown boston, but at least to me I got what i paid for

  • Liked — Location, Service, most everything
  • Disliked — High Price of Room service, even more then most hotel markups for it.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

We spent 4 nights at The Westin Copley Place during our visit to the USA to attend a family wedding. We had originally booked a room at The Four Seasons but had to change hotels at the last minute when they were unable to offer us an additional room when the size of our party changed from 2 to 4. We were initially disappointed as we are great admirers of Four Season. However, we were seriously impressed by every aspect of our stay at the Westin. Our children's deluxe room was upgraded to a corner Junior Suite adjoining ours on 31st floor with amazing panoramic views over the whole cityscape and the Charles River. The Westin 'Heavenly Bed' more than lived up to its name and the amenities in the room were excellent. The service we experienced during our stay was exemplary and of the highest order. The genuine warmth of every member of staff we encountered was reflected in the amazing friendliness and hospitality which we experienced from the citizens of Boston. The people of Scotland pride themselves on their reputation for being a hospitable nation but we found the people of Boston to be just as warm and welcoming and friendly. It would be wrong to single any member of staff out for praise but Dan? the concierge was as professional and impressive as any concierge we have ever come across and we have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world. The breakfast restaurant serves a lovely selection of fresh and delicious dishes. Room service - with the award winning Clam Chowder from Turners in house restaurant - was first class with a huge choice. We found the prices to be fantastic value - well we would do as the UK pound is so strong against the US dollar at present! The Westin is attached by a convenient walkaway to an amazing shopping mall with many major high end outlets such as Saks of Fifth Avenue, Louis Vuitton, Niemann Marcus etc. We have been home now for three days and I still need to use asbestos gloves to handle my Amex!!! :0)

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Boston for whatever reason. A great hotel in a great city with everything that any traveler could ever need for a comfortable and pleasant stay.

  • Liked — The location, the breakfasts and the excellent staff
  • Disliked — The fact that we did not stay longer. Can't wait to go back!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Copley Place

Address: 10 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#21 Business Hotel in Boston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#24 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Copley Place 4*
Number of rooms: 803
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Boston Hotel features a great location and comforting accommodations. The Westin Copley Place is linked to the Hynes Convention Center and is only a stroll away from Boston's best shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Copley Place Hotel Boston
Westin Boston
Westin Copley Place
Boston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Copley Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.