We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Boston to your Saves list
Taj Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Hotel Credit
Ranked #41 of 77 Hotels in Boston
nyc
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

gorgeous old school hotel in the center of boston - so close to everything and so easy to get around
the staff were super helpful and everyone was lovely - lovely big room full of light
the bar was lovely and the staff great

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    363
    142
    82
    32
See reviews for
231
408
75
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Visited Boston during the weekend before Christmas 2012. The location of this hotel is ideal, as it overlooks the park and sits at the very beginning of Newbury Street, within walking distance to Fanueil Hall and the financial district. We stayed in room 1608, a deluxe park view room with a king size bed. Although the bathroom was small, the room was spacious overall with a comfortable bed. It's clean and offers wonderful views of the public gardens and the Boston skyline. This is an older building so the walls of the hotel are thin, and of course we had a drunk couple bickering back and forth in the room next to us (allegedly he lied to her and she spent the better part of the night attempting to understand why he'd do such a thing). The fitness center is superb and the overall feel of the property is old world luxury. Service is top notch. The hotel offers valet parking for about $45, which I recommend because Boston is a parking nightmare. Yes there are some stains dispersed throughout hotel carpeting, and this aspect is probably a year or two away from needing a complete overhaul. Unfortunately the elegant and sophisticated feeling hotel bar was packed both days we were in Boston, so we were never able to get a seat. I believe rates are significantly cheaper here in the winter. Another excellent option in a city full of them.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slauer
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Have to say I did not always feel this way about the Taj in Boston. There was a time 2 years ago where I was really disappointed in the service of the front desk and the valet staff. It seems the service has undergone a transformation because at every turn I was impressed by the kindness and unsolicited generosity of the staff. The hotel has never been a question, great history and location...history...awesome bed linens and clean! Bravo for whatever happened to improve the service level.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a terrific location in Boston.. Our room was very nice, and we were extremely pleased with it. The concierge made two recommendations for dinner and made the reservations for us- great choices! The only negative was that the bellmen were not "on the ball". We had to hail our own cab as they were too busy visiting. We had just come from a klimpton hotel in San Francisco, and they had excellent bellmen!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you are an afficianado of early 1900's hotels, the old Ritz in Boston is for you. The lobby, elevators, hallways and our room were authentic and beautiful. Our room was like a jewel box. Super location for shopping and sightseeing. A word of caution: there is a construction site across Newbury Street. If you want to sleep in, ask for a different location.

Room Tip: Avoid Newbury Street side if you want to sleep late due to construction across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We spent our 5th anniversary night at the Taj. The room, the service, the staff were perfection. We had a king room on the 7th floor overlooking Newberry Street. Rack rate $790. But with a 2 week plus advance reservation we scored the room for $237 including tax. Parking was $42 extra but worth it. Highly recommend the Taj and can't wait to return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

While we live in the Boston area , we have my large visiting family stay at the Taj when they are in town. Makes a great launch pad for us to gather and have shopping trips etc. Have always had a good experience. During the holidays we also gather the "girls" big and small for holiday high tea. A lovely experience all around. I highly recommend using the Taj as a spare room for visiting family. Perfect location at the base of the public garden and Newbury. Nice staff and large comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Check their promotion page for interesting deals and packages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#39 Business Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.