We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, Good Bar, Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Boston to your Saves list
Taj Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Hotel Credit
Ranked #41 of 77 Hotels in Boston
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Service, Good Bar, Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Taj is really a great choice. There's only so much I can say. It's kind of like Anna Karenina "good hotels are all alike." Well, that's true in a limited way. Like other hotels to which "luxury" might be added as a prefix, the Taj has opulent rooms, an attentive staff, impressive flower arrangments (okay, that doesn't really matter, but I'm try to create a sense of tableau)...in short, there's nothing to disappoint here. But those kinds of things don't really make it stand out. What does is 1) it is in a perfect location (and a great view) 2)the bar is really just enchanting in that dark-wood kind of way. If you're almost ready for bed but just not quite, it's certainly an asset. In short, if you're looking for a good hotel, this fits the bill. If you're looking for something that also happens to be ideally located, this is it. It's the perfect set-up for a little oasis in a little city with big buzz.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    352
    140
    82
    32
See reviews for
228
394
73
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunmow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed at the Taj for a long weekend mid November. Arrived at hotel around 1pm to be told room not ready until 3pm, they took our phone number and said they would call if ready any earlier, it wasn't. Room comfortable but bathroom really small. We were given a room on side of hotel, Newbury Street, we were woken every day but Sunday by workmen at 7am digging foundations on site opposite. We were woken at 4.30am one morning by Reception with our early morning call we hadn't booked !!. Good points lovely breakfast and lunch served by excellent staff in the "cafe" restaurant. The hotel is in a good spot opposite beautiful gardens. The concierge service again was excellent extremely informative, made a reservation for us at a great Steak house "Grill 55" short walking distance away. Shopping on Newbury Street great for shopaholics.

Only other bad point not to do with hotel beware taxis overcharging from airport, don't know if its the British accent and staying at a good hotel but we were charged more than double from airport to hotel as we were on return journey

Room Tip: Request room overlooking park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajBostonManagement, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Amanda,

Thank you so much for leaving your review and for your lovely compliments - I do hope you had a nice visit to Boston! It is great to hear you enjoyed your meals in the Cafe and our central location.

I do apologize we were not able to provide an earlier check-in. Our check-in time each day is 3pm, and we do our very best to have our guestrooms ready for those guests who would like to check in early. I would also like to apologize for the other inconveniences you faced during your stay. I have sent your feedback to the rest of our management team who will handle accordingly.

Thank you for staying at the Taj on your recent visit to Boston!

Kind Regards,

Taj Boston Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The staff was fabulous and went the extra mile for guests. Thank you. Their lobby was not up to a TAJ standard whatsoever. The hotel and rooms were clean and beds linens were fine but could have been much better. The towels and robes were like cardboard so I was very disappointed. The shower plumber was let's just say no adequate. Boston has some really fabulous hotels and I would chose another next time.

Room Tip: This is a great hotel for the location. If you want luxury and a little pampering, I would look else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajBostonManagement, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear 3cents,

Thank you for leaving your review here on TripAdvisor. We take all feedback very seriously, and appreciate you leaving your comments regarding your guestroom. I would like to sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction with your stay, and have passed your feedback along to the rest of our management team.

Thank you for staying at the Taj, we hope you had a lovely visit to Boston.

Kind Regards,

Taj Boston Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Taj as part a night in the city (Boston). We surveyed a lot of options from large chains as well as the boutique hotels, and for the price we thought the Taj was actually cheaper than many of the options. Given its perfect proximity to the Commons and Public Gardens as well as the Boston Summerfest we were also attending we thought it would work well.

The Taj was definitely superior in virtually every way. We knew the rooms would be small, and it was, but they were still very well decorated and the bathroom was stylish and well supplied. We ordered breakfast to the room and it was brought very professionally by the hotel staff. And the breakfast was exceptional. Not usual hotel fare at all. French toast with candied orange strips, very well done.

The staff was very good in terms of watching our bags after we checked out .... and -- I can't emphasize enough -- the proximity in the middle of things was excellent. It didn't feel like we were on the edge of the city. We were in the middle of it!

Competitively, our reservation with the Taj was a great value. I would go there again for all it offers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Taj is the former Ritz Carlton (new Ritz is across the Common in not as good spot).
Taj retains the former Ritz charm.
Check in was a little slow - glad I brought my confirmation printout - they were confused and it took a little too long to straighten out.
Room was very nice - we paid for a great park view,
but as with most older hotels, the heating system didn't work well.
Fortunately it was November and we could open the window without worry of mosquitos (noise was a bit of a problem).
Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.
Cafe breakfast in morning was great.
Fitness center is decent.
Better value I think, than Four Seasons nearby which is horribly overpriced.

Room Tip: Try to splurge and get a Park view room -the inner/City view rooms overlook the alley - kind of ding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel has vastly changed for the better since it was taken over from Ritz-Carlton by the Taj group. The management has kept the atmosphere of the good days of the Ritz, but has added a superb sense of service and friendliness toward clients. The location is the best one can ask in Boston, with views onto the public garden. The small restaurant, in the former café, is very good, but could be much better. In a hotel of this quality, an excellent restaurant is really a necessity. The management should consider re-opening the beautiful dining room on the second floor with its view on the garden. That restaurant with its own bar area for waiting, was really the top-of-the-line restaurant in Boston to which people went to celebrate everything and anything. It is such an elegant and light-filled room that it is a pity to use it only for teatime twice a week. Graduations, birthdays and anniversaries were celebrated by friends and family in this grand room with a view.
Bostonians were devastated when this room was closed in favor of the small restaurant at the ground level. The hotel rooms are very comfortable. and the service impeccable. Certain rooms even have a working fireplace, and a fireplace butler to start and maintain your fire, which is a welcome addition on a cold Boston evening.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Loved the hotel.. Loved the location.. Lived the staff.. Only disappointment was when I made my reservations I told them a fireplace was mandatory as we were coming from Florida and were excited about a fire in our room. It was the last weekend of Oct so it wasn't that out the ordinary weather wise. I booked one of the most expensive rooms to surprise my boyfriend for his 60th birthday. We arrived and when the bellman brought us up to our lovely room I asked about how we get/start a fire in the fireplace. He informed me no fires til mid November:( put a bit of a halt in my surprise .. I decided to let it go.. I was annoyed that it was my #1 request when making reservation-stating that -and only to find out it wasn't possible-kind of made me feel let on by the person who took my reservation.. It's a top notch hotel-I expected more from them..
As far as everything else -perfect location, beautiful surroundings.. Awesome weekend:)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#37 Business Hotel in Boston
#42 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Travelocity, LHW, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.