We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is in a GREAT location, would stay here again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Boston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Dalton Street, Prudential Center, Boston, MA 02199 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #49 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clinton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hotel is in a GREAT location, would stay here again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was my first trip to Boston and this hotel did not disappoint. I arrived by train and did not need to get a cab as you can walk to the hotel from the train station. It's a short trip through an adjacent mall, maybe a 15 minute walk. The hotel shows well and the front desk staff seems well trained and knowledgeable. The concierge staff is also very knowledgeable and wiling to help with every request. There is a Starbuck's, a spa (I did not visit) and a gift shop on the lobby level as well as a restaurant and a bar. The hotel is family friendly and very good for conferences. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was clean but did have a few areas that were not dusted. The bathroom was to small for a Junior suite and for a family. I feel that housekeeping did a great job cleaning our each day and the Housekeeping staff is professional. There was a evacuation during my stay that was not organized, the announcement came through each room but I do not know what the emergency was and I feel that the staff should of been more visible to assist guests and some kind of explanation should have been given to the guests. It was 1:00 am and it really took alot of people off guard. The hotel gym and pool are the best I have seen at a hotel. There is a Weight room and a Cardio room and the pool is clean and looked well-maintained. There is shopping all around this hotel and a Shaw's grocery store just outside the mall area. I did request a refrigerator and it was in the room when the room was ready. I would stay at this hotel again when in Boston, it is costly but the rates are what you would find all up and down the east coast.

Room Tip: Get a Junior Suite if traveling with children, there is also a pull out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    153
    52
    15
    17
See reviews for
74
97
8
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed here for a night due to a quick work visit to Boston. The hotel is really very central and my room was big although there was quite a musty smell in it. There are 2 towers and I stayed in the North one so would maybe try and stay in the South next time as maybe the views are better from there. Having said that, it's so easy to get to nearby malls, even if raining as there are covered walkways from the hotel to two malls nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We recently held a national meeting at this property. The meeting was scheduled months in advance with the majority of the group (300 +) arriving on Monday afternoon. I arrived at 2:30PM and upon trying to check in was told that no rooms were available, despite having status with Starwoods. I was told that a room would be ready in an hour and I would be called or receive a text. During this time a majority of our group continued to arrive and the lines for check in almost went outside the building. I checked back after an hour to no avail, two hours and still the same. Not until I complained to the manager and she went to the back was I given a room.

The property is old and in need of an update. Food service is well below par for a hotel meeting.

Room Tip: Top floors have a good view of the Charles River and MIT
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Luke M,
Thank you for your review. I'm disappointed to hear that you did not have a positive experience and that you were underwhelmed by your meeting. I would appreciate being able to look at the details of your event so that I can address these issues and ensure improvements are made. Would you reach out when you have a moment so that we can rectify the situation for you? GMAngelaVento@sheraton.com.
Kind Regards,
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

really nice location, great pool/sauna nice rooms
really perfect for what we needed.
UBER cabs great for getting around boston.
took the Boston Harbor Fast Ferry to Cape code this am it was great,
club floor is really good, food good

Room Tip: club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

During our stay 7/11-7/17 we had not 1 but 2 nights where the fire alarm went off. We were on the 12 floor and at 2:30 am the announcement and alarm sounded advising all to evacuate immediately. I called guest services and was advised that a fire truck was on site and we must evacuate. My mother in law has a bad back and hip and we had to go down 12 flights of stairs, stopping several times in severe pain and agony. No staff was in the stairwell advising or assisting. Once we entered the lobby staff was not available to advise or check on guests. We ended up taking a freight elevator from the 2nd floor to the lobby because she was completely unable to do any more stairs. We sat in the lobby for 30 mins and never once was spoken to by staff. The next morning I was told by a manager that NO fire truck was ever on site and we should not have been told to evacuate. We completed an accident report, requested a wheelchair, and were offered a food voucher in case we were unable to go out to eat. We were to attend the food service convention the next day, and sightsee. Her condition was so exacerbated that she was in a wheelchair our entire stay. Never once did a staff member check on us during our stay to see how we were. Then we had a second drill and this time did not evacuate. Again, never checked on. This in my opinion is negligent and terrible customer care and service. Extremely disappointed and our trip was ruined day 2 of a 7 day trip.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Bundle C,
Thank you for sharing your experience, we appreciate your feedback. I did receive your initial email and I'm aware that you have been in touch with our Hotel Manager and that he is working with you to provide a resolution. I am so very sorry that this trip was ruined because of the fire alarms. Please know that we are working with the Boston Fire Department to better understand the cause as well as with our teams to ensure we are better prepared to respond to such an incident. I'm confident that this situation will be rectified for you shortly.
Kind Regards,
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Terrible experience, the room ( suite) was nice, location was ok, but twice the heat went on maximum and the windows don't open! Terrible.

But mgmt did drop $25 off the bill. Left a very bad taste for Sheratons all over.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Jason K,
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you encountered an issue with your heat and even more so that you did not feel your concern was met with a sincere response. I'm pleased to hear that you were compensated for the inconvenience however and that overall you were happy with your suite. Please connect with us prior to your next visit to Boston so that we can ensure you have a more pleasant stay and allow us an opportunity to make it up to you.
Kind Regards,
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

SNA annual conference was at Boston Convention Center. Hotel was on the shuttle line but no where close to conference. Hotel was nice, clean, staff pleasant, and was attached to the Mall.
The last thing in the world you want to hear in the middle of the night when your room is on the 17th floor is a fire alarm- not only did this happen one night it happened two nights. Once at 1:30 and the second at 5:20 a.m. We ended up not having to evacuate but it is very troublesome to be awakened in that manor.

Room Tip: The higher up the larger the room
See more room tips
Green Features: If you do not want clean towels or bed made you will receive points
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Boston Hotel

Address: 39 Dalton Street, Prudential Center, Boston, MA 02199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Boston
#31 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#49 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-friendly Sheraton Boston Hotel, which is connected to Hynes Convention Center, is 4 miles from Logan Airport and close to the Shops at Prudential Center, Copley Place, and Newbury Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Boston
Boston Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.