We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Dalton Street, Prudential Center, Boston, MA 02199 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #44 of 81 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed here for a night due to a quick work visit to Boston. The hotel is really very central and my room was big although there was quite a musty smell in it. There are 2 towers and I stayed in the North one so would maybe try and stay in the South next time as maybe the views are better from there. Having said that, it's so easy to get to nearby malls, even if raining as there are covered walkways from the hotel to two malls nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    264
    86
    21
    25
See reviews for
124
147
19
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thomaston, Georgia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We recently held a national meeting at this property. The meeting was scheduled months in advance with the majority of the group (300 +) arriving on Monday afternoon. I arrived at 2:30PM and upon trying to check in was told that no rooms were available, despite having status with Starwoods. I was told that a room would be ready in an hour and I would be called or receive a text. During this time a majority of our group continued to arrive and the lines for check in almost went outside the building. I checked back after an hour to no avail, two hours and still the same. Not until I complained to the manager and she went to the back was I given a room.

The property is old and in need of an update. Food service is well below par for a hotel meeting.

Room Tip: Top floors have a good view of the Charles River and MIT
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Luke M,
Thank you for your review. I'm disappointed to hear that you did not have a positive experience and that you were underwhelmed by your meeting. I would appreciate being able to look at the details of your event so that I can address these issues and ensure improvements are made. Would you reach out when you have a moment so that we can rectify the situation for you? GMAngelaVento@sheraton.com.
Kind Regards,
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

really nice location, great pool/sauna nice rooms
really perfect for what we needed.
UBER cabs great for getting around boston.
took the Boston Harbor Fast Ferry to Cape code this am it was great,
club floor is really good, food good

Room Tip: club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

During our stay 7/11-7/17 we had not 1 but 2 nights where the fire alarm went off. We were on the 12 floor and at 2:30 am the announcement and alarm sounded advising all to evacuate immediately. I called guest services and was advised that a fire truck was on site and we must evacuate. My mother in law has a bad back and hip and we had to go down 12 flights of stairs, stopping several times in severe pain and agony. No staff was in the stairwell advising or assisting. Once we entered the lobby staff was not available to advise or check on guests. We ended up taking a freight elevator from the 2nd floor to the lobby because she was completely unable to do any more stairs. We sat in the lobby for 30 mins and never once was spoken to by staff. The next morning I was told by a manager that NO fire truck was ever on site and we should not have been told to evacuate. We completed an accident report, requested a wheelchair, and were offered a food voucher in case we were unable to go out to eat. We were to attend the food service convention the next day, and sightsee. Her condition was so exacerbated that she was in a wheelchair our entire stay. Never once did a staff member check on us during our stay to see how we were. Then we had a second drill and this time did not evacuate. Again, never checked on. This in my opinion is negligent and terrible customer care and service. Extremely disappointed and our trip was ruined day 2 of a 7 day trip.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Bundle C,
Thank you for sharing your experience, we appreciate your feedback. I did receive your initial email and I'm aware that you have been in touch with our Hotel Manager and that he is working with you to provide a resolution. I am so very sorry that this trip was ruined because of the fire alarms. Please know that we are working with the Boston Fire Department to better understand the cause as well as with our teams to ensure we are better prepared to respond to such an incident. I'm confident that this situation will be rectified for you shortly.
Kind Regards,
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Terrible experience, the room ( suite) was nice, location was ok, but twice the heat went on maximum and the windows don't open! Terrible.

But mgmt did drop $25 off the bill. Left a very bad taste for Sheratons all over.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Jason K,
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you encountered an issue with your heat and even more so that you did not feel your concern was met with a sincere response. I'm pleased to hear that you were compensated for the inconvenience however and that overall you were happy with your suite. Please connect with us prior to your next visit to Boston so that we can ensure you have a more pleasant stay and allow us an opportunity to make it up to you.
Kind Regards,
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

SNA annual conference was at Boston Convention Center. Hotel was on the shuttle line but no where close to conference. Hotel was nice, clean, staff pleasant, and was attached to the Mall.
The last thing in the world you want to hear in the middle of the night when your room is on the 17th floor is a fire alarm- not only did this happen one night it happened two nights. Once at 1:30 and the second at 5:20 a.m. We ended up not having to evacuate but it is very troublesome to be awakened in that manor.

Room Tip: The higher up the larger the room
See more room tips
Green Features: If you do not want clean towels or bed made you will receive points
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton for 3 nights and it was what you would expect from a top class hotel. We did have an issue with the desk on check in where we were booked into a twin room. the receptionist intermated we would not need a twin and proceeded to put us in a suposably upgraded room. when we arrived at our room we found it to be a room especially designed for someone with mobility difficulties. This meant it had a huge bathroom but the rest of the room was not well set out for us and quite small. We did contact the desk and were placed back into our original room. After this we were more than impressed as all the staff were very pleasant and helpful but it did leave us a bit bewildered as to the motive to move us in the first place.This hotel probably has one of the best locations as it is linked directly to the Prodential Centre so everything is very easy to get to. It has a Hop On Hop Off stop right at the front door so it is ideal for a first time tourist to Boston, which is a beatiful city. Thought it a bit strange also that we had to pay for wifi in our room but it was free in the lobby.

Green Features: I am all for not changing sheets and towells everyday and love hotels promoting this. Unfortunately I am not sure if this is a hotels focus or a way of cutting costs. I would like to see that the savings go to the enviroment and not profit.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Boston Hotel

Address: 39 Dalton Street, Prudential Center, Boston, MA 02199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#38 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Family Hotel in Boston
#51 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-friendly Sheraton Boston Hotel, which is connected to Hynes Convention Center, is 4 miles from Logan Airport and close to the Shops at Prudential Center, Copley Place, and Newbury Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Amex, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Boston
Boston Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.