We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cared for jewel in the heart of Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Dalton Street, Prudential Center, Boston, MA 02199 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #49 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A cared for jewel in the heart of Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I would like to congratulate this hotel for providing us with a care free easy stay in Boston. From check in to check out everything went along smoothly.It is not easy to find a hotel that has it all together, especially with a big chain of hotels like SPG.
Friendly efficient staff greeted us and gave us caring time as to which room we would like. The room was modern, extremely clean, large and quiet.The 'Sweet Sleeper' bed was so comfortable with every type of pillow you could want. Had good quality sleeps which equipped us with happy thoughts for a good day out in such an interesting city. Oh & if you want to crab a coffee and a light breakfast the hotel has a Starbucks just around from the lobby within the hotel.
The location was excellent as it is attached to a fabulous shopping mall with restaurants and wonderful shops.On our second night we also walked around the block looking for a quant restaurant for dinner and happened upon the most fantastic street full of cafés, restaurants & gorgeous shops. Wow, we were so impressed, especially with the lovely experience of eating outside in a French restaurant. Would highly recommend this hotel & would stay again if ever in Boston.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear JanSydneyAustralia,
Thank you for this truly wonderful review. It sounds like you got to take advantage of everything the hotel and the city has to offer. What a great experience - we're thrilled to have been a part of it! Come back and see us soon!
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    171
    55
    16
    17
See reviews for
79
100
10
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Very large hotel hosting multiple conferences so it is very busy. My room was very spacious with a nice city view. Perfect to walk to the shopping area, many restaurants nearby. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Denise F,
Thank you for your review. I'm grateful for your recognition of our unbeatable location and wonderful views. Come and see us again soon.
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed in room 2263 for six nights starting June16.

The bad: there was nothing special about the room; it was just as "standard" as "standard" could be. Hotels in Boston are expensive, and this one was well over $350 per night (after taxes). The hotel is a "domino" type structure, with views of either the harbor to the East (far off in the distance) or the city. We had the harbor. The rooms aren't noisy except for showers being turned on in other rooms/floors. The bathroom is smallish, and the soaps, etc. are generic. The bed was unexpectedly hard, and not what Sheratons are generally known for.

The okay: air conditioning is quiet, television had wide selection of channels, and the elevators were fast. There is a large Starbucks in the lobby, and the lounge is decent (but not anything special). The valet and front desk staff were pleasant and very helpful, in a city that I didn't find particularly warm and friendly (and I'm from "chilly" Seattle..).

The good: the premises is really clean. The 5th floor pool was large and open (i.e. the ceiling rolls back to the sky). The gym was updated, with weights and aerobic-equipment areas separated. The property is very close to the MBTA "green line" (light rail system), making walking and sightseeing very easy. It is attached to a mall, if you like that sort of thing... The property connects well to convention centers and adjacent hotels (Westin, Marriott, Hilton, etc.) so convention goers will have an easy time. The hotel is a stone's throw from Boylston and Newbury streets, with far more fun shopping and dining options than that mall that I mentioned earlier...

For the same price I would prefer staying at the far more interesting Westin or Marriott hotels, but if there is a decent price break then the Sheraton is well worth considering. There is nothing "wrong" with it; it is just really "standard" in appeal and amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view; the harbor view is of a harbor that is well off into the distance, and not real...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has the now-standard towel saving option, but other than that I didn't really notice any push on their part to be "green" (not to say they don't do it, but you won't notice anything in particular).
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Visited as member of large group with over a tonne of equipment. Bedrooms were good and had coffee making machine. Interesting scheme to help environment by giving a 5# voucher to the room occupant if room was not attended to on a particular day. Vouchers redeemable in bar, coffee shop
Expected a hotel of this size to be rather impersonal but staff were very helpful especially regarding storage facilities for the equipment and dealing with any queries arising from our large group. Large number of conference suites which seemed to be well used.Adequate public areas for breakfast/ dining and a bar plus a coffee shop. Excellent pool and fitness centre used by a number of our group. Plenty of shops and fast food outlets in the shopping mall plus an underground station.
Only slight negatives were the lengthy waits for lifts at peak times and being able to hear the occupants of adjacent bedrooms from time to time.

Room Tip: Hotel made up of two multi storey towers. Ask for room looking out towards Charles river.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good voucher scheme designed to reduce numbers of linen laundered and cleaning materials used.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear richard w,
Thank you for submitting a review. I'm so pleased to hear that you felt at home here. Personalized service is a big priority and even in a large building, it's something we pride ourselves on. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in June and were very happy with the location, the room and the service we received. The hotel is newly renovated and looks fabulous, the room was clean and modern. The deluxe king room we booked was very spacious and had a great corner view. The lobby is a good spot to sit and read, check email, watch TV or grab a drink in the lounge. Starbucks is right there as well. Although we didn't eat on-site at the restaurant, you have plenty of great options close by. The breakfast in the morning is a buffet only, no a la carte option, so one of the bellmen recommended the Pour House close by, a very affordable spot for a good breakfast until 11am everyday. You can walk to Fenway Park from here, and Newbury street is 3 blocks away. The Old Town Trolley bus tour picks up right out front of the hotel which was convenient. The staff were very friendly and the location couldn't be beat. I stayed at the Westin Copley previously and this was just as good. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The deluxe king room offers you lots of space and great corner views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear wenztravels,
Thank you for this wonderful review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and our unbeatable location. Our breakfast restaurant was recently renovated as well and now features a full buffet as well as an a la carte menu. Come back soon and give us an opportunity to provide you with a wonderful breakfast experience.
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I had a dream vacation of going to boson and seeing the Red Sox play with my 7 yr. Old son and boyfriend. I thought I had a nice place to stay and be taken care of as a guest. My experience at the Boston Sheraton was terrible. I don't recommend anyone stay there. My reservation was messed up and $ was taken from my account that I was on aware of being taken. Noboby wanted to fix anything and everything too expensive. I didn't feel welcome at all. Boston as a city was great when I return I will stay somewhere else. I also recommend that you do too

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Holly P,
Thank you for your feedback. I can imagine you must have been disappointed given your excitement for this trip. I'm sorry for the billing error you encountered, of course we try to avoid this kind of mistake at all costs, but I'm disheartened to learn that you didn't feel as though our team was there to assist in rectifying the issue. I trust this has been resolved in the meantime, if not please connect with us so that we can make any necessary adjustments. I hope that you will reconsider staying with us again in the future and please let me know when your travels take you back to Boston so we can make it up to you. GMAngelaVento@sheraton.com
Warm Regards,
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Hotel staff is very unfriendly and unprofessional. If you are looking for a hotel to sleep, forget this one (extremely noisy). Certainly not worth the rates they charge. I wish I had checked out tripadvisor before booking this room. Seems most guests are unsatisfied.

Room Tip: High floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Scott A,
Thank you for submitting a review. I'm terribly sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. You mentioned there was a noice concern - I would value any additional feedback you could provide as it relates to the source of the noise. The majority of our reviews are actually positive so your comments were surprising. Please reach out if you would be willing to share more information. GMAngelaVento@sheraton.com
Kind Regards,
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Boston Hotel

Address: 39 Dalton Street, Prudential Center, Boston, MA 02199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#35 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-friendly Sheraton Boston Hotel, which is connected to Hynes Convention Center, is 4 miles from Logan Airport and close to the Shops at Prudential Center, Copley Place, and Newbury Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Boston
Boston Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.