We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but Pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Boston Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Boston Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Boston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Dalton Street, Prudential Center, Boston, MA 02199 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #57 of 77 hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location but Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is an older Sheraton in the heart of the Back Bay area. Connected to a mall and walking distance to many fine shops and restaurants. Our 1st room was a bust. The next day after having maintenance attemp to fix the loud a/c and the tub drain, we finally got to move into a lovely, large room overlooking the Charles River. We had Club level which was nice in the am for breakfast. and it included a Starbucks machine that makes mochas, lattes etc. The staff in the Club lounge was so sweet. They were the best part of this experience. Parking was very expensive so be ready for that. For our 3 nights it came to almost $200.00 with taxes. The room service was fast, but horrible. The bathroom was very, very tiny. All in all, just OK.

Room Tip: Club rooms that face the Charles River in the "newer" tower. Starwood preferred guests, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am disappointed to learn about the conditions of your initial room but I’m happy our team was able to react quickly and provide an upgrade to a lovely Club room with a view of the Charles River. We certainly strive to exceed your expectations. I would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to connect with you personally to learn more details about your stay. At your convenience, please email me (with your TripAdvisor user name) at charmaine.taylor@sheraton.com. I look forward to connecting with you soon.

Warm Regards,
Charmaine R. Taylor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,047 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    601
    828
    407
    134
    77
See reviews for
432
505
140
715
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

This is a very good hotel in a great location.

We were in the north tower and had great views across Boston. The room was clean and modern and had very comfortable beds. The bathroom was very small though, but very clean and had everything you needed.

One annoying thing was that the lifts were very slow. It would appear they are working on some of the lifts which obviously did impact on this.

Overall a great hotel, in a good location, completely recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for recommending our hotel. We’re delighted you had a great experience, and were able to take advantage of the amenities and views from your guestroom. I apologize for the frustration caused by our hotel wide elevator modernization project. We look forward to sharing the results with you in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With Warmth,
Charmaine R. Taylor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Based on other reviewers' comments, I told the reservations agent my concerns about staying there. I requested a room in the North Tower and then paid to upgrade to a corner, which was money well spent. It was big and very, very nice. There was a separate sitting area with a tv, sofa, chair, and desk and chair, thus one person could sleep and the other work. The bathroom was big and clean. The gym is fantastic, and, along with a good amount of nice equipment, includes a really nice sauna. Convenient to the Boston Public Library, churches, shopping, and Fenway Park (walking distance).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of our exciting location in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay, a neighborhood abundant with shopping, dining, and historic trails and architecture. It’s also great you were able to take advantage of one of our junior suites that offers a separation between the bedroom and living room/work space. Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your story. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm Wishes,
Charmaine R. Taylor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

No complaints, but nothing real special either with the rooms. Location was great for my needs. Walked to Fenway, symphony, shopping and plenty of restaurants were nearby. Biggest issue was slow elevators in the South Tower. Hate to appear negative, but for the potential it was just an average hotel. Staff was great.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Sheraton Boston Hotel. We strive for excellence, and I’m disappointed to learn you only had an average experience. We are in the middle of a hotel wide elevator modernization project and I look forward to sharing the results with you in the near future. In the meantime, I would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to connect with you directly. At your convenience, please email me (with your TripAdvisor user name) at charmaine.taylor@sheraton.com. I look forward to connecting with you soon.

Warm Regards,
Charmaine R. Taylor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted to take a long weekend to celebrate our 6th anniversary and decided Boston would be the perfect location. We tried Priceline for the first time, and selected 4 stars and above. Our bid was accepted by the Sheraton Boston Hotel. At first we were weary about the negative reviews. All our concerns vanished when we pulled up to the hotel. The valet knew we weren't planning on parking there, because of the outrageous parking fees ($46 a day) and was nice enough to direct us to a cheaper lot. When we went to check-in, we were greeted by Joyce C. She was nicer than could be, and talked about the pros and cons of the location of our room. She was completely honest about everything- one side had city views, with larger rooms, the other had river views with smaller rooms, but newly renovated. After chatting with her, it came up that we were celebrating our anniversary. She was so nice with amazing enthusiasm and upgraded us to a mini suite on the 20th floor, with views of the Charles River.. The room was amazing, a sitting area with an additional TV, and a nice king sized bed. Our phone rang 10 minutes after we got settled, and I was afraid they were calling to say it was too good to be true, and we would be moved! Instead- it was Joyce calling to say they were sending us champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for our anniversary. Accommodations and service like that, has made us converts of the Starwood hotels. I grew up in a Marriott family, and didn't think I could be swayed!
The rest of our stay in Boston was just as great! Our room was always cleaned to perfection, with enough towels, and bottled waters. We visited the fitness facility twice, and both times it was great and spotless. I pay $140/month on a gym membership in NYC, and the cardio equipment in the Sherton put theirs to shame! My gym better step it up soon, lol. The pool and sauna were great as well! The location of the hotel was perfect- walking distance to all the great areas of Boston, with the T close by! The hotel is attached to the Prudential Center which was a pro.
Things we enjoyed in Boston: Freedom Trail Tour, Sam Adams Tour, game at Fenway, Newbury Street, Boston Commons, Little Italy, Mike's Pastries, Top of the Hub (for drinks)
We can't wait to take another trip to Boston, and hope to stay at the Sheraton Boston again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for the 5 star rating! I am thrilled you had a memorable experience at the Sheraton Boston and am delighted to know we were able to make your anniversary very special. Joyce is a valuable member of our team, and we’ll be sure to share your comments with her. We hope we have swayed you into becoming a loyal Sheraton customer and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to the city!

Warm Wishes,
Charmaine R. Taylor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My stay at the Sheraton Boston proved to be a great balance for business and pleasure in the Boston area! I soon realized how convenient this location is to key sites in Boston and a variety of food and shopping at all price ranges. My business was located just around the corner at the Hynes Convention Center, with easy access from the 2nd floor of the hotel. Walk a little further inside (or outside) and you have access to shopping, food, and the "T" for public transportation. This is a busy hotel with a diverse guest list - so fun to hear languages from around the world! The room was standard for Sheraton with a comfy bed and linens and dark shades to extend your sleep as long as you want. And a bonus: a Starbucks in the lobby!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I am delighted to learn you had a great stay at the Sheraton Boston Hotel. It’s great you were able to take advantage of our amenities and central location. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Boston.

Best Regards,
Charmaine R. Taylor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

First of all, the Sheraton is a perfect set up for families and for people looking to check out the City, particularly in the winter. The hotel is beautiful, it has a huge, clean pool and gym. And, it is attached to a mall with a food court, restaurants, shopping and an indoor T - there's even a grocery store across the street. You can literally go from your hotel room to the other side of Boston without going outside - a perfect arrangement when it's cold and your kids want to visit the aquarium or the museum of science. The hotel is also a quick walk to Fenway Park.

My last experience at this Hotel was the best I've ever had in any hotel. We were in town to celebrate a birthday - have fun, see a show. The hotel staff knew we were celebrating and upgraded our room to one that was spacious and gorgeous. They even sent up some snacks and a handwritten birthday card after we got settled into the room. This because I casually mentioned, once, that we were at the hotel to celebrate. The professionalism of the staff, the beauty of the facility and the convenience of it's location are unbeatable. This is the only place I stay in Boston, because it has it all.

Room Tip: I've never had a bad room. Some are larger than others, but they've all been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for being a loyal guest at the Sheraton Boston Hotel. I am so happy you were able to enjoy your birthday celebration with us and could take advantage of the hotel amenities. We look forward to creating more memories for you and your family in the future!

With Warmth,
Charmaine R. Taylor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Boston Hotel

Address: 39 Dalton Street, Prudential Center, Boston, MA 02199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
#51 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#56 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Boston Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-friendly Sheraton Boston Hotel, which is connected to Hynes Convention Center, is 4 miles from Logan Airport and close to the Shops at Prudential Center, Copley Place, and Newbury Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Boston
Boston Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Boston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.