We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to retire this hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Parker House

Save Saved
You added Omni Parker House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Parker House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #32 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Time to retire this hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I attended a conference here and it's just old and tired from the lobby to the rooms. Okay they have flat screen TVs and wifi, but the design is stuck in the 1930s tiny bathrooms, thin walls and uninspiring views. The beds are one of the few highlights.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omniparker, Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
As this guest pointed out, we feature contemporary amenities but are an historic property in the center of downtown Boston. Although we regret not meeting the expectations of this particular guest, allow us to mention that the majority of our guests find our location to be perfect and our ambiance charming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,771
    1,313
    489
    215
    121
See reviews for
831
1334
221
850
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Omni Parker House Hotel in Boston, MA. It is located in the middle of everything Boston. The room and service was excellent and we will make sure we stay there again when in Boston. I have stayed at other hotels in Boston but this one topped them all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

nice hotel overall, but the basic room we had was SMALL. We stayed at the Omni in San Francisco and had a much larger room for a "basic". Also there was a "maize" to walk from the elevator to the room.
we were very pleased with the location, staff was nice, huge lobby, lots of attractions very close by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I arrived in Boston and had booked in to this hotel via Virgin. I googled the hotel to find out what was said about it and was shocked to see that we had been allocated room 303 which is pro-ported to be haunted and not available for guests. I didn't sleep that we'll but not because of any activities of the paranormal nature, it was due to the heat in the room and the noisiness of the AC. The bed was not that comfortable either. The rest of the room was fine and the staff were very polite as you would expect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omniparker, Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comment about our staff and I regret that you did not find the bed to your liking. Most guests are very pleased with our bedding but we do understand that personal preferences play the largest role in guests’ opinions about beds. Had you notified us of your issue, we would have done our best to make you more comfortable. As to Room 303, rumors of it being haunted are an “urban legend” for which there is absolutely no evidence, although many people find these types of assertions quite interesting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

i was here for a small conference and it was perfect. the rooms are small but very comfortable, clean and nice. there is a great restaurant that has a nice brunch on sunday. it is close to the historic walk which takes you through all the Boston landmarks so the location is excellent. it was also close to the pier so can walk there as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Full disclosure, this was a family trip and our room was paid for. The hotel is in a great location. It is a short walk to the Common or Garden. You can get to the River or the Waterfront in 20-30 minutes by walking. There are also shops and stores close by in the event anything is needed. With all of that said, this is not the best option for families with small kids who want to be centrally located in Boston. We were booked in to a suite. I knew from research that the hotel is an old building and that rooms were generally small. Fortunately we were able to fit in with two small kids, but there was not much room beyond the bed arrangement.

The bathroom is very small. While I know that hotel bathrooms are generally small, this one was tough given the lack of space to really put out anything of need. The closet arrangement also cuts into the overall amount of space in the room. As anyone with small kids can appreciate, you need to have the ability to get things out of the way for the kids. This is close to impossible with the way the room layout is since you really can't get suitcases off the floor due to the lack of closet space. The sounds from the other rooms on the floor also carry throughout the hall easily, so you will likely hear your neighbors while trying to get the kids to sleep.

Service was hit and miss overall. There were times when the staff was receptive to our needs, especially in the dining area. However, more often than not the staff was either slow to respond or just unresponsive. I don't need to be waited on hand and foot, but consistency and competency are large. Checkout was a mess as charges were mixed up with the other family members, which is not the short of thing you want to be dealing with when you get small kids up early for a flight.

This hotel is probably great for those with older kids or no kids, but if you have small kids I would recommend looking at other locations since it is really hard to make this place work with young ones for a period of time.

Room Tip: Get a suite if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aesch, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I just stayed one night at the Omni Hotel because in the first hotel I wasn't able to close the windows. With the extremelzy loud outside traffik was it impossible to sleep.
This hotel here has very nice staff members. The desk clerk was the friendliest of them all.
She was patient because of my untrained English.
The lobby is a very nice place to hang out and realax or to meet interessting people.
I felt at home at all times. Its at a great location to.

My room had a nice King sized bed, a somewhat small bathroom, a flat TV set, a coffee maker, a fridge, a safe, an iron
ad two beautiful mirrors. There was a basket with snacks and refreshements. Even a swiss Toblerone chocolate bar.
The highspeed internet is really high speed. Like I am used to at home.

And for me the most important thing was that i could sleep loke a baby without being disturbed from the outside street nor the air conditioning system.

You have to stay in this hotel. It's a mist for everyone.

Room Tip: 1040, its quiet, no street underneath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Address: 60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Boston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#30 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Parker House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.