We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hotel OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milner Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Milner Hotel to your Saves list
Milner Hotel
78 South Charles Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great location, hotel OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I spent a couple of nights in Boston so I decided to select a location close to downtown and to Boston Commons/Public garden and that's it! Milner is positioned really close to everything you want to see in Boston, so if you want to stay in boston, ad a "reasonable" price go visit the Milner Hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    119
    112
    44
    64
See reviews for
43
107
77
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've stayed at the hotel for four nights. I have read favourable and unfavorable reviews but I decided to take a chance, and do not regret it! Location is superb, two blocks to the Boston common and public garden and close to two subway lines. The hotel is spotlessly clean, has coffee facilities and free wifi in the room. Drawbacks? The room is tiny, but if you go on tourism I doubt you will spend much time indoors. What is a bit awkward is the sink is in the room and the shower and pot have no door (I was in a single room). Breakfast is basic, and there aré not many tables to sit at, so sometimes it gets difficult to find a spot. Overall, I would certainly choose Milner Hotel again if I returned to Boston. No doubt

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey York Co
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent two nights at the Milner in September. It is a block from the Tufts T-stop and a block from the Wang theatre, where we were going to see a concert. Around the corner is the Rock Bottom Brewery (great beer) and Chinatown is about 3 blocks away. Compared to other hotels in the area, the Milner is a steal. Yes, the room and bathroom are very small, but very clean and comfortable, with a coffee maker, hair dryer and flat screen tv. Good water pressure in the teeny tiny shower, firm bed. We had a room on top top floor: it was quite warm but the AC worked great, we had two windows and had a quiet night, no street noise or noise from other rooms. The free continental breakfast had hard boiled eggs, cereal, waffles, yogurt, oranges, breads, all you need.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a short weekend stay in Boston. It was conveniently close to most attractions. the staff was super helpful on more than one occasion. While it might seem dated, I had no problems with the decor as I don't stay in my room for the whole time I am there. Its just a bed for the night and a place to shower before dinner. So location and price were perfect. I had not problems with noise in the hallway, or with the size of room as I was a solo traveler. All in all, a great location at a great price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Be sure to request a room with a window that faces the street, as many of the rooms have essentially no window (facing elevator shaft/wall etc). Our room had a "window" that faced a wall and the room was very tiny. I saw a room across the hall when they were cleaning it and it didn't look quite as tiny, so maybe request not a Harry Potter broom closet room under the stairs. The front desk girl on the weekday day shift and various other staff were unfriendly. Unfortunately hotels in Boston are expensive, so I guess this place is a good deal. It's still a shame though to pay so much money for such a crap room. Great location though; close to public transport and lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Milner for one night before flying out of Boston.
In a very expensive city the Milner is value for money. The location is fine. The receptionist was friendly and cheerful and helpful, allowing us to drop our bags prior to check in.
Whilst the room was small, it was very clean and perfect for our needs. If you were in an extended stay then yes it may feel cramped.
Complimentary wi-fi and breakfast were just perfect .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the third time I have come to Boston for business. I did not book this hotel, my company booked it for me. The location to the hotel is okay, but there is no parking or valet services. The rooms are about as big as a broom closet and smell musky. The wall paper is coming off of the walls, and there are water stains on the ceiling. If all you want is a cheap room with a bed, then this is the place for you. The rooms are small, extremely small. The dresser touches the bottom of my twin bed! the sink and vanity are in the room, and there is barely enough room to shut the door in the bathroom if you are sitting on the toilet. The A/C also does not cool down the room adequately.

At check in the girl was very unfriendly and unhelpful. When explaining my situation she seemed unresponsive, uncaring, and rushed to get me out of her way. She did brighten up once my colleagues showed up however. Overall, if you are paying money to come to Boston for work or pleasure, pay a little more to get something you can enjoy yourself in.

Room Tip: Cheap, free wifi and breakfast, good location, extremely small rooms. Rooms on the ground floor are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milner Hotel

Address: 78 South Charles Street, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Milner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milner Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.