We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Boston to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast!
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The staff was amazing, location is perfect, and the room and amendities were top notch. Everyone went above and beyond, and I was not an easy customer. You can relax and get away, or be in the heart of all the action. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful review of our Boston hotel. It's a joy knowing that you enjoyed the central location of our downtown hotel as well as the luxurious amenities provided throughout your stay. Our entire team was so delighted to read your kind words; the greatest compliment is knowing that our staff made your stay memorable...and for all the right reasons! We appreciate your endorsement and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    143
    47
    22
    13
See reviews for
298
264
49
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in a standard room. The rooms are a good size and overall typical of a Four Seasons hotel.

The pool area on the top floor was rather disappointing. The hot tub/pool are both in need of refurbishment. Also they advertise a steam room, but there is only a steam room in the men's locker room, nothing in the women's area! Hugely disappointing as this is one of the things I look for in a nice hotel. The gym looked ok, but didn't use it myself.

They do offer small pastries in the morning in addition to coffee which I thought was a nice touch to get you through until you get out of the hotel for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thanks for your review. I’m delighted you had the chance to stay with us, and I have also shared your comments regarding the pool and hot tub with our operations team. You’ll be pleased to know that we have been discussing plans to enhance these areas and I hope we’ll have the chance to welcome you back to Boston. In the meantime, if you’d like to share any specific thoughts about your stay, please contact me directly at awet.sium@fourseaosns.com. I’d be very pleased to be in touch. I appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts and thank you for staying at our Back Bay Hotel during your trip from Seattle to Boston.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Wonderful service from the front desk, the bar, the maids, everyone at this hotel is dedicated to making sure your stay is perfect. I attended a business meeting and my husband toured the city. The location of the hotel is excellent-- close to several great restaurants, transportation and great shopping on Newbury Street. We will be back!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We are so fortunate at our Boston hotel to have the chance to welcome business travelers from all over the world, and I thank you for taking time to share your thoughtful review about your trip from Maryland to Boston. With postcard views of the Boston cityscape and historic Public Garden, our location is indeed second to none. We were delighted that your husband had the chance to tour lovely Boston while you attended your business meetings.

If you didn’t already have the chance, I hope you and your husband will take advantage of our extraordinary Concierges on your next visit – these remarkable staff members have access to all the best of Boston and are always happy to make suggestions, arrange events, or assist at any time with things to do in the City. We’re so delighted that you will be back, and hope that your travels bring you to lovely Boston again very soon. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with fellow travelers.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was a surprise stay for my best friend visiting from FL. Everything from room, service, dining, valets was outstanding. I totally felt pampered and would return if only for an awesome night's sleep. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: View over Boston Common is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Such a pleasure to read your review. All of us at our Boston hotel were so touched that you chose us for a surprise stay for your best friend who came to Boston for a visit. Again and again, travelers tell us their overall experience with us is outstanding, and we were so pleased to hear that precise feedback from you. Thank you for highly recommending our Back Bay hotel; we feel a sense of accomplishment when travelers and guests give us their recommendation. We hope to welcome you—or your friends—back again very soon.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Myself and my better half stayed here at the end of May. The hotel is in a great location just by Boston Common and close to all the shops. We had a standard King room and it was nice - perhaps in need of a slight refresh but everything you would expect for a good quality hotel was there. The shower in particular was excellent and the bed very comfortable. There was a little noise from neighbouring rooms but was not too bad. There are several reasons why I would hold back on giving this 5 stars:
1) Concierge - not particularly helpful - we had a restaurant recommendation from a friend and when we asked them about it he said it was good - but tried to sell us another restaurant which is obviously on his book - he wasn't really listening to us - more like a robot.
2) Breakfast - not great - we had it included in our room rate and they tell you you have a certain spend and you pay over for anything more - there are no prices on anything and indeed when we asked at breakfast how much the buffet was no one seemed to know. The buffet itself whilst having a good selection only had 3 or 4 warm options of which all were luke warm. When we had breakfast in the room the next day they did a big 'no no' for a 5 star property of the hot water for tea coming in a jug that had clearly been used for coffee - so the tea had an airline like coffee stench - pernickety agreed - but this is a 5 star property with 5 star prices.
3) Check in - again you felt they were not listening - the girl asked if we had been to Boston before to which we replied 'yes' but then went off on a 5 minute robotic dialogue of what to see in Boston - even when interrupted to say 'yes we know' - it continued. Again pernickety but a great 5 star hotel listens.

We loved the small touches in the room such as the excellent turn down service with small change put in a bowl, a book mark on your book and a bottle of water by the bed.

We would probably stay here again due to the location and general comfort levels but we think some reviews get carried away. It's not the best Four Seasons we have stayed at and its not the best hotel in Boston - that award would have to go to XV Beacon in our view.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
I appreciate you taking time to share your thoughtful review about your recent stay. I have noted each of your comments and personally shared them with our Concierge, Food & Beverage, and Front Desk Teams. I’m delighted that you enjoyed our location, your room comfort, shower amenities and the small touches like our turn down service.

I do hope you will be our guest again in the near future, and ask that you contact me prior to your next visit at awet.sium@fourseasons.com so I can personally make sure that your visit exceeds your expectations and that you leave feeling that our Boston hotel is second to none. Thank you again for taking time to share your thoughtful comments.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel lives up to the reputation of the fabulous four seasons . We had problem with building noise and the way the team handled it was outstanding. They have compete empowerment to make the customer happy and it's is what makes it such an incredible hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
It’s such a compliment to the entire Four Seasons Hotel Boston team when travelers like you feel your experience was outstanding—thanks for sharing that feedback, and for describing our hotel as “incredible.” All of our staff care deeply about each and every guest, and we pride ourselves on providing personal service of the highest level.

You are very right in that every staff member is empowered to help exceed the expectations of our guests—we listen carefully and, at every level, strive to exceed expectations. I hope we’ll see you back at our Back Bay hotel very soon, and once again, please accept our sincere thanks for your comments and feedback.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I recently stayed at the Four Seasons in Boston. The experience was perfect from beginning to end. The staff was wonderful, the accommodations were impeccable. The location was perfect and I was easily able to get around all of Boston. I am going back in July to take my kids.

Room Tip: I had a "city view" but next time will likely choose a view of the Common but both sides a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks for your taking the time to share your experience at our Boston hotel with us. We appreciate your kind words; however, the greatest compliment of all is knowing that our staff provided extraordinary service throughout your stay. It would be honor to welcome you and your family back to our child friendly hotel in July. Be sure to take advantage of all of our family friendly offerings from the Top Secret Ice Cream Club to Passport Program, the 8th floor indoor pool and so much more! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Address: 200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Business Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's Back Bay, Four Seasons Hotel Boston houses 273 guest rooms including 77 luxury suites, many with postcard views of Boston's Public Garden, Beacon Hill and the gilded dome of the State House. Enjoy convenient access to Newbury Street - the Rodeo Drive of the East - as well as Charles Street's charm and the vibrant Theater District. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, the Hotel features exceptional complimentary amenities including: pool and 24-hour Fitness Center, Business Center, Wi-Fi, House Car and coffee & muffins in the lobby each morning. Children enjoy the Kids Passport Program, Cookie Making Classes, the chance to "Raid the Fridge" for a midnight snack, and so much more. Couples delight in The Bristol Lounge, Boston's favorite restaurant and Bar, featuring house aged steaks, the famous Bristol Burger, hand-rolled pastas, signature martinis, and nightly events including the decadent Sundaes on Saturdays Dessert Buffet. Four Seasons Hotel Boston is known for its longstanding tradition of warm, welcoming, wonderful service that makes it a true home away from home for travelers. There's so much to enjoy within Four Seasons Hotel Boston's walls - and just outside our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Boston
Four Seasons Boston
Boston Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.