We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service still exists!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 77 hotels in Boston
Bourne, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top notch service still exists!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have recently returned from one of the most fabulous experiences of our lives at the Four Season Hotel in Boston last weekend. First off, we had been communicating with the Hotel for many months, as we had decided to have our daughters wedding reception in the large Ballroom. The event manager, Philip, and his Assistant Anne, were just amazing to work with! They anticipated all of our questions, needs…and were always timely with responses and emails. There were no surprises (except that they bought us lunch several times when we came in for meetings!!). The entire planning process was just so much fun, and the staff seemed to make that a priority for us!
When the wedding finally arrived, we had many guest staying at 1/2 price rates in at least 25 of the well appointed, gracious rooms. The hotel staff treated not only us, but all of our guests, like royalty. We had personalized notes, and wine and champagne in our rooms upon check in. Bell men and hotel concierge were on top of our every request. AND…the wedding….the event of a life time. The food, the ballroom, every last detail were attended too perfectly. And…I really feel like the cost was fair. We had looked at many, many venues, and Four Seasons pricing was right in line. My husband and I are so thrilled (as was our daughter and her new husband and family!) …and have heard nothing but positive comments and accolades from our guests. It is SO nice to know that top notch service still exists! Thank you Four Seasons Hotel in Boston!!

Room Tip: Pay for the view of the Boston common….well worth it if you like lovely scenery!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
It’s such a joy to read your review about your daughter’s recent wedding at our romantic Boston hotel. I’ve relayed your kudos to Assistant Catering Director Philip Deschamps and Anne Fedak; on behalf of our entire team, thank you for your kind words. We know how tiring planning a wedding can be, and we’re elated that we were able to make that process flawless for you and your daughter. Our team strives each day to provide lasting memories for brides and grooms, and we're thrilled that you experienced just that. Further, we’re delighted that your family and friends enjoyed their luxurious guestrooms as well as the special amenities delivered upon arrival. We appreciate your business and are thankful that you shared the details of your experience with us. We hope to welcome your family back to celebrate special occasions for years to come.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    722
    123
    44
    18
    10
See reviews for
262
228
42
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent a weekend at the hotel and couldn't find anything that wasn't 5 star.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and out son was greeted in te lobby with a plush toy on check in.

The only thing nicer than the hotel is the view of the park when you exit.

The hotel is close to shopping, local transportation and Boston Commons.

The rooms are a nice size, quiet and up to date. Again smooth sailing all around.

We swam in the pool twice and found it to be a decent size for an indoor pool if you plan to do laps. There was also a nice sized jacuzzi.


All I can say is a pleasant stay in a luxury hotel, exactly what you'd expect from a Four Seasons.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We’re elated that you had a wonderful stay at our Boston hotel. The best compliment we ever receive is that our guests’ experiences have been 5-star through and through. I’m thrilled that you took advantage of the pool - a wonderful spot for R&R and a scenic view. And as a dad myself, I recognize just how important great service is when traveling with kids; I’m thrilled you received just that. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The location and overall appearance of the hotel is stellar. The staff is well trained to make your stay a memorable one. Guest rooms are nicely outfitted, great in-room amenities. Have stayed here before, and will do again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and loyalty and are overjoyed that you are such a fan - just as we are fans of yours. I hope you’ve had the opportunity to enjoy our many amenities (such as The Bristol Lounge, the 8th Floor pool, the house car and so on) and also to explore the hotel’s Back Bay neighborhood. We look forward to welcoming you back.
-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I'd forgotten what a gem this hotel is, and that hasn't changed. The staff manages to be genuinely friendly and very professional all at once. The building is beautifully maintained, the room service and restaurant are really excellent, and the location is just perfect.

I would not change one thing. Not one.

Thank you!

Room Tip: The park views are just beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. What a compliment - I’ve passed your kudos along to our hard working team. We hope to provide warm, caring and friendly service for all of our guests; the kind of service that lead to exceptional stays. We’re elated that you enjoy our Boston hotel and hope to welcome you back again soon.
-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I definitely recommend this hotel for visitors to Boston. Location wise it doesn't get much better in Boston especially as you are in walking distance of the shopping areas of Newbury Street, Boylston etc. The rooms are well appointed if a little dates, but they still retain a certain Boston charm. I prefer shower only rooms so I asked for one, and was very happy when they accommodated my request. Nice to have a room that looks out over the park too. The food is generally of very good quality. Huevos Rancheros not to be missed for breakfast! Finally all the staff are very friendly - especially the guys on the door who are always willing to help find a taxi etc.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your kind words about our exceptional Doormen (many of whom have been at the hotel since the day we opened our doors in 1985). I’m thrilled that you enjoyed the Hotel’s Back Bay neighborhood as well as meals at The Bristol Lounge. The Huevos Rancheros are indeed a breakfast favorite; two other hit dishes are the Lemon Ricotta Hotcakes and the Crab Benedict, a little taste of New England. We hope to welcome you back to the Four Seasons if/when your travels return you to Boston.
-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Thought the rooms and overall hotel atmosphere and facilities were a bit outdated for the room price. Didn't get to use gym/spa facilities but I expected a bit more from the Four Season brand name, especially with other luxurious hotels around the area (Mandarin, Liberty, Ritz).

Service was fantastic though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I assure you that your feedback is taken seriously, as it’s our goal to always be the hotel of choice in Boston for travelers. I appreciate your candor and hope you will reach out if/when your travels bring you back to Boston (my email: awet.sium@fourseasons.com). Thank you.
-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Such a great hotel, we were truly amazed by the level of service and quality of the room.
Starting with the room, 8th floor at the back of the hotel - we had the standard sized room, and it was stunning. Bathroom lovely and new. The concierge was so helpful (thank you Walter), organising our ferry to Marthas Vinyard and numerous questions over the few days. Front desk staff were fantastic, very keen to help and knowledgeable about the city - thank you Luke. Loved the room, the maid was so helpful and sweet (Julie I think?) - it all added up to a memorable stay and one that may well need repeating one day. Only minor gripe was we could not get into the Bristol lounge on Sat night, not a biggie but thought as a hotel guest it would be made certain we could grab a drink.
Oh and the pool / jacuzzi / steam room...amazing, what a treat to sit there looking out onto the city early morning or late at night. Staff so attentive and kind. oh one more, the hotel car - simply amazing to have the use of that.
Thankyou all for a great stay - we had one night at the Fairmont down the road and it comes no way close....

Room Tip: go high floor, at the front if you can, as you get the view of the public gardens. But you get it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Hotel Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Boston hotel. I'm so glad that you took advantage of the hotel's many amenities while here - including the 8th Floor pool and complimentary house car service. What delights me most, however, is that you received superior service. I've shared your kudos with our entire team and am thrilled our staff was able to make your visit memorable. I'm sorry you were unable to experience The Bristol Lounge; I'd like to ask that you please let me know if future travels return you to Boston so that I can personally ensure you are able to experience the restaurant and Bar. We promise it won't disappoint. Thank you again for your detailed review and business.

-Awet Sium, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Address: 200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Business Hotel in Boston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Boston 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's Back Bay, Four Seasons Hotel Boston houses 273 guest rooms including 77 luxury suites, many with postcard views of Boston's Public Garden, Beacon Hill and the gilded dome of the State House. Enjoy convenient access to Newbury Street - the Rodeo Drive of the East - as well as Charles Street's charm and the vibrant Theater District. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, the Hotel features exceptional complimentary amenities including: pool and 24-hour Fitness Center, Business Center, Wi-Fi, House Car and coffee & muffins in the lobby each morning. Children enjoy the Kids Passport Program, Cookie Making Classes, the chance to "Raid the Fridge" for a midnight snack, and so much more. Couples delight in The Bristol Lounge, Boston's favorite restaurant and Bar, featuring house aged steaks, the famous Bristol Burger, hand-rolled pastas, signature martinis, and nightly events including the decadent Sundaes on Saturdays Dessert Buffet. Four Seasons Hotel Boston is known for its longstanding tradition of warm, welcoming, wonderful service that makes it a true home away from home for travelers. There's so much to enjoy within Four Seasons Hotel Boston's walls - and just outside our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Boston
Four Seasons Boston
Boston Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.