We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 77 hotels in Boston
New London, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It is not hard to find nice things to say about this hotel. We enjoyed everything about our stay. The location is perfect. The view of Boston Garden from our spacious, nicely appointed room was beautiful. Great shopping and dining is just a short, pleasant walk from the hotel. Inside the hotel is a peaceful refuge from a busy day in the city. Service is attentive yet unobtrusive, they really know how to find the right balance. There are so many little details that they get right, that it is hard to choose a favorite. The health club and pool are located on the top floor with another nice view. You can go right up from your room without having to go through the lobby in your workout wear or bathing suit. This is a great hotel inside and out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re delighted to hear that you took advantage of our central location near great shops and dining options – and also had the opportunity to enjoy the Fitness Center and pool, two of our favorite areas too (the Public Garden view never gets old – and is beautiful in all seasons!). Many thanks once again; we’re already looking forward to the chance to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    703
    119
    41
    17
    10
See reviews for
252
226
41
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is the first review I have ever written on a hotel but after seeing so much variation in service in the hospitality world, I felt it was important to write this. The best thing about the 4 Seasons is the consistency of service no matter when you go back or what time of year you are there. The staff is exemplary and the facility is well maintained. The health club is excellent and the food is above par. The Bristol Lounge and the Bristol Burger are really a Boston Landmark by now. Recommend this 4 Seasons to everyone as a "must Stay" spot.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have a view of the Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We’re honored that your first Tripadvisor review is of Four Seasons Boston – we can’t thank you enough for taking the time to share your experiences both at our Four Seasons and at our sister properties around the world. Though we’re all in different cities and towns, our hotels do share that common goal to provide the best customer service to our guests that is warm, genuine and “just right.” We’re elated that you enjoyed our Fitness Center in addition to The Bristol Lounge. It’s true that the Bristol Burger has risen to fame and it’s easy to see why! We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in the future – it would be our sincere pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was stranded here during Hurricane Sandy and Massachusetts's State of Emergency. Although the storm did not hit us, the hotel - in a timely, courteous and reassuring manner - explained precisely how we might be affected - even to the extent of bottled water and a flashlight! I was left with the impression that the Four Seasons takes its guest responsibilities very seriously, and at no time was I in the least bit worried: truly, a safe port in a storm. The precautions were not needed, but you really only get a measure of a company when the s*it is about to hit the fan, and the Four Seasons came up trumps. I don't do gushing recommendations, but on this occasion, I'll make an exception. Outstanding.

Room Tip: Facing the gardens is slightly nosier as it faces the road, but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thanks so much for review. We know how difficult and unsettling it can be to be away from home during situations such as Hurricane Sandy, and we appreciate greatly that you took the time to share your experience with us. In difficult situations our thoughts always go immediately to our guests, to ensure they are safe, cared for, comfortable and well informed. We’re so glad that you felt just that - that is of the utmost importance to us, always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Friday we checked in and a birthday cake awaited my wife in our room. By Saturday morning the beautiful flowers in the lobby were completely different, but equally spectacular. And then there was the small morning yoga class held on thick grass across the street in the fall colored Public Garden. Small examples which in their totality make this Four Seasons so special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your email. We’re elated that you had such a wonderful stay to celebrate your wife’s birthday and also enjoyed our morning yoga classes, lobby flowers – and hopefully much more. We so appreciate that you took the time to share this with us. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back for a night – or weekend – again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed quite a few times at this property. It is always nice to come back to the Boston four seasons. The great location and the great staff make the stay enjoyable.
You basically get a true four seasons hotel at this property. The property in general is in very good condition. The lobby and general areas look great. It has to be noted though that the rooms haven't been refurbished very recently and especially the bathrooms might need a refurbishment as some of the rooms still have old tubs with curtains and no shower.
Generally speaking definitely one of Boston's best addresses.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We’re honored that you’ve chosen Four Seasons Boston for your visits to the Hub and are so pleased that you enjoy our location – and most importantly, our staff. We're excited to tell you that we’ll be making enhancements starting mid-November to our guest bathrooms and event spaces, followed by our guest rooms in 2013. We’re confident that you’ll enjoy the stunning results and hope you’ll visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I live locally and came to the Four Seasons for our 20 th anniversary.
We spent one day alone and then brought our 3 children for the second day.
Our experience alone was magical! From the wonderfully efficant and professional front desk staff to the room service every thing was lovely.
We had to take a taxi to dinner, no car avalible. Only draw back,
Turn down service refreshed our room, fabulous.
We have been to many luxury hotels that are great when it is just adults but when you bring the kids you are automatic treated like 2 nd class citizens! But when we brought out children in for the second night my appreciation for the hotel went up.
The kids were treated wonderfully! The younger two took a cookie making class with the head pastry chef. The staff in the kitchen were attentive and really interested in making sure the children had a great time. Our thanks to all! The
attention to detail to make them feel special for our entire visit was outstanding.
The Fours Seasons Boston is truly a throw back to an era in luxury service that is worth every penny! We are already planning to return for New Year's Eve.
Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We’re absolutely elated to hear of your memorable 20th anniversary at Four Seasons Boston! What a fun idea to have alone time and family time mixed into one stay! We so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us as well. We’re very sorry our House Car wasn't available at the time you were headed to dinner as we would have loved the chance to have you enjoy that amenity. We’re delighted, however, that your children took advantage of our Cookie Making Classes in the Pastry Shop. We love having families in house – it’s so much fun – and we’re glad it shows. We hope we’ll have the chance to host you and your loved ones once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good Hotel, very well located, so that you can do a lot of the interesting points in Boston by foot. Nice fitness /gym area with modern equipment where you even can let fresh / clean sneackers - if you forgott to bring your own.
Friendly staff and good service. Free WIFI in every room was a little bit slow. If you want a fast net you have to pay 15 $ a day.
What i´ve missed was a cofffe machine in the room. Beside that, room itself was well equipped an comfortable but the off/on switches/installations of the lightning are placed unfunctional. And as usuall in the US: no german TV channel available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our location, Fitness Center and service. We work diligently and passionately each day to ensure the very best service for our guests and are delighted when it shows. We've shared your feedback regarding our complimentary WIFI with our Information Technology team. We also appreciate your comment regarding coffee machines; we do have complimentary coffee and muffins in the lobby each morning and hope you were able to take advantage of that. We take each guest comment to heart and appreciate you sharing details of your visit with us as that's how we can work to improve! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Address: 200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#6 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Boston 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's Back Bay, Four Seasons Hotel Boston houses 273 guest rooms including 77 luxury suites, many with postcard views of Boston's Public Garden, Beacon Hill and the gilded dome of the State House. Enjoy convenient access to Newbury Street - the Rodeo Drive of the East - as well as Charles Street's charm and the vibrant Theater District. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, the Hotel features exceptional complimentary amenities including: pool and 24-hour Fitness Center, Business Center, Wi-Fi, House Car and coffee & muffins in the lobby each morning. Children enjoy the Kids Passport Program, Cookie Making Classes, the chance to "Raid the Fridge" for a midnight snack, and so much more. Couples delight in The Bristol Lounge, Boston's favorite restaurant and Bar, featuring house aged steaks, the famous Bristol Burger, hand-rolled pastas, signature martinis, and nightly events including the decadent Sundaes on Saturdays Dessert Buffet. Four Seasons Hotel Boston is known for its longstanding tradition of warm, welcoming, wonderful service that makes it a true home away from home for travelers. There's so much to enjoy within Four Seasons Hotel Boston's walls - and just outside our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Boston
Four Seasons Boston
Boston Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.