We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Boston to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Grafton,VT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Simply the Best Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We place a high value on having a nice room and hotel experience when we travel. Because of that we stay at a Four Seasons hotel whenever we can. Boston's Four Seasons hits all our buttons. It's elegant but understated in its design and decor. The rooms are very well appointed, well maintained and immaculate. But it is the phenomenal work ethic and sense of pride that is exhibited by ever member of their staff that makes this "home".

Some examples from this most recent trip: we walked in on our housekeeper who was cleaning our bathroom -- awkward. But she stopped what she was doing, knew our names(!!!) and engaged us in conversation about our trip as we grabbed a forgotten item and headed out. A special behind the scenes arrangement that was made by a staff member to make for a memorable birthday trip for my wife. The valet who tried to turn my tip away because he felt he had been given enough previously. The General Manager who took the time to hand write a note with a birthday wish.

We've never had an instance where the staff was fawning or gratuitous. They just believe in what they are doing and are, too a person, the nicest most caring people you would ever want to meet.

Room Tip: It's hard to get a bad room in a Four Seasons but the Garden View rooms and suites overlook Bost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
We can’t thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're thrilled: we feel like you “got” what we’re about at Four Seasons Boston! We all share a passion for what we do, and we just hope that shines through daily and always, with each guest. We'd love the opportunity to welcome you back in the future – with the goal that each experience you have here is equally as wonderful (if not more so)...many thanks once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    129
    46
    20
    12
See reviews for
281
245
43
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This was our second visit to the Four Seasons Boston but this time with our children. There is little to not like about this hotel. The pool is excellent (large with a beautiful view of the city) and the exercise facility is great. The concierge was superb. There were always a minimum of two staff at the desk and they were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The house car is available to take you to a short excursion which is a nice but not critical treat. I also love the location - right across from the park. Perfect location. This is the type of hotel that you can happily repeatedly come back to.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback. We’re honored that you chose Four Seasons for your second visit to Boston. We love hosting families and become as excited as they are when we know they're having fun. We’re glad you enjoyed the pool and took advantage of our House Car and expert Concierge. Hopefully you had time as well to dine in The Bristol Lounge, "Boston's living room." We hope for many more chances to make your family smile in the future, and we all thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Four Seasons Boston is my favorite Boston hotel and I'll tell you why. Unlike the Mandarin Oriental (too contemporary and lacking classic features) or the Boston Harbor Hotel (finishes remind me of a cookie cutter chain with no personality), The Four Seasons Boston maintains a classic ambiance and a very high, professional level of service. Although, I will admit that the exterior leaves much to the imagination - but I hear a renovation is under way.

Location can't be beat - diagonally across the street from The Taj (which has location as its best asset).

Rooms are traditional with every modern amenity.

I miss the classic French restaurant, but the Bristol Lounge is a great spot for lunch or dinner - I just wish it was a little less casual.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing Four Seasons Boston – and for taking the time to share such excellent feedback with us. We’re so pleased that you enjoy our ambience and amenities, not to mention our central Back Bay location. Our staff makes every effort to provide warm, exceptional service always, and we hope that’s what most sets us apart. We’re delighted you enjoy dining in The Bristol Lounge too; Chef's Spring menu debuts next week and will introduce some exciting and bold new dishes we think you’ll love. We hope you’ll have a chance to come “taste test,” and of course stay with us, again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I really don't have anything to take away from the hotel other than the price per room which was very high. But this boston. I had a wonderful time, however.

Room Tip: my room was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This was by far the best Hotel experience we've ever had. Knowing the weather might be bad in Boston, we wanted a place with an indoor pool, hot tub, etc, just in case. Not only was the weather bad but I couldn't get my family to leave the hotel even when it cleared up since they were so cozy in the amazing accomodations. What I liked best and will always remember were the smiles and greetings of staff -- from maids to concierge -- always helpful, always pleasant and a joy to experience. It just made my day each time I needed to ask a question or needed them. Terrific property, well located and an absolute delight!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
We’re elated to hear of your fantastic stay – and we all thank you for taking the time to share it with us. We’re thrilled your family felt cozy and at home in your guest room – the beds and bathrobes are so comfy we certainly can’t blame them for not wanting to leave! And the pool is our favorite spot too, not just for swimming but also for taking in the Boston views. We’ve shared your service kudos with our employees and are so proud of the caring they provide. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Amazing location; terrific staff. We booked this hotel for a high-level multi-day/night executive meeting & retreat. The staff bent over backwards to help us out with room reservations and any request we made. A+!

Room Tip: Many rooms overlook the Boston Public Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for your review! We’re ecstatic to hear about your wonderful stay. We know you have a lot of hotel options and are thrilled that you chose us. We're overjoyed too that our team went above and beyond to ensure your comfort, just as we should. There's nothing more rewarding than seeing our guests happy; that's the highlight of our day. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I was in heaven as soon as I entered our room! It was simple, yet elegant and so comforting. I had just spent 4 tough nights at a hotel in the Back Bay and was so thankful my husband came into town and we spent our vacation portion of my trip at the Four Seasons! The staff were wonderful. Chase was the bell boy who brought us our bags upon check in. He gave us a wonderful run down of what the hotel had to offer. He asked us our plans while in town and we told him we had tickets to the Celtics game. He immediately got on the phone low and behold, we had the house car scheduled to drive us to the TD Garden the next night. Staff were amazing! So friendly and helpful. Location of the hotel was great. You have the public garden and boston common right in front of you. There is also a T station at the corner on Arlington that makes it easy to travel via the subway. My husband and I are from California so if we can figure the T out, then anyone can! You can catch a freedom trail tour that begins in Boston Common. Or you could head down the street to Copley Square or stroll down Newbury for some great shopping and dining! And if it's too cold to head out...try the lobster mac and cheese through room service. Delicious!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSBoston, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Boston, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thanks so much for your review; we’re in heaven just reading it! We’ve shared your wonderful remarks with Chase – and also with the rest of our team who work so hard, and passionately, each day to ensure exceptional service. A trip to Boston is often not complete without a sports game, so we’re excited you got to experience a Celtics game (we’re gearing up for the Playoffs as we speak...fingers crossed!). The Public Garden, Freedom Trail and Newbury Street are perfect places to stroll – but yes, we agree: Room Service’s lobster mac & cheese is melt-in-our-mouths yummy (we're getting hungry just mentioning it). Thank you again for taking the time so share your thoughts with us; we'd be honored to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Boston

Address: 200 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Boston
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Business Hotel in Boston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's Back Bay, Four Seasons Hotel Boston houses 273 guest rooms including 77 luxury suites, many with postcard views of Boston's Public Garden, Beacon Hill and the gilded dome of the State House. Enjoy convenient access to Newbury Street - the Rodeo Drive of the East - as well as Charles Street's charm and the vibrant Theater District. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, the Hotel features exceptional complimentary amenities including: pool and 24-hour Fitness Center, Business Center, Wi-Fi, House Car and coffee & muffins in the lobby each morning. Children enjoy the Kids Passport Program, Cookie Making Classes, the chance to "Raid the Fridge" for a midnight snack, and so much more. Couples delight in The Bristol Lounge, Boston's favorite restaurant and Bar, featuring house aged steaks, the famous Bristol Burger, hand-rolled pastas, signature martinis, and nightly events including the decadent Sundaes on Saturdays Dessert Buffet. Four Seasons Hotel Boston is known for its longstanding tradition of warm, welcoming, wonderful service that makes it a true home away from home for travelers. There's so much to enjoy within Four Seasons Hotel Boston's walls - and just outside our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Boston
Four Seasons Boston
Boston Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.