We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Below Chocolate Party” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Boston Harbor Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Skate Away to Romance
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Boston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Above and Below Chocolate Party”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Chocolate is almost always good…so, when we heard about a chocolate party at the Boston Harbor Hotel, we were excited with visions of decadent grandeur. However, the Above and Below Chocolate "Party" was nothing like we expected.

I guess I thought it would be something like a large venue filled with a lot of different tables/chocolatiers, displays, things to buy, etc.

Instead, for $38 per person—plus a $3 fee per ticket—it was like a sleepy brunch, inside the (lovely) rotunda room at the Boston Harbor Hotel.

There were three stations of tables. Each had about five choices of dessert samples. One of the stations was gluten free with some vegan choices. (Only a couple of items were tasty in this section, sadly.)

Very quiet. Not a ‘party’ atmosphere. You could buy chocolate drinks; and milk and water were free.

But, really...meh.

(P.S. If you decided to take advantage of the ice skating after the chocolate 'party,' then it may make a difference. I was told the skate rental and skating privileges were $20 for adults.)

Room Tip: The staff at the Boston Harbor Hotel is excellent. Warm, personable, attentive and professional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf during our Above and Below Chocolate Party. We are truly disappointed that the event did not meet your expectations, but appreciate your feedback, as this will give us the opportunity to improve in the future. We would love for you to consider a staycation and come and enjoy an overnight at our hotel in the future! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    182
    41
    15
    11
See reviews for
271
435
52
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have visited Boston many times and have always enjoyed the various hotels, but The Boston Harbor Hotel is now at the top of my list. Staff is superb! My room was very clean and comfortable and the harbor view was so relaxing. Had a late dinner in the bar and our server Jennifer was a delight. There is always someone to advise, help or just wish you a good day. Breakfast was to die for with the freshest berries and the most luscious pastries. Dinner at the Sea Grille exceeded our expectations, both in quality of food and service. All in all a perfect hotel and the only place I will stay on future visits. Keep up the good work! We were thrilled!

Room Tip: A harbor view is always so restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
It is always nice to hear how much our guests enjoy being treated to outstanding service levels and luxurious accommodations. Our goal is to provide the most memorable experience; one that inspires a return visit each time. Thank you for your kind compliments and encouraging words. We look forward to welcoming you back time and time again to the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

yes, it's more money than I wanted to spend!! but for all you get, it's a great value compared to the less expensive hotels! great location-service-sheets-towels-bathrobe-security-choice of restaurants and bars-great fitness options-great view-quiet rooms! I could go on and on!! actually, I think the less expensive hotels are overpriced in comparison to what I received here!!

sounds crazy, but that's how I felt leaving!! spent 2 nights with my daughter and were treated like royalty in a very quiet and understated fashion!! and the views of the harbor-WOW! that's my read on this place. i'm coming back!

Room Tip: high floor with water view--1412 great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are so pleased that you had the opportunity to spend some quality time with your daughter, enjoying a little extra attention from our staff. It is wonderful to hear that you felt the value of staying at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf matched your expectations. It would be our pleasure to have you and your daughter return for another great stay in the future and we absolutely appreciate the compliments you have shared in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed for long weekend to enjoy Boston as a tourist. The location is convenient to the seaport and many new restaurants in that area as well as the North end. With a pleasant room on the 10th floor, at the level of the dome/bridge gave us a great harbor view without any overhead rooms. The room was comfortable and the turn-down was nicely done, but tow very minor missing items, no chocolates and no coffee machine for a morning or afternoon tea to enjoy our fine view. The Grill restaurant for teas and lunches were great.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the 10th, connecting the two buildings are the "top floor" without any rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
It was absolutely a treat for us at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf to have been able to create such a positive experience for you. We are thrilled that you had the opportunity to enjoy the breathtaking views from your guestroom and received a comfortable night’s sleep while here. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille is a wonderful place to sit and relax for lunch, enjoy the views and the company of friends. We are excited to welcome you back in the future and we thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Both my husband and I are always giddy about visiting the Harbor. We've been taken care of by the thoughtful and engaged staff every time. The excellent views and locations keep us coming back for more. As far as the food, we've had most excellent to just good. I'll still be back to visit! Yes, it's pricy, but you'd spend it on other things, not as enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for rates while attending business functions
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We think of our hotel as being a special place and we are thrilled that you feel the same way! Enjoying the views from any guestroom at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf is truly an amazing experience and we are so pleased that you enjoyed them. Thank you for your kind words for our staff and for your loyalty to our hotel. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Elegant, great location at the ferry landing, a few blocks from South Station. Excellent fitness center with pool and large jacuzzi. Superb harbor views. Outdoor concerts in summer. Very, very friendly and responsive staff.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your appreciation of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and its staff. We are thrilled that the convenient location of our hotel added such value to your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back time and time again. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

It was an elegant hotel and the service was great. Rooms are decent size and modern. I heard the gym was very nice but I didn't have the chance to try it.

The hotel is right next to the Hook & Company. If you stay there, you should definitely check the place out. Lobster roll there is delicious.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
One cannot make the trip to Boston without trying out at least one of the plethora of outstanding seafood eateries in the area and we thank you for sharing your enjoyment of it. We hope that during a future stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, you will have the opportunity to experience all the amenities we provide, including a visit to our Health Club & Spa. We hope to see you soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.