We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Boston Harbor Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suite Dreams Package
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights while in Boston for a conference. Upon arrival at 8:30 am we were greeted by an amazing and friendly front desk staff that allowed us to check into our room at that early hour! We were very impressed! The room was beautifully appointed with very comfortable beds. The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront, right down the street from the aquarium, a short walk from the convention center, and to many restaurants. I must say that the concierge service was outstanding, especially Ronnie, who was very knowledgeable and helpful and even able to provide us with a place to hear live Reggae music in the area on a Tuesday evening! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are delighted that your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf was one that exceeded your expectations. Your many wonderful compliments for our hotel and staff are sincerely appreciated by our team and we are so glad that the services you received from our Concierge added enjoyment to your stay. Creating a memorable experience for each of our guests is our steadfast commitment and we are thrilled to see we accomplished that with you. We look forward to your return for another exceptional stay and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    191
    44
    15
    11
See reviews for
292
467
56
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed one night at the Boston Harbor Hotel. We had a beautiful room facing the harbor on the 15th floor. The staff was very courteous and helpful. We had dinner at Meritage on the outside patio. The food was very good if pricey. We will definitely stay here again. The only downside to the whole experience-we wanted to watch the Bruins playoff game and could not find the channel. We called the desk and were informed that it was not available! Really? In Boston? Disappointing to say the least but otherwise a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
How wonderful to hear that you and your daughter had a chance to enjoy some quality time together while visiting the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. We are happy to hear that you were fully impressed by not only the meal you experienced but also by the outstanding view from your room overlooking the harbor. We do apologize that you were not able to watch the game you had hoped for, as the premium channel that carries those games are not included in the TV offerings at this time. Thank you for sharing your positive experience and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 3 nights while he had business in Boston. It is a beautiful hotel, loved being on the water! Good location for the Financial District. We had a regular city view room, which was very nice. However, we had issues with our TV. The network channels wouldn't work. We had to have someone come fix it twice, then I asked them to show me how to fix it myself, which was easy to do, but I should not being having to do that at a hotel of this standard. They said they would bring up a new TV but never did. We ate at the Rowes Sea Grill 3 times, and enjoyed it. Very fresh seafood as you would expect, and the breakfast was to die for. I had marscapone filled crepes with strawberries and bacon. I thought I'd gone to breakfast heaven. I used the pool twice, very relaxing. Great hotel for a short break!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your breakfast at the Rowes Wharf Sea Grille and your accommodations during your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. We are thrilled that you had an opportunity to relax, and hope that your husband was able to take some time to unwind also. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered due to your TV not working properly. We will have our Maintenance Engineers investigate as to what may have been the problem. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back for another exceptional stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I used to work in this building and love this hotel. If you love the waterfront, the Boston Harbor Hotel is a great spot. Here is the sole reason they received a lower score: any modern Boston hotel should have flawless internet. It isn't hard to achieve. Yet, throughout the hotel, there are massive wireless internet connectivity issues. Again, for a prominent hotel clustered amongst commercial buildings, that can't be the state of affairs. The front desk sent a technician who finally suggested that my MacBook Air was the issue -- and that iPads (of which he was carrying one) were the solution. The front desk was sympathetic to my plight and acknowledged issues but could not solve the issue. Oh, BHH, fix this soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
It was certainly our pleasure to welcome you as a guest at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and we thank you for your kind comments, as well as your concerns. The issue of internet connectivity is something that we are currently working on and trying to find the best solution in order to provide our guests with the flawless service you mentioned. We thank you for alerting us to this issue and apologize that the problem could not be remedied while you were here. We look forward to your next visit with us and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel staff were very courteous. Mentioned we were celebrating a birthday-returned to our room to find champagne and desserts-very nice touch. Took a dinner cruise on the Odessey-left the dock right outside the hotel. Worth every penny to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are so happy that our convenient location and dedicated staff made for an enjoyable birthday celebration during your stay. Our guest’s comfort and satisfaction are our top priority, as each guest is extremely important to us, and we are pleased that our staff’s efforts were so kindly acknowledged in your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf very soon and thank you for your gracious comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The location, facilities and standards in the Boston Harbor Hotel are excellent and it is an absolute pleaure to stay here. The service and friendlyness of the staff set this hotel appart from most hotels. I cannot find any fault with this hotel and thoroughly reccommend it for business or pleasure. The location makes it easy to walk to the financial centre and the views over the harbor are fabulous. The breakfast is again excellent especially at the weekends when they have a very extensive buffet.
I also used the spa for a swim every morning and found the spa facility very restful. They even lend you tea shirt and shorts if you want to use the gym.

Room Tip: The rooms with sea view are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are extremely happy to hear that you found an appreciation for the beautiful views of Boston Harbor that can be enjoyed from our guestrooms. The scenic waterfront location of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf provides our guests with the best of both worlds; convenience to many outstanding locations throughout Boston and ultimate comfort and enjoyment while here. Thank you for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming your return the next time you are in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed on a combined business/leisure trip with my 11 year old son. We were put in a room with facilities for disabled people, presumably because it had two double beds. All well and good. However, the bathroom was a real problem. For obvious reasons there was no bath (which is fine but reception/reservations might have mentioned it) and it was set up as a sort of wet room. Whenever we had a shower the bathroom flooded and stayed flooded until somebody came with a mop - the water just would not drain. Added to this, the door wouldn't shut properly, there were signs of rust on the walls and around the fittings, and all in all it was just not in keeping with the rest of the room nor the hotel generally. The management should be embarrassed.

One last moan (sorry - I had to vent) the in-room breakfast was the most measly and mean I have ever come across in my many years of visiting the States.

Other than that it's a lovely hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
It is certainly disappointing to hear that your recent stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations and for that we sincerely apologize. We are very concerned to learn about the conditions of the bathroom within your room and we will be sure to have our Maintenance staff promptly correct any drainage issues with the shower. Thank you for alerting us to this issue. We do hope that we can look forward to having you stay with us in the future when we can re-gain your trust in our hotel with the exceptional stay that you deserve. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.