We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BHH exceptional hotel and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Boston Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Boston Harbor Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Dreams Package
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BHH exceptional hotel and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Wonderfully appointed, exceptional staff and the seafood restaurant will not disappoint. Convenient to all points in Boston by the T or walking. The rooms are luxuriously appointed and quiet. The staff is professional and will cater to any need. You are remembered by name and always made to feel at home. We will return again.

Room Tip: Both city view and harbor view suites are quiet and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the convenience of the location of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, along with our exceptional dining options and dedicated staff. Catering to our guests every need is our number one priority and learning that you felt right at home while here is just what we want to hear. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    178
    42
    15
    11
See reviews for
265
415
50
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I spent the weekend before Superstorm Sandy hit - you would have have believed that there was bad weather around the corner as I cycled in a t-shirt on the Saturday afternoon and joined the locals in enjoying some truly glorious weather. Boston is a great city to visit and staying at the Boston Harbour puts a distinctive style on to your whole stay. The building is a joy to wander around, the rooms are really well appointed and the service is just right! The quality can be seen everywhere, even in the gym where the equipment and facilities are excellent. Staff are helpful and leave you to yourself. The bar is a great place to have a drink to set the evening off in style (or round it off in style at the end of the night!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are delighted that your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf was one that exceeded your expectations. Your many wonderful compliments for our hotel, staff and amenities are sincerely appreciated by our team and we are happy that you had a chance to explore our wonderful city. We look forward to welcoming your return and hope that it will be soon. Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stunning building with great veiws. Staff are all very helpful. If you want great seafood just walk over the train bridge to the shack where you just sit with paper plates and kitchen roll. If you want a great meal for your $ go to tapeo ( 266 newbury st) they have some of the best tapas and sangria i have had since spain. Hotel is very close to market and about 30 min walk to historical trail and 1 hour walk from park and cheers bar. Great little bar in the hotel perfect for last orders.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are so happy to read of your appreciation for our historic building and breathtaking views. The Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf is fortunate to be positioned on a vibrant and scenic waterfront locale and we love hearing when it creates an exceptional experience for our guests. Thank you for mentioning all the wonderful attractions that surround our hotel and we look forward to greeting you again soon. Your review is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It was ok. The previous week I had stayed in the Royal Victoria Holiday Inn in Sheffield UK, view of the canals, bedrooms virtually identical to Boston Harbor and with lovely staff for £75 including breakfast. The Boston Habor view was certainly not worth £300 a night more. Staff were friendly although not very efficient in taxi bookings etc.

Room Tip: Make sure you are overlooking the harbour of course ;). Disabled room was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. How wonderful that you had the opportunity to stay at such a beautiful hotel in Sheffield during your previous trip, and we can appreciate your comparison. We are disappointed that your expectations were not exceeded and hope that during any future visits, we can fully impress you with everything our hotel has to offer. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our two boys (10 & 7) for a week and had a great experience. The room was lovely and the beds were comfortable, even for my husband who has chronic back pain. Service is definitely the hotel's forte. Everyone was friendly and helpful and super responsive without being overbearing and our boys loved the nightly milk and cookies. We ate in the Rowes Wharf Sea Grille twice and were pleased that the kids' menu had real food that was delicious. And with kids, the location was excellent - we walked everywhere. Wonderful place to stay!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
It was certainly a pleasure to have your family stay with us at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and we enjoyed treating your boys to their nightly treat of milk and cookies! Thank you for mentioning our convenient location, which affords our guests easy access to many of Boston’s most iconic locations. We hope to welcome you and your family back again very soon and we thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The wonderful staff at this gorgeous hotel made our anniversary very special. They were gracious and attentive and could not do enough for us. The large room with the spectacular water view had a very comfortable bed. Our three dinners at Meritage were some of the best we had ever had due to the talents of Chef Daniel Bruce. The manager on duty during our stay, Gary Tymons, made sure that every aspect of our stay was perfect. Our breakfasts were delicious at the Rowes Wharf grill, which was presided over by a welcoming and accommodating host. We look forward to returning to this exceptional, five star hotel (in fact, we would give it 6 stars).

Room Tip: deluxe waterfront rooms are quite large, with sitting room, and have spectacular harbor views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are truly honored that you chose to celebrate such a special time in your life with us at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. Happy Anniversary from all of us and congratulations on 40 years together! It is wonderful that you had the opportunity to experience the cuisine at not only Meritage, but at the Rowes Wharf Grill, and enjoyed exceptional meals at both. We will be sure to pass on your gracious compliments to our staff and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Wonderful overnight at this hotel! Everything was top notch. Kind size bed was super comfy. Room temperature was great and we didn't have to listen to a noisy heater turning on/off all night like we have at other hotels. Our room did have two windows that partially open, this allowed us to get a bit of fresh air even on a chilly November day.

Stayed on 9th floor room #904 overlooking the harbor. Beautiful view of the water.
Each staff member was exceptionally friendly and outgoing, always greeting us as we were coming and going.

The bathroom had hairdryer, lighted vanity mirror, shampoo, conditioner, lotion and also had a shoe shine kit, a small vanity kit including Q tips, a nail kit and lovely gently scented hand soap.

We parked next door at the public parking and brought our ticket to be stamped at the front desk. The charge for overnight parking was $29 verses $44 to valet the car. It was just a short walk from the parking garage to the hotel. If you have a lot of luggage I would suggest using the valet service. We just had an overnight bag so it was not problem.

Hubby called to get his shoes shined (complimentary service) and they were picked up and returned within 20 minutes. Wow.

We checked in early to our room and went out for a few hours. By the time we got back at 6:30 our bed had been turned down and slippers put out by the bed.
We did not eat on site or visit the bar so I can't comment on that. We noticed the bar didn't open until 4:00 which was a bummer as we would have liked to get a cocktail earlier.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the North end restaurants. We ate at Mare in the North End. That was wonderful as well!

Room Tip: We stayed in 904 and it had a lovely view of the harbor. We could also see planes taking off and lan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us on your recent experience at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. We are delighted to read your kind remarks regarding our staff and the service levels you experienced. The breathtaking views from our Harbor Rooms are certainly exceptional and we are so happy to hear that they added an extra-special element to your stay. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again soon and we hope you will have the opportunity to enjoy a sumptuous meal at any of our outstanding in-house restaurants. Thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Amex, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.