We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely visit, very friendly & helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chandler Inn to your Saves list
Chandler Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 77 Hotels in Boston
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely visit, very friendly & helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I booked a stay here in case the Red Sox got into the World Series and, when they did, had a lovely visit here with a good friend and fellow Sox fan. The rooms are small, as has been noted, but they're very lovely and cozy. I like the little coffee machine downstairs, which I used to make hot cocoa on a cold night after walking all the way back from Fenway Park after Game 2. The only thing that surprised me a bit was that the hot steam from my shower, after I opened the door from the bathroom, inadvertently set off the smoke detector for a minute. Oops.

I would definitely stay here again. The staff are very friendly, extremely thoughtful and helpful, and made me feel right at home. And the Sox won! What more could I ask for? :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    414
    112
    48
    26
See reviews for
80
370
126
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Small rooms but affordable and in a great location on a beautiful tree lined street . Lovely neighborhood with a great sandwich shop right around the corner. Stayed here while visiting Northeastern. It was an easy walking distance to the school. Helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Ity bitty teeny weeny room/bathroom. Cute, updated, and very trendy hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The bar downstairs seemed to be males only, not that it mattered but I was indeed the only female in a room of 30.

Due to room size we would stay elsewhere upon returning to Boston.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is located in a really pretty area of Boston Back Bay. The hotel rooms are very modern and clean and this hotel was good value compared to other hotels in the boston area. Its easy walking distance to all main sites, charles river, tremont street and the main central square. The staff were really helpful and recommend the Beehive - which was a great spot to eat with live jazz. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel has a perfect location and we booked it because it was in our budget also. It turned out to be the perfect base for us to explore the city. The hotel is modest and the services are decent. Our room was quite clean, but tiny. What I liked was that there was maximum space utilization and it was very strategically designed. The bathroom was also very small but well maintained and fresh clean towels were provided. We stayed there for 3 nights and it was very comfortable. We would surely recommend it and love to stay here the next time we are here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have stayed at the Chandler Suites a couple times. The rooms are slightly larger than a typical hotel room with a small kitchen and a sizeable bath. The gym is basic. The location is perfect for Back Bay and South End. It's walking distance from Back Bay station. The check in is a bit of a pain - the front desk is in the hotel a block away.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We wish we had known about this hotel sooner, as in the past we have stayed at the big city hotels in Boston. This hotel is situated in Back Bay, in a charming neighborhood that you can walk around in and feel safe. It's a short walk to the train that takes you to Quincy Market and Fanueil Hall area. Also it's a short walk to Newbury Street! The front desk staff were most accommodating, friendly and helpful. The room was compact, as was the bathroom, but it had a large walk-in shower! The room was modern, clean, cozy with an excellent use of space. Nice flat screen TV on the wall. Windows that open! A VERY quiet AC in the wall - the quietest AC we've ever had in a hotel. It was everything we needed and at a better price than some of the larger hotels. We travel to Boston a few times a year and this will definitely be our "go to" hotel from now on. We may even try Chandler Studios (same management) across the street which offers rooms with kitchenettes.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors offer a better view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandler Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.