We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Chandler Inn-- Definately Recommend It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chandler Inn to your Saves list
Chandler Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loved the Chandler Inn-- Definately Recommend It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

Stayed at the Chandler Inn for five nights in October '07 and it was just perfect. Friendly staff on arrival and a very clean, comfortable room awaited us. Housekeeping tended to the room everyday and the bathroom was extremely clean Yes, it is not 5 star but it is in a fabulous location and has a 7 / 11 store just round the corner, if you are stuck!

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    414
    112
    48
    26
See reviews for
80
370
126
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

I stayed two nights at the Chandler last month. I wanted a clean, safe place to stay within walking distance of many local attractions, restaurants, etc., and I was more interested in seeing the city and spending my money on things other than a pricey hotel. The Chandler met my needs and expectations, and I would stay there again. As a single woman travelling alone, I felt very safe, both n the room and walking in the surrounding area. Contrary to some reviews I've read, it was VERY quiet. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was small, even tiny, and quite utilitarian, but that was okay with me. I would certainly stay there again.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

Although this isn't the most sumptuous hotel in Boston, its great value and in a great location. I would definitely recommend it and would be more than happy to stay there again. The staff were all friendly and the rooms, although basic, we're clean!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

Oct 5th 2007. Well my wife and I booked this because they let us stay 1 night and that 's all we needed. But according to our timing with booking, it was the last room in Boston at 250.00. It is not worth 250.00 because there is no ammenities, but, it is very centrally located in Boston. It is definitely clean. But the decor has a little to desire. We have stayed in MANY places for less with more ammenities. Barely 10 tv channels. Full size bed. SMALL Room. Most powerful shower we've ever experienced. It was like getting powerwashed. Anyway it is centrally located , basically in the heart of Boston. Right next door there is a busy gay bar. But that's not our scene so we avoided it. We would never stay there again.

  • Liked — Location and clean.
  • Disliked — Very small Room.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

The Chandler was a great getaway from Providence. Manager Kevin and staff were alot of fun. True as you read in most post , the TV reception could be better but who the hell comes to Boston to watch TV. The rooms are fine, and you can't beat the price, and think about all you get. ....Awesome Gay sports bar that's open air (sometimes) but always packed. Your two blocks from the T and in one of the most beautiful areas of Boston. Very safe area. The cafes are wonderful. Just a short walk in Eagle that later in the PM it becomes lot's of fun. Cruisy. I will always stay at The Chandler. .Best Staff, Best Location,Best Bars,Best Price. Best Cafes ect

  • Liked — Gay Area
  • Disliked — TV reception
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

I was attending a conference in Boston during a week that unfortunately coincided with the Harvard commencement, so rates at all the big chain hotels were through the roof! The accommodations were modest; my very small room contained two somewhat uncomfortable single beds, a loud window air conditioner, a high-pressure borderline painful shower head, a TV with a very limited channel selection, and generally out-of-date decor. The room was very clean, however, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. There was free (albeit slow) wi-fi. The inn has a relationship with a very nice local gym that will sell you a day pass for $10. Within a short walk were several nice places to eat, Boston Common, and the T. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for someone traveling on a budget and looking for adequate, practical lodging.

  • Liked — Clean, affordable
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

My daughter and I just recently stayed at the Chandler Inn. It is conveniently located in the heart of the Sound End of town and basically within walking distance of all major sites and attractions.
Our room was very clean and our stay made much more enjoyable by Geraldo, Kevin, Gretchen and especially Nathan who was most accomodating.
There was ALWAYS someone around when we had a question or needed a taxi. We will definatley return to this lovely inn.

Sadie
Newport, RI

  • Liked — The location and the helpful staff especially Nathan!
  • Disliked — That I couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#55 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandler Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.