We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monster Sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam LaGrassa's

Sam LaGrassa's
44 Province St, Boston, MA 02108-5120 (Downtown)
(617) 357-6861
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,819 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery
Neighborhood: Downtown
Myrtle Beach, SC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Monster Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place gets packed for lunch and there is a reason why! Food is great, atmosphere is lively. It can get a little annoying because of the crowd. But the food is excellent. Second visit, I'll be back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    89
    19
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good, pricey sandwiches.. With reason!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Love this sandwich place, great for lunch & great for (very) basic catering!

Nice variety, decent desert selections, good sandwich platter options for groups, delivery's pretty much always on time, very conveniently located in Downtown Boston (off of Bromfield Street, somewhat hidden).

-1 star: sandwiches are $10-11 each (slightly overpriced for just a sandwich), but if you have it, it’s worth it… Better than all the greasy options other fast food spots offer. Plus, they're not stingy with the toppings.


I frequent this place. Company catering.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing!!! Must eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had the Pastrami and Corned Beef Combo. The flavors of this sandwich are absolutely amazing. The meats melt in your mouth. The russian dressing gives it a good kick, and the slaw gives it a nice crunch. You can really taste all of the flavors working together. This is definitely one of the best sandwiches I have ever had.

I also had the Clam chowder which is definitely the best I have had in Boston. I have tried about 5 or 6 places since I have been here, that have been recommended by locals, and this one is the best. YOu have to try this place. I will be eating here several more times while I am here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best Pastrami ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were walking around Boston and we stumbled across this place only to tell our friends who are locals who raced down from their building to join us. Evidently there is usally a huge line and we caught it right before the lunch rush. The sandwiches were huge enough that we all only were able to eat half and then we took the rest back to their house for dinner. The pastrami that i had was melt in your mouth goodness and i will go there every time I am in Boston.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love :P Must in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Delicious, huge sandwiches from breakfast to late lunch. Whats important open from 11-ish to 3 pm closed on Sundays!! check the opening times. The only disappointment is that its closed on Sundays - but i guess everyone needs a rest.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sam LaGrassa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam LaGrassa's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.