We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monster Sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam LaGrassa's

Sam LaGrassa's
44 Province St, Boston, MA 02108 (Downtown)
16173576861
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2,564 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Monster Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place gets packed for lunch and there is a reason why! Food is great, atmosphere is lively. It can get a little annoying because of the crowd. But the food is excellent. Second visit, I'll be back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wildcatgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, pricey sandwiches.. With reason!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Love this sandwich place, great for lunch & great for (very) basic catering!

Nice variety, decent desert selections, good sandwich platter options for groups, delivery's pretty much always on time, very conveniently located in Downtown Boston (off of Bromfield Street, somewhat hidden).

-1 star: sandwiches are $10-11 each (slightly overpriced for just a sandwich), but if you have it, it’s worth it… Better than all the greasy options other fast food spots offer. Plus, they're not stingy with the toppings.


I frequent this place. Company catering.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SignedKenadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing!!! Must eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had the Pastrami and Corned Beef Combo. The flavors of this sandwich are absolutely amazing. The meats melt in your mouth. The russian dressing gives it a good kick, and the slaw gives it a nice crunch. You can really taste all of the flavors working together. This is definitely one of the best sandwiches I have ever had.

I also had the Clam chowder which is definitely the best I have had in Boston. I have tried about 5 or 6 places since I have been here, that have been recommended by locals, and this one is the best. YOu have to try this place. I will be eating here several more times while I am here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laneelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Pastrami ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were walking around Boston and we stumbled across this place only to tell our friends who are locals who raced down from their building to join us. Evidently there is usally a huge line and we caught it right before the lunch rush. The sandwiches were huge enough that we all only were able to eat half and then we took the rest back to their house for dinner. The pastrami that i had was melt in your mouth goodness and i will go there every time I am in Boston.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattlegrrl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love :P Must in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Delicious, huge sandwiches from breakfast to late lunch. Whats important open from 11-ish to 3 pm closed on Sundays!! check the opening times. The only disappointment is that its closed on Sundays - but i guess everyone needs a rest.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ewa2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam LaGrassa's also viewed

 

Been to Sam LaGrassa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing