We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT pastrami!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam LaGrassa's

Sam LaGrassa's
44 Province St, Boston, MA 0210 (Downtown)
(617) 357-6861
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,881 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Fast Food, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery
Neighborhood: Downtown
South of Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“GREAT pastrami!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We live in the greater Boston area and my husband and son were in town on business 2 months ago and went there for lunch...they have not stopped raving about the Reubens and the pastrami...in fact, they have both been trying to compare it to other places where we have gone and both are adamant that none comes close! Not Reins in Connecticut nor several spots in San Francisco and New York and a previous fav in Berkeley.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    105
    23
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wow! Excellent sandwhiches...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

All it is cracked up to be on Guy Fieri's triple-D list. One of us had roast beef, the other pastrami. Both excellent. Good quantities of ingredients, fresh and delicious. Highly recommend this place for lunch.. just a short walk from the Downtown Crossing station on the Orange Line T.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Thank you Reviewers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went to Sam's after reading the reviews and were not disappointed. Fortunately we got there at 2pm and not after 3.30 as this is when they close. Suzie had a Triple Club (3 meats) and me a Pastrami/Corned Beef Combo both with Cokes less than $28. Wow, fabulous food at excellent prices it doesn't get much better for lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had the corned beef sandwich and my boyfriend tried the roast beef sandwich. Both were wonderful and HUGE! So bring your appetites. We shared an order of fries, which was plenty for the both of us. We decided to do take out and go eat in a nearby park, since it was a beautiful day. They have a good system going, because the place was packed but only took about 5-10 min to get our food. The girl that took our order was surprisingly kind and patient with any questions we had as first time customers. We look forward to our next trip to Boston and Sam LaGrassa's!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Keep going back for years...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I first discovered Sam Lagrassa's when I was an undergrad at Emerson College in 2003 and stumbled upon it on my way to Downtown crossing. It was indeed a pleasant accident! I don't know what they put in their meats, but oh my goodness their sandwiches are amazing. The only drawback is that they are only open Monday through Fridays from 11am-3:30pm (hence the 4 bubble rating), but I still go back whenever I have a day off from work and I'm in area. I even have friends from West Coast who makes sure this is one of their stops when they come visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sam LaGrassa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam LaGrassa's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.