We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Mike's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bova's Bakery

Bova's Bakery
134 Salem St, Boston, MA 02113-1749 (North End)
617-523-5601
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 2,818 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: North End
Apopka, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than Mike's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Reviewers gave Mike's the number 1 rating, but we found that Bova's was much better and friendlier!! It was hard to buy just one or two choices of all they have to offer. The coconut cake, pecan pie, lobster tails, cannoli, calzone, etc were excellent. The staff was friendly and very accomodating. We visited Bova's 4 times and Mike's only once.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    141
    49
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northborough, MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Avoid the lines on Hanover - go to Bova's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Everyone loves Mike's, but why wait on that line? We always wander off of Hanover and over to Bova's. Huge selection! Chocolate chip cannolis are unbelievable! Also tried some sort of pastry pretzel with chocolate and sugar - can't remember the name of it but you'll see it and you'll love it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious, horrible service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We went to Bova's and we had a few questions about what we should order. You would think there were 50 people waiting behind us, because the guy taking our order was so rude and acted like he couldn't believe we were asking questions. We ordered a chocolate cake, chocolate peanut butter ball, and a s'more. Desserts were delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Open 24 hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

No matta what time of day they have fresh desserts waiting for you. Its a tiny place but the food speaks for itself. The prices are good too. Try this place just as good as Mikes and Modern with no lines

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Went in between 1 and 2 pm, so tgat may be part of the problem. My boston cream pie was very cold and almost stale. The flavor was good though. My wife had a cannoli. The filling was excellent, but the pastry itself seemed stale. One of my boys had an apple turnover that he loved. My other son said his cheesecake was good

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Bova's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Bova's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bova's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.