We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bova's Bakery

Bova's Bakery
134 Salem St, Boston, MA 02113-1749 (North End)
617-523-5601
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 2,817 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: North End
New City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After our meal, we stopped at this little bakery and picked up three items. The lobster tail, the tiramisu and a cannoli. We took it back to our hotel room and enjoyed it later in the evening and boy all three were great! Recommend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    53
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped in and bought some Calzones, Arincini(forgive the sp) and Pastry. I am not usually a fan of the Italian cold cut calzones, but these were delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed everything we purchased. There was a line but we were waited on swiftly and courteously, I would definitely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not to Europeans taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Sorry for this review, but Europeans would't enjoy! It's not worth the calories. But for Americans should be good - a lot of people buying so they should enjoy :) I mean its fresh and nothing bad about it! Try it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“went here every day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

While staying in the North End, we found out that Bova's is open 24 hours! Oh Joy! We went in every evening and picked out our evening dessert snack and our breakfast treat for the next morning! The lines were so so long at Mikes and Modern that we never even went there. I loved the hard working family members at the counter and I loved the happy, friendly vibe. We tried something different every day. My kids loved picking out what cookies they would have and they sell milk there also. The best memory of Bova's was after our Red Sox game. We came home to our rental and did not want to go in so we walked down to Bova's and it was packed at midnight. We stood out front eating our cookies and milk and I will never forget what a wonderful evening that was.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampton, NH
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

A perfect North End bakery. We tried 5 of the small bites and found all to be fresh and tasty. The friendly staff offered tastes and thank us upon leaving.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bova's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Bova's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bova's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.