We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillstone Restaurant (Boston)

Hillstone Restaurant (Boston)
60 State St, Boston, MA 02109 (Formerly Houston's)
+1 617-573-9777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: For nearly 10 years, Hillstone has been serving American classics, sushi, and some of the best value Prime USDA steaks in the city-all prepared from scratch daily, with the highest quality ingredients available. Along with our crafted and exceptional value wine list, our menu offers something for everyone. Located at the edge of the financial district, Hillstone offers a sleekly designed space, appointed with mahogany hardwoods, cozy leather booths, and an impressive island bar with floor to ceiling windows. We are located at the intersection of 60 State Street and Congress, adjacent to Faneuil Hall. We validate parking for up to 2 hours for the 60 State Street garage Monday through Friday for guests who enter the garage after 3:30pm, and during all business hours Saturday and Sunday. The 60 State Street garage is located on Merchants Row off of State Street.
New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Located very conveniently, this was a very pleasant dining experience. Nice, modern, big space inspiring a good feeling. Food and service all were very enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    67
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very engaging staff and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We went to this restaurant at a friend's recommendation. We were made to wait for a few minutes despite making a booking.
When we got a table and the staff attended to us, we were just blown away. Our steward/ hostess engaged with us very well and answered all our queries (my husband has some meat restrictions and wanted to figure what he could eat). She not only gave us the right info, but also suggested what would be better. The helpings were huge! The food was good..! The hostess mentioned that they have a good wine collection, but we didnt get a chance to sample it.
The ambiance of the place is very subtle and calming. We enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The food is a "A". I had sushi and it is betterthan most in Boston. For dinner I had baby back ribs...they were AWESOME. cooked just right. Service was very good and the five nut brownie for dessert was tops. The staff could have done better with the water as my glass was empty for a while before the staff filled it. Over all a very good experience!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Last Minute Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Had to suddenly change holiday plans .Brother found Hillside on internet we decided to get together as a group of 9 and have a family dinner .From entering to the finish Staff very professional and courteous worked well together and made a great night for us.The food was very good we had a variety on items and everyone was satisfied .Started with a garden salad with champagne vinaigrette which I think was the best I ever had many others agreed.The only issue was the seating as we had 9 people they do not have a table to accomadate that amount so we had to separate into 2 booths next to each other.I woud highly recommend this if you are in the Fanieul Hall area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great for after work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This place has a decent sized square bar (bartenders in the middle) with some great cocktails. It's right in Fanieul Hall off of State and Congress, so a lot of people go here after work. I can't speak for the food, as it has only been an after-work drinks place for me, but the restaurant seating area is very spacious, and from what I can tell, the kitchen looks like it could be in a TV show. Given the touristy location, the drinks are a little pricey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillstone Restaurant (Boston) also viewed

 

Been to Hillstone Restaurant (Boston)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillstone Restaurant (Boston), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.