We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O Ya

O Ya
9 East St, Boston, MA 02111 (Downtown)
(617) 654-9900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
O Ya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 2,673 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Atlantic Ave and South St
Transit: South Station on Red Line, Commuter Rail and Amtrak/Acela.
Guilderland, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

If not for the somen noodles which were way too salty it would have been a perfect meal. It is expensive so either you have a wallet to match or like me you love Japanese food and trying new things. An example of what you can try is hamachi with pepper banana mousse or oyster with watermelon pearls

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    33
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Excellent. Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had dinner here recently with friends and loved the food and experience.
Food: We did the multi-course, 19 course, food and wine pairing menu. The food was small portions but very elegant, great flavors and the highest quality ingredients. The meal was long but exquisite. Part of the table also had items from the ala carte menu. Everything was perfect. They have a large and well thought out sake and wine list.
Ambiance: Very casual but yet upscale. It is a small restaurant. The tables were a little close together but the crowd is quiet. On occasion we thought the music did not go with the meal or was too loud.
Service: Spectacular. Out waiter was knowledgeable and went out of his wat to make us enjoy our meal.
We loved this restaurant and cannot wait to go back the next time we are there. Do not be put off by the price, it is well worth it as a special treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Unique experience - High level Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Creative, deep and tasty experience. The sushi was different, complete and various. Every dish was amazing. You can go and ask for everything.. The egg was fantastic, the sashimi incredible. Expensive, but once in the life. Only 45 people in the restaurant cant be attended, make reservations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I can just call it O Ya.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Creative and very tasty. Enjoyed it very much. Ambiance is very casual. Not a great place for romantic dinner or something special. Perfect just for going out with friends and family. Service is friendly but doesn't stand out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I ate dinner at O Ya early on a Friday night. It was sold out so we sat at the bar, which was fine by us. The food was beyond delicious and extremely fresh, but I believe this may be the most expensive restaurant I've ever eaten in. They serve small, individual dishes so most folks order several different items. They also have a prix fixe menu for almost $200 per person. We just didn't want that much food. Looking back now, it probably wasn't too much food, it just looked like it from the menu. We were lucky enough to taste the Hamachi, tuna, warm eel, kumamoto oyster, scallop, hamachi viet to name a few. Spectacular. The seaweed salad, not so good, but the tea brined ribs were to die for. We did have a couple of glasses of wine, which was very good as well. Our bill was over $300 and we didn't have a ton of food. I still recommend this place, but it's definitely a splurge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Ya also viewed

 

Been to O Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Ya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.