We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Ya

O Ya
9 East St, Boston, MA 02111 (Downtown)
(617) 654-9900
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
O Ya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 2,814 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Atlantic Ave and South St
Transit: South Station on Red Line, Commuter Rail and Amtrak/Acela.
SF
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent. Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had dinner here recently with friends and loved the food and experience.
Food: We did the multi-course, 19 course, food and wine pairing menu. The food was small portions but very elegant, great flavors and the highest quality ingredients. The meal was long but exquisite. Part of the table also had items from the ala carte menu. Everything was perfect. They have a large and well thought out sake and wine list.
Ambiance: Very casual but yet upscale. It is a small restaurant. The tables were a little close together but the crowd is quiet. On occasion we thought the music did not go with the meal or was too loud.
Service: Spectacular. Out waiter was knowledgeable and went out of his wat to make us enjoy our meal.
We loved this restaurant and cannot wait to go back the next time we are there. Do not be put off by the price, it is well worth it as a special treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    108
    28
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Unique experience - High level Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Creative, deep and tasty experience. The sushi was different, complete and various. Every dish was amazing. You can go and ask for everything.. The egg was fantastic, the sashimi incredible. Expensive, but once in the life. Only 45 people in the restaurant cant be attended, make reservations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I can just call it O Ya.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Creative and very tasty. Enjoyed it very much. Ambiance is very casual. Not a great place for romantic dinner or something special. Perfect just for going out with friends and family. Service is friendly but doesn't stand out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I ate dinner at O Ya early on a Friday night. It was sold out so we sat at the bar, which was fine by us. The food was beyond delicious and extremely fresh, but I believe this may be the most expensive restaurant I've ever eaten in. They serve small, individual dishes so most folks order several different items. They also have a prix fixe menu for almost $200 per person. We just didn't want that much food. Looking back now, it probably wasn't too much food, it just looked like it from the menu. We were lucky enough to taste the Hamachi, tuna, warm eel, kumamoto oyster, scallop, hamachi viet to name a few. Spectacular. The seaweed salad, not so good, but the tea brined ribs were to die for. We did have a couple of glasses of wine, which was very good as well. Our bill was over $300 and we didn't have a ton of food. I still recommend this place, but it's definitely a splurge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of our lives...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Absolutely tip top... Hands down one of the best meals of our lives. We ate a multitude of dishes and all were superb... From an aesthetics perspective, the kumamoto fried oyster was just beautiful - a piece of art :-) The more spicy dishes were (IMHO) the best... just the right amount of heat and just delicious...

If you can, sit at the chefs table/bar (whatever you want to call it!)and watch everything being prepared... attention to detail is incredible... The restaurant staff are fabulous and extremely knowledgeable about the food ...and especially the Sake...

I could not fault anything about this experience and cannot wait to go back... as to others comments about it being pricey/expensive... yes, of course it is more expensive than your average fish and rice joint, but as with everything in life, you get what you pay for... it is worth every cent!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Ya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.