We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super good!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Ya

O Ya
9 East St, Boston, MA 02111 (Downtown)
(617) 654-9900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
O Ya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 2,846 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Atlantic Ave and South St
Transit: South Station on Red Line, Commuter Rail and Amtrak/Acela.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Super good!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Super nice food and services,but sort of expensive:) and hard to find:(
Anyway' I think it is the best Japanese restuarant in the states. Yummiest sushi ever

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    31
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cool Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We somehow managed to get in on short notice, thanks to the concierge at the Fairmont. This place is definatly "fit for foodies". The service was amazing and the food was increadable. They apperantly have a 4-6 week waiting period for reservations, and now i know why. I would come back in a heartbeat!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Sake and Seafood presentation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I went to a Sake tasting at O Ya. The presentation and taste was amazing. I'm not generally a fan of oysters or raw fish like this but I really enjoyed it. My favorite were the Kumamoto Oyster- ponzu marinated, watermelon pearls, cucumber mignonette, and the Hamachi Sashimi - vietnamese mignonette, thai basil, fried shallot. The watermelon pearls were a surprising great touch to the oysters. The Hamachi Sashimi was perfectly seasoned to give it a nice spicy flavor. The chef prepared chocolate at the end was also very good and had a slight bit of spicy after taste in the chocolate. Overall great and informative Sake Tasting and food paring. Very limited seating, make a reservation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

unbelieavlby unique menu, flawless execution. pure culinary perfection every time!! it is pricey, and portfions are small, so bring a fat wallet and be prepared to use it. but in my opinion it is worth it every time!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best sushi in boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

O ya is hands-down my favorite restaurant in all of Boston. With steep prices and mostly two to three pieces per order (ranging from $8-38, with an exception of the $189.99 eight-ounce wagyu beef striploin), it is definitely a place for celebrations. T & I first headed to o ya for our 4-year anniversary, then I took my college roommate, Amanda, here when she visited from California, and this recent trip was to celebrate my birthday. Located in the small Leather District of Boston (yes, it exists), Tim and Nancy Cushman have been dazzling diners since 2007 in their loft-like open space that seats 17 at the bar, and only 20 at tables. Reservations for these highly-coveted seats can be made online for the bar, but seats at the tables must be called ahead (and be sure to 3 months in advance of the date you wish to dine). To make o ya even more accomplished, this year Tim Cushman received the James Beard best chef of the Northeast award and once again o ya landed on Boston Magazine's 50 Best Restaurants list (unsurprising really after you have had the honor of tasting their innovative combinations).

With a small sign hanging a block or so from South Station, and a large unmarked wooden door, at first you may think you have mistaken the directions...but you are correct, and behind this large door is a magical restaurant where you will have a magical evening.

With many menu options to choose from (including an omakase chef's tasting and a grand tasting menu), you have the option to either mark up the menu and let them be brought out as prepared, or order like a tapas menu, a few orders at a time while you enjoy and decide your next steps. We marked our menus up and handed them over, trying some new items as well as some of our favorites (you can find the menus here). If you are unsure, the waiters and waitresses are very knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly!

More here: http://molltk3.blogspot.com/2012/11/boston-restaurants-o.html

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Ya also viewed

 

Been to O Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Ya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.