We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aisling Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aisling Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Aisling Bed and Breakfast
21 East Concord Street, Boston, MA 02118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$26 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 46 Boston B&B and Inns
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little disappointed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Aisling during the first part of our honeymoon. I booked based on the excellent reviews here and was really disappointed to get there and find out that Dympna was out of town. We were greeted by her daughter-in-law Lisa, who was so friendly and helpful. She gave us a map of the city and showed us some places to go and she also let us borrow her laptop to look for a restaurant online. But the disappointment came in learning that we wouldn't be getting any breakfast at all, and I was really looking forward to that after reading the reviews here!

Lisa gave us some gift cards for Flour, a cafe down the street, but it was really more of a lunch place and didn't have any hearty breakfast choices. We ended paying for our own breakfasts at Mike's Diner down the street. The food and service there was great, but it was a little frustrating to be paying for it knowing we were at a bed & breakfast where breakfast should have been provided.

The room itself was nice, very clean, great bathroom. It felt like staying in someone's home, which was nice. It was very hot though, even with the windows open. There's no air conditioning up there and no fan to help move the air around.

Overall, it was a lovely house and Lisa was friendly, but we were pretty disappointed with no breakfast or Irish hosts we were expecting. The location was good though and there were great restaurants nearby.

  • Liked — The room itself was great - comfortable bed and great bathroom
  • Disliked — No breakfast as expected, room was hot
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
167
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Dympna and James Moore are the proprietors of this wonderful Bed and Breakfast in Boston's South End. The rooms were immaculate, clean and nicely appointed with cable TV and wireless internet throughout the building. There is a first floor kitchedn for guest to use and a second floor sitting room for chatting. Dympna makes amazing breakfasts for you that are sure to treat. In five days time, we had traditional Irish breakfast on Sunday, along with mushroom fritatta, apple crepes, and baked brioche french toast on other days. Her amazing baked bread, muffins and home-made ginger yogurt is also served with the entrees every day! Dympna picked up up from the airport and Amtrak stations and her husband took my partner back to the airport on the day of departure at 5 AM!!! Who will do that for you? James and Dympna also made available to us their roof-top deck...just lovely.

James and Dympna hail from Ireland but have been in the states for decades. They tell great stories and really seem interested in their guests. These people were like old friends, even though we had just met them...and they are THE MOST ACADEMICALLY ACCOMPLISHED INN-KEEPERS IN NORTH AMERICA. James is a practicing physician and Dympna is a retired anesthesiologist and currently an attorney, in addition to inn keeper...she is truly a wonderful soul and she will make your stay in Boston very special.

The house is very near the Silver line so access to downtown
is easy and Massachusetts Avenue is a few block walk, so you can catch an easy bus to Cambridge to visit Harvard Square and MIT if you wish. The B and B is also a half-block walk to a Walgreen's Pharmacy and two blocks from two amazing restaurants both on Washington Street, namely Stella and Toro, which have become nationally recognized for Italian Cuisine and Tapas respectively.

We will stay with them again next time we are in Boston.

Sincerely,

Steve Migalski

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — No chair for desk
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

I and my husband started our holiday with five days in Boston and at Aisling B & B before continuing our trip to Cap Cod and further. Before booking we checked the reviews at TripAdvisor and can wholeheartedly agree with them: Aisling is a truly great place to stay if you're going to Boston. The owners are very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. For example we got loads of good tips on where to go and what to see while we were in town, plus more maps to add to our holiday arsenal :)

The room was clean and cosy and we also liked the furniture. Breakfasts were tasty and healthy as described before and kept us going through the day. While having our breakfast we also got to chat with other guests which was fun. The location near Silverline bus stop was very convenient. When we arrived at the airport we were picked up by Dympna which we really appreciated.

All in all, a perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland,
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

This bed and breakfast is in a great location, just off Washington street. The couple who own this B&B are both Irish and very welcoming and hospitable.

The room was lovely and clean with an artistic twist.
Would highly recommend the breakfast - homemade muffins, wholemeal bread and pancakes were just a sample of what was available. I enjoyed the chat with the owners every morning. The owner kindly collected me and returned me to the airport which was very much appreciated.

I had a lovely experience and would not hesitate in recommending this B&B to anyone.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

in my daydreams, aisling b&b dukes it out with the most expensive seaside establishment in marseilles for title of best hotel experience ever.

at the seaside hotel in marseilles, breakfast wasn't quite as good (aisling does lovely baskets of baked goods, homemade granola and ginger yogurt, as well as hot dishes -- apple clafoutis one day, a creamy zucchini frittata the next -- served on exquisite antique crockery).

at the seaside hotel in marseilles, they didn't pick us up from the airport (lovely proprietor dympna drove door-to-door both ways, for free!).

at the seaside hotel in marseilles, there was certainly no wonderful, down-to-earth irish hospitality.

oh yes, and the rooms are beautiful (sharp eyes at the antique furniture markets, and great books on the shelves), the location is fabulous (within a few steps of loads of fun places but tucked away on a quiet, tree-lined sidestreet), and the rates are a steal.

i guess that settles it.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

Would not hestitate to go back. Dympna made you feel at home,she was so friendly and welcoming.
The rooms were spacious and well appointed, including sumptious bathrobes.
The breakfasts were cooked personally and could not be faulted. It offered excellent value for money, and in just 3 days we were friends.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aisling Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aisling Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 East Concord Street, Boston, MA 02118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aisling Bed and Breakfast is located in the Historic Boston neighbourhood of the South End. The South End is Boston's most varied and famous dining destination. A brisk walk or ten minute bus ride brings you downtown. Aisling Bed and Breakfast is your gateway to a truly relaxing visit to Boston. Aisling means "Dream" in Gaelic. Your Irish hosts Dympna and James take pride in making you feel at home while still on a dream vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Aisling Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aisling Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.