We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & thank you, Noah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Longwood Medical

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Longwood Medical to your Saves list
The Inn at Longwood Medical
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   342 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Last Minute Specials
Ranked #45 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service & thank you, Noah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Inn while attending a conference on meditation and resiliency sponsored by Harvard Medical School. The location was ideal. The room was comfortable. The service was exceptional. I felt that Noah was wonderfully warm, patient, and helpful giving directions and information re local restaurants. I was further impressed with him after I
left and realized that I had left my cosmetic kit which also contained some needed medical supplies. I spoke with him several times and he kindly and efficiently arranged to have it delivered to Rural Vt where I was visiting relatives. I was wowed and continue to feel very grateful. Thank you Inn at Longwood and especially, Noah.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    151
    87
    42
    36
See reviews for
217
97
57
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here to see the RedSox play and it is easy walking distance through a nice park. It's noisy during the day and into the evening from ambulances going to the nearby children's hospital but things quiet down at night. Room was fine (2 queen beds for 3 people). My concern was that sometimes there was no one at the front desk, including late one night. Security seemed lax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle S, General Manager at The Inn at Longwood Medical, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. Wanted to assure we do have security officers roaming the building twenty four hours a day as well as attendants in our parking lot. There are cameras in the Lobby and entrances as well. I apologized if it appeared there was no one at the desk late. During the late shift they step away shortly behind the desk to run reports but are always available if needed. Again we understand the need for proper security to all guest and travelers and apologize that you were concerned. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Inn at Longwood Medical offers basic rooms at a decent price. We were here to attend Red Sox games, and the location was very convenient - a 4 block walk to Fenway and all the restaurants surrounding the park. It's a 6 block walk to a Green Line train station which will take you to T stations closest to some of the best touristy spots (Haymarket, Govn't center). The free wifi is a nice bonus. The beds were very comfortable and the queen room was penty spacious for 2 people. The bathroom amenities were a little sparse; shampoo only (no conditioner) and two very threadbare bath towels. However, the room was clean and the housekeeping staff very pleasant. The best part of our stay was the fact that I'd left several personal items in the nightstand and when I realized this I was too far gone to go back. I immediately called the Inn and within a few hours they had gathered the items I'd left and packaged them for UPS overnight delivery to my home. Tony with Housekeeping / Lost & Found was WONDERFUL! Great service!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and the noise from outside sirens was very loud; I might suggest asking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Inn at Longwood Medical. All of the staff we gracious and helpful the entire time during our 10 days there. Our room was recently refurbished, the beds were very comfortable and the exercise club was beautiful. Very close to hospitals, Starbuck's, good food, HDMS and HMS. Close to subway and easy walking to multiple places. Mohammad, Jose, Jenne, Lisa and Angel were especially helpful to us. Our room was very comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Rooms not on main street are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here due to its proximity to the major Boston teaching hospitals. It was great to be able to walk a couple blocks and be at the hospital. My sense is that many, if not most, of the guests were either in town for outpatient appointments, or visiting hospitalized relatives.

I appreciated the free wifi, the fact that there was an on-site restaurant as well as an adjacent food court, adjacent parking, and the availability of room service. These are big helps when you're spending long hours at a hospital visiting family. Staff members were friendly and helpful.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a recreational visit to Boston: there are better options than this somewhat dated property. However, it's a real find if you need to go to Boston to visit an ill family member and want a moderately priced hotel that's located in the middle of the city's huge medical complex.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Like many guests who stay here, our family too had a medical appointment at Children's Hospital next door and so the location was extremely convenient for an early morning procedure. Nonetheless , this hotel has much to offer on its own merit. We were allowed to check in early and found all the front desk people to be friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and the beds were extremely comfortable; the decor was pretty nice as well. I'm not a big TV watcher, but did wish the channel line up provided more than just Basic though. Good reading lights, however! There is a decent restaurant connected with the hotel and we enjoyed our dinner there. The room also includes a continental breakfast which is served at tables......very much appreciated! One tip for those there for medical: take advantage of the special rates and also check to see if your affiliated hospital has cheaper parking than the Inn at Longwood. That was true for us and we saved several dollars. Hotel is also on a bus line and about a 10 minute walk to the T stop.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel was great on all the normal amenities (comfort, clleanliness, etc.), however, when we arrived home I was missing some important items. I called the hotel, they found the items and shipped them to me that day. They arrived three days earlier than I expected. I have had this experience with other hotels and they can't find the items. This hotel is great !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Longwood Medical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Longwood Medical

Address: 342 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Family Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Longwood Medical 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel is walking distance to key area attractions such as the Fenway Park, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Children's Hospital, Brigham and Women's, Dana Farber, and Harvard Medical School, Boston University, Colleges of the Fenway Northeastern Univeristy and Boston College. Easy access on the Green Line of the MBTA public transportation. Concierge service for Historic Tours of Boston and tickets to major events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Longwood Medical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Boston - The Inn At Longwood Medical Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Longwood Medical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.