We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it unless you are desperate.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Longwood Medical

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Longwood Medical to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Longwood Medical
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   342 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Red Sox Packages
Ranked #45 of 77 hotels in Boston
1 review
“Don't do it unless you are desperate.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Should have known better. Cheap sleezy outdated and grimy place. Two hundred dollars a night and elevator not working. Had to carry my luggage up 5 floors. No one bothered to help. Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle S, Manager at The Inn at Longwood Medical, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
On behalf of the staff and I please accept our apologies that the elevators were not working when you checked in. There was a fire alarm in the building which shuts down the elevators for safety reasons and then have to be reset. I understand not having help to the fifth floor is unacceptable and again I apologize.
If you wish to discuss further please email the General Manager at bstiglets@innatlongwood.com and include a phone number please . Would welcome the opportunity to discuss the elevator situation and other comments from your review.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    124
    79
    34
    34
See reviews for
184
86
49
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a ten!
Excellent service and great accommodations
A real value and location to Dana Farber can't be beat
Breakfast included as well
Staff friendly and very helpful
The place to stay for appointments at the medical center

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent location and service, especially Lost and Found! Noah was very helpful and responded promptly and politely to return my computer power cord which I had left behind. The location is outstanding for anyone visiting the Longwood Medical area

Room Tip: No tips to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle S, Manager at The Inn at Longwood Medical, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for the review and mentioning Noah. Glad your item was found and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

stayed here because had medical appointments at Children's Hospital in early morning next day. Can't beat the location walking distance to all the hospitals in the area. Comfortable and clean, very nice restaurant (and I was surprised to find out that a very nice continental breakfast was served for free with our stay). Staff was friendly and helpful. Parking garage is right under the hotel and guests get a discount- park for 20.00 a night(which is pretty good for downtown Boston!). Not a fancy hotel, but has everything a traveler needs and recently renovated bathrooms. Beds are firm and would have liked softer pillows, but that would be the only complaint. Have stayed at this property in years past, never disappointed, but this was the nicest experience yet. One last thing, special rate for families or patients having appointments/staying at one of the area hospitals- a very reasonable rate for downtown Boston.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksboro, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great location when visiting The hospitals. - short walk. Plenty of places to eat. An ideal location. Rooms okay I bit high but worth it. No hassle with a car and parking. Restaurant service in the morning a little slow but the continental breakfast is a nice perk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This could have been a pretty bad review, but the customer service has helped A LOT!

When I arrived, they had no record of my reservation. I began calling the service I had used to book the room, and while on the phone, the front desk gentleman came out of the back office saying "we found it". And they got me a room.

However, when I got to my room (827), it smelled - like body odor. Not so strong that one couldn't stand to be in the room, but it was definitely there. I asked if there was another room available, and was told they were oversold. I realize this is a hotel where families with very sick relatives (often kids) stay, so I was understanding that there could have been someone in the room for a long-term period of time, or someone spent time there who was recovering from a major medical issue.

To my surprise, when I got back to the room after a very tasty dinner in the hotel grille (with a 15% off coupon provided by the front desk gentleman), they had found me an alternate room! This room (524) was much bigger - I felt a bit guilty taking it, since it was only me staying in it, and it sleeps up to 4. However, my guilt was assuaged by the fact that the room had no working climate control (the air conditioning unit simply didn't work, with no explanation), though there was a fan in the room, which was sufficient with the cool weather outside.

All in all, one would stay here for the convenience and customer service, but not for the hotel itself. I would probably opt for a different locale on a return visit to the area until they perform significant updates.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are internal, so no street noise. No natural light from windows either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent accommodations,in-house restaurant good. Staff helpful and location very desirable especially if one needs to be near medical facilities.. Cleaning carts in hallways in evening. However, hotel very quiet and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Longwood Medical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Longwood Medical

Address: 342 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#39 Family Hotel in Boston
#47 Business Hotel in Boston
#47 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Longwood Medical 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel is walking distance to key area attractions such as the Fenway Park, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Children's Hospital, Brigham and Women's, Dana Farber, and Harvard Medical School, Boston University, Colleges of the Fenway Northeastern Univeristy and Boston College. Easy access on the Green Line of the MBTA public transportation. Concierge service for Historic Tours of Boston and tickets to major events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Inn at Longwood Medical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Boston - The Inn At Longwood Medical Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Longwood Medical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.