We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medical Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Longwood Medical

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Longwood Medical to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Longwood Medical
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   342 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Red Sox Packages
Ranked #45 of 77 hotels in Boston
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Medical Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Over the past year we stayed at this Best Western three times. In all instances the staff assisted in making what is a very stressful event more relaxed. The arrangement with the restraint and the food is very good and we look forward to when we can stay here for a recreational stay. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    124
    79
    34
    34
See reviews for
184
86
49
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

After reading the mixed reviews, I was not sure what to expect. But, I was pleasantly surprised by the Inn at Longwood. We had two different rooms (we needed to add one night on to our stay). The rooms were both comfortable and the first on the 5th floor was spacious with a suite-like feel. My only complaint was about the pricing. With out daughter having surgery at Children's the hospital rate we were offered was 169 (the hospital literature says the rate is 159), but they did not have that room available and said the charge would be 179. I was able to get the same room for 146. on booking.com. I called to see if the hotel would match the rate and the front desk person was kind of rude about it. Booked online and didn't have any problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We loved staying at the Inn. Everybody was truly exceptional - very professional, polite and superhelpful - the cleaning staff, the receptionist, the luggage person - simply run out of their way to help you. I especially want to thank Bill Davies and Antonio (don't know the last name) - they were amazing. The Inn went out of their way to accomodate our friends who were international visitors and whose child was having a heart surgery across the street from the Childrens. Everything was clean and nice. We and the family were extremely grateful for the amazing staff at this Inn. Cannot recommend them high enough. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

During a visit to Boston Children's, we chose to stay at the Inn at Longwood Medical for two reasons:
1) location - it's literally next door to the hospital
2) recommendation - the cardiac unit a BCH recommends it

Overall, our stay was adequate - the room was clean (thanks to a bizarrely persistent cleaning staff), the desk staff friendly and helpful. However, our room had a couple of issues.

The lesser was a bathroom with no visible means of ventilation. Not only did this mean turning the hotel room into a sauna after every shower - a cold sauna, which I'll address in my next point - but it also made for an unfortunate odor, given that we were traveling with a 2-year-old.

The greater complaint was that the room was drafty and cold. At some point, the windows had been screwed shut, but weren't fully closed when that happened. Not only could we hear every street noise outside our sixth floor room, but I could feel drafts when the wind picked up. We could somewhat remedy this by turning on the heater, but that led to a situation where it was sweltering hot inside to room, cold by the window, and the heater wouldn't shut off (because it was by the window).

Plus, sauna from the shower.

Talking to other guests, it seems that this is only our room; other guests did not have this issue.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here while visiting a college in Boston. Room was ok, but heat was on and couldn't see to shut it off - no lighting near controls. View nothing to write home about but it was convenient to stores, food, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife had to be at the hospital next door for brain surgery. We check in and although the hotel room was very nice, I was going to be there for over two weeks and wanted something a little bigger. I went back down to the front desk to ask for a bigger room, maybe one with a small kitchen. I met Mr. Davies at the front desk. Bill took me around to look at three or four other rooms in the hotel. Bill then asked me why I was in town and what was my concerns. I told him what was going on and that after the surgery we were going to have to stay close to hospital in case of complications for a while. Bill then said not to worry anymore and found me a much larger place to stay in the hotel apartment next door with the kitchen as well as two bedrooms. He made our stay at a hotel feel more like a stay at a second home. He may not be aware of the impact he made on my wife and I. If you need a place to stay while in this part of Boston I can not urge you enough to call Bill Davies and schedule a visit. The Longwood Grill as well as the Food Court is just downstairs so no real need for anything else.

Room Tip: They have apartments in tower next door. Awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Best Western Inn at Longwood Medical is my number one choice when I stay in Boston for my medical visits. The staff is friendly, competent and caring and the hotel is immaculate and comfortable. The Inn has a nice restaurant with good breakfasts and dinners ( and I suppose lunch, too). Parking is indoor garage, convenient , steps away from the lobby.
There are two Starbucks nearby and a Bertucci's if you need them.
This hotel is connected to a Food Court which is convenient because the food court is the link to an indoor route to Children's, Dana Farber, Brigham & Womens. You can get to your appt without even donning your coat!
Bring earplugs if you get a room on the hotel's facade--sometimes the night is pierced with ambulance sirens.
Every stay has been terrific which makes my medical appts much more bearable.
Ask for the "medical rate" if you have a patient record identification card.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Longwood Medical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Longwood Medical

Address: 342 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#39 Family Hotel in Boston
#47 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#47 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Longwood Medical 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel is walking distance to key area attractions such as the Fenway Park, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Children's Hospital, Brigham and Women's, Dana Farber, and Harvard Medical School, Boston University, Colleges of the Fenway Northeastern Univeristy and Boston College. Easy access on the Green Line of the MBTA public transportation. Concierge service for Historic Tours of Boston and tickets to major events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Inn at Longwood Medical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Boston - The Inn At Longwood Medical Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Longwood Medical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.