We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gryphon House

Save Saved
You added Gryphon House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gryphon House
9 Bay State Road, Boston, MA 02215   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
Ranked #5 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
Woodstock, VT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were delighted to spend two nights in this gorgeous brownstone, conveniently located within walking distance to everything in the Back Bay. From the helpful staff (Sara) and gracious owner (Teresa), to the delicious in-room breakfast and hand-painted original wallpaper, the Gryphon House charmed us at every turn! Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you! Your place looks amazing, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    44
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
99
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Over the years the Gryphon House has been open, I have been a fairly regular visitor with excellent reasons! Great, helpful staff, genuine caring and Owner managed and one of them is often here, her laugh infectious and ringing throughout this stately home. Terrific location, knowledgeable staff that can get you anywhere you want to go in Boston, one of the most wonderful cities on the planet. Come be pampered as I am when I stay here. Why stay in a cold hotel when you can be cosseted in luxury and warmth?

Room Tip: The rear facing river view rooms on the upper floors are best for view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Wow! Thanks, Bill! We all love having you here. You are the perfect example of a great guy, a great guest, and a great friend! Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3rd Martin Luther King weekend at the Gryphon House. We stayed in Riverview this time. The bed is very comfortable and I haven't felt so relaxed in a long time sipping champagne and soaking in the deep tub. The room was immaculately clean and nicely equipped with champagne flutes, wine glasses and all the necessary amenities. The downstairs parlor is beautiful and we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast reading the paper in front of the fireplace. The granola was outstanding! Thank you so much for a wonderful birthday weekend for my husband and I!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
You guys are great! We love sharing your birthdays with you! May you enjoy health & happiness and many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The stay was perfect start to finish (though the weather was not). The location is very handy for MIT in Cambridge as well as being a good Boston location in the heart of the BU campus. We were upgraded to Sanctuary because our reserved room had been recently painted, and the owner didn't want to chance fumes. (There weren't any, as it turned out, but Sanctuary was wonderful). In-room and buffet breakfasts were great. It's a lovely place, beautifully furnished but as always, the real draw is the hospitality of the folks there. We arrived at an ungodly hour and were treated like royalty. Luckily the room was available that early, and Tara, Teresa et al made every effort to make us feel at home. Hotels in Boston are expensive, and this is better than any hotel I've stayed at there in the dozen or so years I've been traveling there.

Room Tip: There was not a pool or fitness center, nor an option to choose "n/a," so I rated both &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
When guests are as great as you guys, it's a pleasure to do everything we can to ensure that you have a good time (even though we can't make the weather cooperate!). Thank you for choosing us and for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again under sunny skies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

right location, lovely rooms, fresh and healthy breakfast, delightful staff.....I actually can't think of any way it could have been better.
we were a family of five - we put the 3 kids (19,16 and 14) in The Tower and we stayed in The Victoria.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks! We really enjoyed having your family here, and we hope to see you all again on the next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Gryphon house for an evening in Boston. This is a very friendly place to stay with great staff. They truly make the stay very enjoyable.

The house is relatively small with a handful of rooms, each with a unique ambiance. We stayed in the Sanctuary room which was quite large with a full kitchenette, a fireplace and two beds (a queen size bed and a single).

The lobby of the house is quite well decorated. It's important to remember that this is an Inn in a very old brownstone. Don't expect brand new options like a chain hotel. If you stay here it's for the unique experience to get away from the chains. To that end it was great.

The only minor quibbles are relatively small and are a result of us being spoiled travelers. The bed was rather uncomfortable and a challenge to get into for shorter people due to tall wooden sides housing the mattress. The overall condition of the room was acceptable albeit a bit confused as to what theme it was going for (roman gothic?).

The cost of the room was in par with the Boston area. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a great location in Kenmore.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall, but I do hope you come again and try another room with a different bed setup! That one was custom built from antique wainscoting and mantel pieces, so it's definitely the only one like it!
To answer your question regarding the decor, Sanctuary was designed in the neo-Gothic style. The
Gryphon House was built in 1895, and since we didn't want to do everything in the "traditional" Victorian style (like the parlor and lobby), we chose to explore some of the other styles that were also popular during the turn of the century in the guest rooms. For example, the Tuscany room is Rustic Italian, the Riverview is Arts & Crafts, and Aerie has Art Nouveau & Art Deco flourishes, and so on. Perhaps you'll find one which is perfect for you!
Again, thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to give us a good review. I certainly hope you will come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Gryphon house for a number of years visiting my children at Boston University. We have also stayed at other hotels during that period Including the Four Seasons the Commonwealth and a number of chain establishments. The Griffin house provides a quality and comfort level equal to the high-end establishments in a much more cozy setting. The friendly and accommodative staff completes the picture.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much! We're so pleased to have your loyalty! It makes our jobs worthwhile to know that folks like you appreciate the ambience of the Gryphon House. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gryphon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gryphon House

Address: 9 Bay State Road, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even though our 8 room B&B townhouse, between Back Bay & Boston University, is a short walk from some of the city’s finest attractions, it's so beautiful and comfortable that you may just want to stay in with us! The fully appointed accommodations, friendly, knowledgeable staff, and extremely high level of service, combine to form a truly delightful experience for all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and T4B so you can book your Gryphon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gryphon House Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gryphon House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.