We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being at home..... almost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gryphon House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gryphon House to your Saves list
Gryphon House
9 Bay State Road, Boston, MA 02215   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 46 Boston B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Being at home..... almost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A lovely, charming and well-located inn with spacious accomodations offering a simple but well presented cold breakfast which you can enjoy in the front sitting room or in the comfort of your own room.
Unfortunately, my friends and I only spent 1 night at the Gryphon House. The Back Bay area of Boston had experienced a power outage the night before we arrived for about 10 hours but we were assured the problem had been corrected and we should not experience any problem. However, in the middle of the night, I was awakened by a very loud buzzing noise which did continue for quite awhile disturbing my sleep and making me abit uneasy until figuring out the power had again gone off.
It would have been most gracious to have offered a reduction in the rate of the rooms or a sincere apology for the inconvenience. Had that happened our feelings regarding our stay would have been quite different.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I apologize for not responding to your review sooner. Unfortunately I was away when this incident occurred, but my desk clerk believed she had warned everyone that another outage might happen overnight. Having spoken to other members of your party, she assumed that they would have passed on that information to you--we sincerely apologize for that oversight. In retrospect, we should have put notes on everyone's doors so there would have been no chance of missing anyone--an action we will employ in the future should circumstances require! I hope you will forgive us this misunderstanding, and give us a chance to give you a full night's sleep with no buzzers in the future!
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    49
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
111
12
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in Gryphon house for 3 nights on our visit to boston. We had to carry our bags to the 2nd floor which we were told before. Room was breathtaking . It was perhaps the best one on our visit to America. Now, some issues. 1st day, no housekeeping was done and on our having told the reception they made sure it was done the next day but, when we came back in the night, the room door was left open by the housekeeping staff. This was really not expected. Also, we wished that they served hot breakfast. When i have generally ever booked a bed and breakfast they have always served hot breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Oh gosh--so sorry about the housekeeping issues! Our cleaners are usually so reliably good and responsible that it always shocks me when something like this happens!
Regarding the breakfast, we try to stress on our website and on our confirmation letters that we only offer a continental breakfast. We don't have a cooking license, and without a restaurant on premises, we are somewhat limited to prepared options with just the toaster & microwave available for warming.
I'd like to thank you so much for posting such a positive review, even having had these issues! We appreciate your understanding and gracious attitude! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it was perfect for us! 4 blocks from Fenway, 2 blocks from the Kenmore T which gave us easy access to the whole city. Loved the atmosphere at Gryphon and the staff were really helpful and friendly. The breakfast was simple yet elegant with just enough choices. Highly recommend! One caution, it is in an old 4 story brownstone so depending on the room you chose be prepared for stairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed 5 days/4 nights in the Sanctuary Room. The room is a luxurious room, definately more then comfortable for two people. Besides the beautiful queen, there is a second, twin bed, we just ended up using it as a place for our luggage though. It has a small kitchenette with a stove, dishwasher and nice size fridge, the only thing it was lacking was a microwave, but no big deal. The complimentary continental breakfast was perfect, just the right amount of a selection for someone who usually isn't a big breakfast eater.

The rooms/spaces were beautifully decorated with rustic themes, with only a few exceptions, (a pair if ungodly light shades). The staff even let us take a peak at the other rooms. Speaking of the staff, the little we actually needed them, they were great. Helpful and eager to please. Were not the type to rely on the staff too much and expect them to bow to every whim. We even asked them to skip cleaning our room every day, but had had to put the "do not disturb" sign up, cause they did anyway, even washed the dishes that we were planning to wash ourselves. Thank you.

The location is perfect. Can be a little noisy, but it is situated next to a busy intersection and an overpass, and it is a major city afterall. If you don't like the noise, go to the country.

Overall, our stay in the city was relaxing and definetly worth it, and the Gryphon House did it's part to help out on that.

Next trip to Boston, we already know where we'll be staying. Might try one of the other rooms though, just to check them out.

Room Tip: The sanctuary room is in the basement, well "Garden Floor", beautiful windows looking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights right after a cruise. We had two City Passes and was
very busy seeing the great sites of Boston. This was a very good location for doing that.
The breakfasts were great and the people of Gryphon House are really helpful. We would stay
here again.
Ole J.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room and I'd stay in that one again. It is spaces and has a fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you, Ole! We enjoyed having you both with us! I want to thank you for your comments about the Garden room as well. Sometimes people hesitate to book it, because it is our smallest room and located on the basement level, but it does have the same amenities as all our larger upstairs rooms, and is very spacious compared to many standard rooms. We're glad you liked it enough to mention it in your review. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in the Sanctuary Room which was perfect for our needs. It was very quiet and most comfortably appointed. Breakfast was easy and there was a good selection of healthy options. The location was excellent and ideally located near public transport, although we walked a great deal (it's really not that far to the Boston Public Garden, Copley Square, Newbury St etc.!). Staff were friendly and helpful, as well as always available. There were many eating options in the streets around, ranging from cheap to expensive, catering for any purse. We definitely recommend Gryphon House to all!

Room Tip: We recommend the Sanctuary Room, which is in the basement (still has windows overlooking the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for your great review! It was fun meeting you guys, and we were all so happy to be a part of your Boston experience! I espcially appreciate your comments about our location, regarding exploring our beautiful city. It's very easy to get to wherever you want to go and we're so proud of all the great nearby eateries and other businesses. Yay for Kenmore Square!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ea, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at the Gryphon House for three nights with my 5-year old son. The Sanctuary room was very spacious and beautifully decorated, the house itself very quaint and cozy and the staff was friendly and very helpful in answering our questions and giving us directions. Breakfast, although not hot, was very varied and delicious. The bowl of fruit on the table the whole day reminded us to keep healthy! Overall I would definitely recommend the Gryphon House and will definitely stay there next time I go to Boston!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much! We enjoyed having you and your (very adorable!) young son stay with us!
We appreciate your remarks and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gryphon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gryphon House

Address: 9 Bay State Road, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even though our 8 room B&B townhouse, between Back Bay & Boston University, is a short walk from some of the city’s finest attractions, it's so beautiful and comfortable that you may just want to stay in with us! The fully appointed accommodations, friendly, knowledgeable staff, and extremely high level of service, combine to form a truly delightful experience for all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and T4B so you can book your Gryphon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gryphon House Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gryphon House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.