We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True hospitality in a superb location - holiday in a Boston home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast
27 Brimmer St., Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 46 Boston B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“True hospitality in a superb location - holiday in a Boston home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed for four nights, and wished it were longer. Susan Butterworth's elegant home is ideally situated in a beautiful brick terrace on a lantern-lit street close to Boyleston, Newbury and the delightful Charles Street, and has high ceilings, quality antique furniture, a veritable library of books. This lady takes hospitality seriously. Articulate and informative, she is welcoming without being in the least intrusive - these last qualities shared by her two impeccably behaved dogs. Delicious breakfasts feature as much good, fresh strong coffee as you could wish for, and begin with the very best toasty granola I have ever tasted - don't ask for the brand name, your host prepares it . Having previously stayed at a huge hotel in Boston, I would opt for the personal touch of this charming house every time.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

The area of Boston this Bed and Breakfast is in is certainly the best in which to stay, lovely brownstone buildings and charming shops and cafes. Susan Butterworth greeted us with her friendly dogs Chloe and Trushka (we are cat people ultimately, however nobody could dislike these dogs, smell-free, endearing and very well behaved) and put our cases in a really cool lift, very American movie, to the first floor. The room was enourmous and she had turned it into a twin for us. This is Susan's home, and it has a grand and cosy feel at the same time, a beautiful building with antique furniture and hundreds of books in the room. At night we wondered where the sweet smell of incense was coming from, and discovered on our last day that Susan makes her seriously delicious granola breakfast cereal herself, in the oven. There is no breakfast menu, she decided each day what she would offer, which didn't bother me as her french toast and waffles with maple syrup were to die for, (diabetics beware!) however if you want something else she is very obliging, and will continue to top up the mugs of excellent coffee until you have had enough. Because the house only has 2 rooms for rent, you share a breakfast table with other guests, which is fun if you are social at that time of the morning, and if not then you will be after a sip of Susan's strong coffee. It's nice to have a chat with other holidaymakers and share tips about where is nice to go and what you have enjoyed in the city.
One room faces the quiet street to the front and one to the back, which has a fast road, so if the swish of traffic bothers you then ask which is available, we were in the latter and I found it quite soothing! The en suite was clean and had a good shower. Towels changed daily. The only thing that would have made it better would have been a kettle in the bedroom for an evening cuppa, but that might just be a British thing.
If you fancy an autumnal city break staying somewhere elegant, welcoming and memorable with the best of Beacon Hill right on your doorstep then this is the place.
This was the tail end of our trip and I was sad to have stayed only 4 days, Boston is a beautiful, safe feeling city with lovely people, Susan included.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I absolutely loved my stay! Mrs. Butterworth was very accomodating and she was very helpful in showing us how to get where, how to do what, "must see" spots, etc...It was so great to have someone so knowledgable about the city to give us some great insight on what to do when and where to go. Her breakfasts were awesome...waffles, french toast, eggs and toast, oatmeal, MMMmmmmmm!! She definitely took care of us. I came to Boston to run the Marathon and she even woke up early with me to make breakfast and make sure I had some good fuel for my run. I would definitely stay again, in fact that is the plan the next time I go back. Her place was very clean and we always had clean towels and fresh soap. It is definitely an older house, but it is quintessential Boston!! Also, the place is right by the water with a nice path to run/walk on--close to Newbury Street and Charles Street. There is so much to do! Don't miss this gem!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

This is an architectural gem! An elegant Victorian home in the heart of historic Beacon Hill. The grand staircase takes you up to 2 guest rooms on either end of the house, both with private bath ensuite. Soaring ceilings and intact crown molding, huge original doors -- if you are an old home lover, this is for you. This is more like staying with your Aunt in her grand old house, than staying at an Inn, so if you are fussy and expect luxurious linens, marble bathrroms, and flat screen tv's ( not that there is anything wrong with that) this is not the place for you. But if you want to feel like you are living in the heart of Beacon Hill, an easy walk to the T, the shops and restaurants of Charles Street, if you prefer to come home to lovely friendly dogs to greet you and welcome you, and if you like to get a know a city with the advice of someone who is a native, than this is the place. The only downside is that these grand old homes, while magnificent, are inefficient to heat and cool, so plan to pack accordingly depending on the season. I loved staying here.

Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

My husband and I found the Beacon Hill B + B to be a comfortable, convenient place to stay. Our plane was late and we arrived around midnight. We called ahead and Susan Butterworth met us at the door, dogs in tow, and quickly showed us the ropes. (I felt safe knowing that the front doors would always be locked.) We felt welcome from that moment. She gave us our choice of breakfast times and, in the morning, cheerfully met and fed us.

Overall, we found the place to be comfortable, clean, and an excellent location for seeing historic Boston. Susan is an intelligent conversationalist who can discuss a wide variety of topics. She also is a great resource for what is in the city. She helped us find bike rentals, taught us about parking in the city and bent over backwards to answer any questions we had. Her dogs quietly welcomed us every morning, were never intrusive and completed the sense of home.

Probably my favorite thing about this B + B was that we were truly sharing a home. It was personal and we felt totally like we belonged.

  • Liked — a sense of home, location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

Lovely old building in very pleasant neighbourhood, convenient location. Comfortable room, wide variety of books and travel information to browse, friendly host very accommodating for vegetarians.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

As a Bed and Breakfast virgin, my stay at the Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast could not have been more pleasant! The location is peerless if you want to really experience Beacon Hill. My room was lovely, perfectly described on the web site, and the mattress super comfortable. The pair of resident dogs were very welcoming as was the owner. I felt right at home which is a happy coincidence because this B&B is a private residence.
A bientot Mme Butterworth!

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 27 Brimmer St., Boston, MA 02108
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Boston location, an easy walk to historic sites,Freedom Trail, Boston Common, Boston Public Garden, restaurants, shopping, public garage, subway (Charles/MGH). 2 large bed-sitting rooms, each with private bath in elegant 1869 private home. One has a queen bed, the other a double, plus each has a large sofa-bed. Full home-cooked breakfast included, NO 14% hotel tax, as this is a private home shared by owner and two sweet dogs, who have been receiving guests for over 25 years. 3 night minimum stay except during the winter- 2 night minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill b&b
Beacon Hill Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.