We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I now consider this my home in Beacon Hill!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast
27 Brimmer St., Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
Glen Rock, NJ
1 review
“I now consider this my home in Beacon Hill!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

This is an architectural gem! An elegant Victorian home in the heart of historic Beacon Hill. The grand staircase takes you up to 2 guest rooms on either end of the house, both with private bath ensuite. Soaring ceilings and intact crown molding, huge original doors -- if you are an old home lover, this is for you. This is more like staying with your Aunt in her grand old house, than staying at an Inn, so if you are fussy and expect luxurious linens, marble bathrroms, and flat screen tv's ( not that there is anything wrong with that) this is not the place for you. But if you want to feel like you are living in the heart of Beacon Hill, an easy walk to the T, the shops and restaurants of Charles Street, if you prefer to come home to lovely friendly dogs to greet you and welcome you, and if you like to get a know a city with the advice of someone who is a native, than this is the place. The only downside is that these grand old homes, while magnificent, are inefficient to heat and cool, so plan to pack accordingly depending on the season. I loved staying here.

Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

My husband and I found the Beacon Hill B + B to be a comfortable, convenient place to stay. Our plane was late and we arrived around midnight. We called ahead and Susan Butterworth met us at the door, dogs in tow, and quickly showed us the ropes. (I felt safe knowing that the front doors would always be locked.) We felt welcome from that moment. She gave us our choice of breakfast times and, in the morning, cheerfully met and fed us.

Overall, we found the place to be comfortable, clean, and an excellent location for seeing historic Boston. Susan is an intelligent conversationalist who can discuss a wide variety of topics. She also is a great resource for what is in the city. She helped us find bike rentals, taught us about parking in the city and bent over backwards to answer any questions we had. Her dogs quietly welcomed us every morning, were never intrusive and completed the sense of home.

Probably my favorite thing about this B + B was that we were truly sharing a home. It was personal and we felt totally like we belonged.

  • Liked — a sense of home, location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

Lovely old building in very pleasant neighbourhood, convenient location. Comfortable room, wide variety of books and travel information to browse, friendly host very accommodating for vegetarians.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

As a Bed and Breakfast virgin, my stay at the Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast could not have been more pleasant! The location is peerless if you want to really experience Beacon Hill. My room was lovely, perfectly described on the web site, and the mattress super comfortable. The pair of resident dogs were very welcoming as was the owner. I felt right at home which is a happy coincidence because this B&B is a private residence.
A bientot Mme Butterworth!

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

If you want to feel like you are living on Beacon Hill, within an easy stroll of Charles St., Beacon St., Boston Common & Public Garden, then this is your place. Susan Butterworth, the owner and hostess, helped us with all our needs, including suggesting a trolley tour of the city on our first day, which was a wonderful introduction to all the sights of Boston. Our room was beautiful with a large bay window overlooking Storrow Drive and the Charles River. The queen-sized bed had a wonderfully comfortable mattress, while the private bathroom had a powerful shower, something I didn't expect in a historic home. The two friendly dogs never barked and greeted us daily on our return home. I have stayed at B&B's for over 30 years, and the location of the Beacon Hill B&B is among the best I have ever experienced. It is only 1/2 block from Mount Vernon Street, which the novelist Henry James in 1890 called "the most civilized street in America." Need I say more? I will be back! Thank you, Susan.

  • Liked — Location of B&B
  • Disliked — --
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

We recently spent an enjoyable week here.The elegant house is in an excellent position overlooking the river ,close to transport, all amenities and attractions.
Our bed sit was comfortable and well appointed. Each morning we enjoyed a good breakfast before setting out on the day's adventures.
Susan was a most friendly, welcoming and helpful hostess. Go for it and enjoy!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, FL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

My sisters and I met in Boston for a long weekend and stayed here. We found the place to be quite suitable for what we were looking for. Susan Butterworth made us feel right at home, and accomodated all our requests immediately. The two dogs were wonderful and greeted us each evening as we came home. Meals were fine, and when we asked for things off the original breakfast menu, she quickly agreed. The location is spectacular and it was everything we were looking for.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 27 Brimmer St., Boston, MA 02108
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Boston location, an easy walk to historic sites,Freedom Trail, Boston Common, Boston Public Garden, restaurants, shopping, public garage, subway (Charles/MGH). 2 large bed-sitting rooms, each with private bath in elegant 1869 private home. One has a queen bed, the other a double, plus each has a large sofa-bed. Full home-cooked breakfast included, NO 14% hotel tax, as this is a private home shared by owner and two sweet dogs, who have been receiving guests for over 25 years. 3 night minimum stay except during the winter- 2 night minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill b&b
Beacon Hill Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.