We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guides make a difference.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beantown Trolley

Beantown Trolley
8 Park Plaza, Boston, MA
781-986-6100
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #84 of 139 activities in Boston
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Beantown Trolley has many kiosks and stands through out the city of Boston. Our main location in Boston is located within the MA Transportation Building lobby.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Guides make a difference.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We booked this tour prior to leaving England and were fortunate enough to board a trolley with a driver/guide who claimed to be the best. He was certainly very informative, entertaining, amusing and gave us an excellent insight into Boston as well as some Shakespearean speeches and singing. Well worth the money and tip.
We have used the trolley twice since and had one guide who just seemed to point out restaurants and landmarks with no background information and another who was a bit surly and obviously in a rush to finish his shift. The first guide was right...he is the best. So Beantown tours should use Steve to train the others to ensure everyone who boards a trolley has as entertaining time as we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    24
    35
    44
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Informative and Insightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hop-on hop-off tours often are only as good as the driver-guide. Pat was an absolute delight with lots of useful stuff and Boston trivia. It took us a long time to find the tour stop. At the end of the tour we took the free 45 minute cruise on the inner harbour. All up it was a worthwhile tour which we used later in the day to get back from Boston Common.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fun Time in Boston!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I went to Boston for Columbus Day week-end on a college search with my husband and 16 year old son. Since no colleges give tours on Sunday, we decided to take the hop-on hop-off BeanTown Trolley tour. What a hoot! The drivers were all pretty darned funny (though I know a lot of what they said was scripted). It was a great way to get around the city and also included a boat ride (though my son had so much homework, we had to pass up the boat ride--next time!) We got to see all of the city's high points and learn a bit more about Boston. I would highly recommend taking this tour!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Got a free day ticket as part compensation for an unsatisfactory coach trip. Long wait for the trolley at times and frequently full if tried to board in the city. Other operators seemed more efficient. Ticket Included a free boat trip round the harbour which we enjoyed though.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Must be a better way to see all the sites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This definitely depends on the driver. Our first driver was worried about being late, which was annoying. When we got back to stop one we all got off because it was time for our drivers lunch, it then made sense on why he was worried about being late. At stop one we got off and took the harbor cruise, that was our favorite part. We were told when we bought our tickets if we got off the boat we won't be able to get back on but when we were on the boat they mentioned they pick up every hour. When ended up picking up a trolley at old Ironsides, it took about a half an hour. By the time we got on we wanted warmth, our second driver had a thick Boston accent, we couldn't understand what he was saying. We made it back to our original stop and called it a day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beantown Trolley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beantown Trolley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beantown Trolley to your Saves list