We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay in Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice Stay in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel was clean and fresh. I was surprised by how large the room was. I also appreciated the refrigerator in the room. The mattress could have been more comfortable. When I first moved in, I could hear the family next door, but once they left, it was very quiet. It is very well located to the convention center. I was able to take the Silverline bus back to the airport in about 8 minutes for $2.50.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    392
    105
    34
    15
See reviews for
141
219
62
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was in Boston for a conference with my company paying the tab so booked this hotel despite its HIGH price because it was so close to the convention center. Upon arriving I was excited to stay as the lobby was pretty fancy but that was over fast as it appears this hotel spent all their money on the lobby and now has to nickle and dime guests which is really just annoying($17 dollar a day Wifi cost). I checked out some of the hotels of my colleagues and they were nicer, slightly cheaper, closer to the convention center(if only by a block), and didn't have nickle and dime their guests. If your in town for a convention I recommend trying somewhere else as there are definitely better options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is sparkly and new, so I was excited to get to my room. Upon entering, I saw 2 of the smallest beds (called "doubles") I have ever seen in an American business-oriented hotel. I called the front desk to request a room with a queen or king bed and was told the hotel was already "fully committed" and there were no-- zero-- rooms with queen size beds anyway (just full and king).. I can't say the hotel is terrible but I believe the inventory of full size (rather than queen) beds makes it"poor". The front desk was unwilling or unable to upgrade me to a larger room. If you are under 6 feet tall this hotel will likely be fine for you. Note also that there are very few amenities around the hotel, which is convenient to the convention center (my reason for being here) but little else. 7-11 is the only place nearby to buy food.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel if you need a queen or king sized bed. They do not guarantee at the time o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Gerat check in experience. Very prompt and polite. Restaurant onsite but did not eat there. Fast elevators get you to your floor.

Room had modern decor, nice work desk, NO FREE WIFI (which irritates the crap out of me), super quiet HVAC system, and my room had a great view of the water.

Super comfy bed, well stocked bathroom with lots of room, refrig, coffee, and safe are included. TV was just OK as it wasn't working well, but all I wanted was the news.

I love this hotel, but they are proud of it with the rates they are charging. Get a deal if you're going to stay here or be prepared to dig deep into your wallet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel lobby was warm and contemporary. My room had more of a Colonial America feel, but it was clean and orderly with a partial ocean (mostly airport) view. I love Aveda products, so I was so happy to see them stocked in the bathroom. The bed was cozy and they had provided your choice of feather or firm pillow. I guess the only thing I missed was a plush bathrobe.

I was staying for a conference at the BCEC and location was very convenient. If you want to be outside the hustle and bustle of downtown this place is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights while attending Patriots and Red Sox games. We selected this hotel because of its proximity to the Barking Crab and South Station.
This hotel looked very nice in the lobby, and the check in staff were alright. The hallways to the rooms look very dated, and have very odd colour schemes. The wifi signal was weak in our room since we were the furthest from the elevator, and you have to pay for wifi unlike most other hotels. The housekeeping staff was very polite and kept the rooms very clean. The beds were comfortable and there is a nice view of the water from the hotel.
The biggest hangup I had about this hotel is the fact that it was so expensive for what kind of hotel it is. We paid almost 300 per night and it was simply average. Not worth the money, and you are better off staying at a chain and paying less for the same amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Hotel is in a newly developed area of Boston near the airport with Silverline shuttle bus right next door. Some good restaurants nearby but a fair walk from downtown attractions. We initially had a room on the 9th floor with two twin beds. We discovered that one of the beds had a broken frame and mattress was also broken. I am amazed that the cleaning staff did not discover it earlier. It was after 10 pm so took quite some time before anybody arrived to check it out. Turns out they did not have a spare bed so we had to move to another similar room on the 6th floor. Had a view of the harbour. The room itself was smaller than expected but comfortable. No second basin available but room was comfortable, clean and well maintained. The conference facilities and hotel catered food was excellent. Staff was generally friendly and helpful. Boston is a very expensive city and hotels are pricey. We paid a conference discounted rate but it was still close to $300 per night. The gym and pool were first class.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view. Traffic noise not much of an issue so lower floors OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Address: 606 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
#34 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Boston
Boston Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.