We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel just a bit far out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #36 of 77 hotels in Boston
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel just a bit far out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at the renaissance Boston waterfront for 6 nights in December 2012. We had a room which had two king beds in it as it was a family of four travelling, hotel is only 10 minuteds from the airport but you certainly never heard any noise from the planes. We got taxi to the hotel from the airport which was $30 and after using the T system on our return journey the four tickets only cost us $10. Hotel is modern with spacious rooms, rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels each day, shower was really powerful which is needed after sightseeing all day. The hotel location is too far away from the centre of Boston if you have kids with you, but you can walk to Boston Common in 35 minutes or so. Fabulous restaurants rights beside the hotel, the LTK serves delicious sea food and the No Name Restaurant situated on the docks, just across the road from the hotel had the best chowder and sea food served to us throughout our trip. All in all a good hotel just a bit far out

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    334
    88
    29
    14
See reviews for
113
184
58
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falun, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Close to several restaurants in the waterfront area, but approx. 20 minutes walking distance from the city, via a hood which isn't "that nice" in the night... Close to the congress center. Not for the romantic stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed in a clubroom with a co-worker for a conference in November. Much closer to the airport than I thought it would be - it was a quick cab ride away.

Check-in was a breeze. Staff were quick and the lobby was beautiful.

As part of a clubroom we had access to the club lounge. This is where we ate our breakfast during our stay. Breakfast was great and had a good variety of foods each morning. We also visited the club room at the end of the day for complimentary internet service and honor bar. The staff was always welcoming and friendly.

One morning I visited the gym in the hotel. I was impressed with their equipment for a hotel gym. The door was tricky to open with my room card and I had to try it a few times.

Our room was nice and clean, I expected the club room to be larger than it was. In the bathroom there was Aveda shampoo, conditioner, soap and mouth wash. Also a hairdryer, clothing iron and mini fridge. It seemed somewhat odd to us that there was only one bath robe in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here for a holiday party/business trip. The hotel lobby is beautiful and check in was very smooth. My room was incredibly clean and very nice. I usually stay in Hilton hotels when I travel for business, so this was my first in a Marriott brand hotel in a long time. I liked the decor of the room. They provided toothpaste In the room, which I always find to be nice. The hotel is located in a nice part of Boston, it seems to have a lot of nice restaurants and bars locally. I had a great view of the waterfront and some of the skyline. It was pretty close to the airport, barely took any time to get there.

There were a few things I wasn't crazy about, like the extremely expensive charge for wifi (I think it was $13.95 for 24 hours). Also the rosemary mint toiletries had an odd smell in my opinion, though perhaps that's just me. I did think it was slightly loud, I heard a gentleman in a neighboring room sneezing 8 times while I was trying to fall asleep and I was surprised I could hear it with such clarity. I also had a hard time controlling the room temperature at first but it seemed to level out as time wore on.

The bed was very nice and had great pillows! I did sleep fairly well. Overall, it was a good trip and I enjoyed the hotel, but I think I still prefer the Hilton brand hotels. I would definitely be willing to stay here again in the future if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Outstanding modern hotel with excellent rooms and service. There is a nice concierge lounge with excellent facilities. The workout room is very good. Decent bar in the lobby which had a good atmosphere. My only complaint would be against the $40+ / night parking fee although there are parking garages nearby which are cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
02832
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I paid over $350 per night (they said that was cheaper than using AAA) and I didn't sleep 15 minutes, collectively. You could hear showers running, people talking, the walls are SO thin. The pool was tiny, views were lousy (construction on at least two sides). The staff was great, they saved me by telling me where they go to eat, THANKS!

Everything was so expensive, very little included, room was small (yes clean), reminded me of every room I've ever seen, same old red stained furniture, same old TV/desk/combo. Same old decorations (the ones with that "not quite nautical" look)The food was so expensive! Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Ask about the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Fine experience, but they have balls the size of cantaloupes for charging me $17 a day for wifi in my room. I wasn't on business, was here for one night with my family, but the front desk didn't seem to care at checkout.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Address: 606 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Boston
#34 Family Hotel in Boston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Boston
Boston Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.