We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #41 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Boulder
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great two night stay with family. Average quality room and bath, nothing unusual or better than other Marriotts. Good gym, excellent breakfast and nice lobby bar. Computers in the lobby don't print. No good store or gift shop. Overpriced for what the hotel offers. But there is a Starbucks.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    351
    94
    31
    14
See reviews for
125
195
58
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BOSTON
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It is a shame that a recent stay at this otherwise fine hotel was so marred by the thin walls between the rooms. We could hear a moderate conversation word for word from the next room. Things were worse late that evening when there was a loud arguement in the hall for which I had to call security. Last, but not least, our neighbors were up bright and early - and noisy - the next morning. We did not leave very well rested. I will say that the room was very nice otherwise with a great view of Boston and the harbor. Finally, breakfast at the hotel was fair at best. I could not stay at this property again.

Room Tip: The only way to get a good room would be to have empty rooms on either side of yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you have the money, stay there....If you don't wan to spend the money, find something else!
It's a nice hotel, but definately over priced. Not even the internet was included in the 260 USD / night (special show rate). Nor the breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Granted, it is not in the middle of the thick of Boston's best, but I do like it's location, the fact it is quiet, it overlooks the water, and it gives me a reason to walk everyday to get to where the real deal is. It is very convenient to the Convention Center, which is the real reason I enjoy using this hotel when I am in town for a meeting.

The staff is always courteous, I have always been pleased with the fitness equipment/facility and the breakfast is good. Not a big fan of the dinner menu at 606, but this place is close to a legal seafoods, a legal test-kitchen, salvatores and a sports bar. A 10 to 15 minute walk (or longer) can put you across the water and into some really great restaurants as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I didn't stay here but attended a conference. Really courteous and helpful staff and great amenities. Food they served for lunch and snacks was delicious. Looks brand new; well maintained and fun decor! I'd definitely stay here if I didn't already live in Boston!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently had my wedding at this location. This hotel is perfect! I wanted a wedding on the water but didn't want to break the bank. Ashley was the coordinator and she was outstanding! She helped us every step of the way! If anyone is looking into a Boston Wedding, I HIGHLY recommend the Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon MA, USA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

stayed here for a conference that was held in the hotel. The room was large and comfortable. We were on the 6th floor -- very quiet.

Pleasant surprise -- no minibar. This was good because we had dinner at Legal's Test Kitchen next door and had room for the left overs in the small refrigerator.

This is a high end neighborhood, consequently the prices are all inflated. There was a starbucks in the hotel lobby as well as another starbucks in the lobby of the office building across the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Address: 606 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Boston
#31 Business Hotel in Boston
#40 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Boston
Boston Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.