We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, A Bit Remote from Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #42 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice Place, A Bit Remote from Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hotel was what you would expect from Marriott/Renaissance. Good service, nice amenities, up to date, clean. I stayed for 5 nights while attending a conference at the convention center. The room was nicely decorated, with a partial view of waterfront/bay, but nothing spectacular, view of most of the city is blocked by another building. Walking distance to the convention center, and several nearby restaurants. However, if you want to see the sights in town it will require a cab or some other form of transportation, and with a city like Boston, I doubt you would want to spend all your time in this rather isolated area of town. Room service was good and prompt, and as others have indicated, Starbucks on first floor for coffee and quick breakfast. I would stay again, if going to a conference at the convention center, but there are many more convenient nice hotels to stay at if you want to get a better feel for what Boston has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    368
    102
    34
    15
See reviews for
129
206
60
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

No complaints at all about this hotel. My wife and I arrived at the hotel after a long flight from England. At the airport we boarded a "T" bus which took us to within 100 yards of the hotel and the ride was free! Check in was straightforward and we had a room on the 11th floor which was spacious and clean. Spa and gym were excellent. Location is a 30 minute walk from the centre. Breakfast was excellent particularly the cold buffet and service was good. It is easy to get around and I would definitely this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was a great hotel for a one night stay with a fantastic front desk staff. The view was gorgeous and I was very happy to have a Starbucks in the lobby. The location is great for foodies as there are a few great restaurants right there and it is easily accessible to the waterfront.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in order to attend a congress at the Convention Center. It is only 3-5 min walk from the venue. I ate lunch at Bar and Grilll 3 times. It was wonderful. I recommend lobster sandwitch and steak (good small size for lunch). Restaurant for breakfast starts at 6:30 am on weekdays and 7:00 am on weekend. Morning buffet was very good. We can order omlet, fried eggs, or pancakes. Lobster omlet was delicious. The menu has a lot of variety. It is $23 including coffee and juice. I ate morning buffet everyday, which is very unusual for me since I normally become tired of the same menu. Waiters and waitresses were very courteous. Karim, Waiter, served us 3 times. He was very nice and pleasant. If you attend a conference at Convention Center in Boston, I highly recommend this hotel. It is only 10 min from Logan Airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

There is alot of new activity in the Boston waterfront area. There are many restaurants, and many different price ranges, shopping and the contemporary art museum within one to two blocks in each direction from the hotel. Tooms are large, clean, bright and very quiet which is a plus. The beds are very comfortable, and the staff at the hotel was extremely nice and accomodating to special requests. Bathrooms are a good size. It took a bit to adjust the room temperature to the right level, but that could be because of the changing air temperature outside. Starbucks coffee right in the hotel, also used by locals so it's not just a kiosk. The only negative, which really isn't that bad, is the parking which is not directly under the hotel but in the building around the corner. There are also several lots in a 1-to-2 block radius. Definitely stay here if you have activity in the Seaport district, but it's also a very short cab ride to downtown Boston. A bit far if your business is the other side of Copley Square towards Kenmore or in Cambridge. Worth the stay if you get a good rate through the hotel, or on a discount website.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at the Renaissance Boston Waterfront. We were spending very little time in Boston, so I chose the location because of its proximity to Menton restaurant, where we had a dinner reservation. Several bars and restaurants are within walking distance. The hotel is close to the Boston convention center, and the area definitely has that kind of "feel" to it.

Our room had a nice harbor view and was generally very good. We only had issues with the shower, which was awkward in that it was necessary to get inside in order to turn on the water, which means you'll get an initial blast of cold water. The shower also leaked through the door onto the bathroom floor.

During the day, beginning at around 9am, was a repetitive loud banging noise. It seemed to come from outside, but I wasn't sure. I recommend checking with the hotel about noise issues if you intend to sleep in during your stay.

Staff treated us well. My wife's recent Marriott Rewards status upgrade wasn't appearing in their system for some reason. The front desk did not give us a room upgrade, but provided us with club access and refunded our wireless internet charge, which should have been included anyways due to my wife's status. Breakfast in the club was only served until 9:30am, at least on weekdays.

Our room was booked as an award stay, which made it a pretty good value for us. I saw what the regular rate was for our stay and would have considered it a poor value at around $500 per night.

Room Tip: Harbor view was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Renaissance one night before a cruise. Admittedly, I used Marriott points to defray the cost. Most of the nice hotels in that area are not exactly inexpensive.

The room was comfortable and quiet. Our room had a small refrigerator and a one cup coffee maker. The flat screen TV offered about 50 channels, many of which were in real HD rather than analog mode. Free WiFi is available in the lobby. WiFi in the room had a fee.

Our stay was made more enjoyable by the proximity to restaurants, transportation, and the cruise port. The Silver Line 1 Bus costs $2.50 for each person to/from any Logan terminal to within a block of the hotel. We took a cab to the pier because it was raining a bit - fare $5.50 plus tip. We walked back from the pier to the hotel on the return from the cruise pulling our luggage. It was an easy walk. The Renaissance stored our luggage for us while we ate lunch and walked around the waterfront. We returned to Logan on the Silver Line 1 bus. The Silver Line bus stop coming from Logan is a block away from the Silver Line bus stop going to Logan. Both stops are very close to the hotel.

A deli is around the corner and across the street from Legal Seafood, Del Frisco, and a sports bar. A 7-11 and a Dunkin Doughnut stores ares nearby. We bought drinks, snacks, and pastries at the deli rather than snacking/drinking in the restaurants. Everyone in the hotel and in the area were very nice to us. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Address: 606 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#35 Family Hotel in Boston
#38 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Boston
Boston Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.