We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210 (South Boston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #37 of 77 hotels in Boston
Westfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was the host hotel for a conference I was attending. Clean room and bath. Nice view. No problems. Everything seemed newer/newish. I did hsvr to psy for the internet. I didn't eat at the hotel. Plenty of places are near the hotel. I had lunch across the street at Remy's. Legal Seafood has their test kitchen next door. The T was close by. Parking wasn't great. The garage is in a condo complex and you can access it from the hotel. Staff was very nice, especially when I couldn't find the elevators ( the lobby set up is a bit strange). All in all, a nice, clean place with stuff around it. Lots on construction going on (it wasn't a problem, looks like a lot of development is taking place in this part of the city). Qunicy Market is walkable (about 15 minutes). If it's a nice day, it's not a bad walk.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    329
    88
    29
    14
See reviews for
113
182
57
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed here as an overnight stay before heading home the next morning. We picked this hotel because it was about 15 minute drive to Logan Airport and it was along the water.

Pros:

The rooms were very roomy and the color decor was very relaxing. As with your typical Marriott chain hotels, there were ample "business" amenities... Staff was friendly, there was a starbucks in the lobby, a business center and very clean. You can see the planes taking off and landing from Logan in your room.

Cons:
Parking was expensive. Asked valet if there was self parking, he said that it was full (not sure if I believed him), so we had to pay the $42 for 1 night of valet. The Internet was not free. The way that the hotel is structured is odd as well. They structured it in a V shape and when windows are wide opened, you can very clearly see into your neighbors room. You can also hear planes taking off and landing. It's just a muffled boom though, soft enough where you don't notice it if you're not listening for it.

Other than that... I recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

First of all you have to remember that Renaissance Boston Waterfront is not waterfront. It is across the street from waterfront and therefore it offers a panoramic view of large buildings and parking lots on all four sides.
This hotel is seriously mismanaged. You feel this immediately upon arrival. It has this small driveway. The driveway is always clogged with some dead parked vehicles. Consequently, in order to check in, I had to circle the block three times!
They charge $42 for “valet parking”, but it is a sheer nightmare if you’ll try to use it. They promise to deliver your car within 15 – 20 minutes but it seldom happens. For instance, I had to wait for over 30 minutes while there was zero demand for cars. It’s not that they were busy, not at all. I stayed there waiting for my car while nobody did anything. They just don’t care. I asked to see a manager, but he was too busy to see me. This hotel does not own its own garage.
We’ve made August reservations back in June. They demanded full prepayment (which we did). Yet, upon arrival they had no room with two Quinn beds available as agreed. Consequently, a mother with two little children was forced to spend a night on the couch.
There are plenty of other hotels around with better rates, with its own garages and not as chaotic atmosphere.
Avoid it if you can.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here over the 4th of July. We took advantage of a sale that was going on. It's a really nice hotel. Especially for what we ended up paying for it.

The rooms were spacious and very clean. Except the brown hair all over my husband's pillow when we arrived. For a hotel with a 4 diamond rating to have someone elses clump of brown hair on their pillow for new guests is really the main reason why I did not rate them higher. Not quite what I was expecting. We did get the room on sale but Really???

The pool area was crowded and full of kids. Not a huge issue, we just didn't use it.

The resturant in the hotel was very good but the breakfast buffett seemed a bit overpriced to me. My husband didn't eat because all he wanted was a hard boiled egg and some melon and he would have had to pay over 12 dollars for just those 2 things.

The bar seemed reasonably priced and the bar staff was sooooo nice. We decided to avoid the masses for the firework show and the staff offered to let us watch the fireworks from a conference room. We didn't have to because the window in our room overlooked the city and we got a very good show from a distance.

They have an interesting choice for carpet throughout the hotel. There is absolutely nothing "wrong" with it but for such a nice hotel it was weird seeing primary color almost child like rugs.

Access to the T is very very close, this is also what appealed to us about this hotel. Doing the shuttle wasn't an issue at all. The waterfront area is nice. It's scale is kind of small and choices to eat are there but somewhat limitted.

I would stay there again but probably only if it was on sale again. :o)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel is great in that it has a great location-walking distance to restaurants and the stops for the sightseeing tours. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the amenities were fine. My only complaint was the customer service. The doormen/bellmen who stand at the curb did not greet us once during our entire stay. No one offered to help us with our bags-from the bell men to the front desk.

The front desk always had many desk clerks available but none seemed to excited to help us. Smiles were infrequent. On one day we asked to borrow an umbrella and the desk clerk told us there would be a $40 charge for the umbrella until we returned it. This wouldn't have been as irritating if the umbrella hadn't been a complete piece of garbage. She only offered us one umbrella even though there were too of us and then told us that we probably didn't need it because it was not currently raining. I am glad I didn't listen to her because there was a torrential downpour a few hours later and it drizzled the entire day. That being said-the umbrella still wasn't all that helpful. It was a piece of junk and kept turning inside out with the wind. We bought a second umbrella from the drug store.

We stayed here for 3 days, 2 nights and with the exception of the concierge who was very friendly and knowledgeable-the staff at this hotel is not friendly or helpful. I would not stay here again for this reason. The hotel itself is fine though.Also-the brand of shampoo/lotion they use which is Aveda is horrible and smells like garbage and patchouli.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Located on the newly redeveloped Waterfront. Easy enough to get a taxi into the middle of Boston; we also booked a Duck tour and the trolley picked us up. (Well worth doing the full one!). Nice well-appointed gym and good lap pool. We used the Starbucks on the ground floor rather than the (as usual) overpriced hotel breakfast. We booked a King room and a double for the family via booking.com and it was good value at $200 (plus a growing list of local taxes).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Indiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is a very nice hotel; it is close to several T stattions. However, it is NOT directly on the waterfront and is not immediately convenient to any restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Address: 606 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Boston
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Boston
Boston Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.