We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emily is a star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Liberty Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Liberty Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Liberty Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Charles Street, Boston, MA 02114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #34 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Emily is a star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The true mark of a great hotel is the staff, and Emily is a star, pleasant and welcoming.

The other reviews are fair about everything else - ambience, food, location, etc. I would happily stay again for the right price.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    164
    60
    19
    22
See reviews for
104
196
21
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Loved everything about the hotel.
Comfortable, luxurious, friendly staff and awesome atmosphere.
Beautiful building - they conversion from prison to hotel is what makes this place unique and still manages to have a modern vibe.
If you are looking for comfort and luxury, then look no further.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location is great, the quality of the service superb: being served with beverages while waiting for our check-in which, by the way, took a little time to be done because our room was not ready. Fortunately, it was very large and beautifully decorated. The staff was very friendly and the room service was quick and decent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLDOR, Director of Rooms at The Liberty Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for the kind words regarding our champagne check-in, luxurious guestrooms, and friendly staff. We really appreciate it!

Kind regards,
Brian L.
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I recently used the Liberty for a rare getaway night. Dakota at the front desk immediately understood that this was a special occasion and very nicely upgraded us; a great first impression. The room was quiet, modern and tasteful with a terrific view. Nicely appointed. We took advantage of a free sedan car ride to dinner at the Seaport - nice driver, and a nice service. Lunch the next day was at Scampo - the food was terrific although service could go up a notch. We didn't want to leave! Nikki at the front desk accommodated us with a late checkout and was gracious went we left, so our impression leaving was as good as it was in coming. Really nice hotel staff, neat décor and history, great food. I am simultaneously Hilton Diamond level and Marriott Gold, but experiences like this make me think about switching to Starwood.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLDOR, Director of Rooms at The Liberty Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you so much for this glowing review! To hear that we impressed you so much during your stay at The Liberty that you are looking to now become a loyal Starwood member is the utmost compliment. We appreciate this stellar feedback and look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Brian L.
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Came to Boston for a family wedding / holiday. Went straight from the airport and got there quickly and easily by taxi. (with my useful directions of "The Liberty Hotel please... the one that used to be a jail!")

First impressions - Very good with the large, expansive, ornate lobby area. It has lots of seating (and you would want to sit and appreciate it at least once!) but was by no means crowded at any point, even at the bar on the opposite side of the room from the front desk.
Check-in was painless (and included a free glass of wine) and we were headed to our room promptly.

Room - We stayed for 4 nights and had a corner room. The only disappointing part of the stay was the size of the room. You entered into a corridor which was about 4/5m long before turning left into the "body" of the room with beds, etc. It felt a bit wasted having such a large and mostly useless corridor as the room appeared smaller for it.
The room was nicely furnished and contained two beds and a long desk with work space, TV, minibar, safe, etc. There was only one chair, which we each became a bit possessive over, but we were never loitering in the room during the day too much.
The bathroom was very impressive with large, separate bath and shower (and obviously a sink and toilet in there too). Also enough space to store all the toiletries of several people. I had no issue using any of these and could operate the shower easily without my glasses on (My true test of how good a shower is as I'm fairly blind without them!). Everything was restocked daily without fail.

Wifi - Worked quickly and reliably from my experience. Was free for two/three devices but slightly extra for more (Phones and laptops for each person necessitated this). Perfect for email, social media or similar.

Nearby - There's a CVS nearby (literally, across the main roads) that you can get emergency supplies or snacks from. Beacon Hill is nearby for plenty of dining options (concierge was great for recommendations) and you can also catch the Trolley Tour from a stop here - though failing that everything is perfectly reachable by walking using a map and some determination!

Room service - Didn't use this but was available. You could get a free coffee from the lobby before 8am (might have been 9am) each day which was nice. Managed this less than I would have liked...

Summary: Good location, impressive place and good bathrooms. The one drawback being the room being slightly small for the price with a large and not useful corridor leading into it.

Room Tip: I'd probably avoid a corner room or "suite". As the location seems to necessitate a la...
See more room tips
Green Features: I admittedly wasn't there long enough to fully appreciate them but there were certainly efforts made towards this. (reusing towels was an option as were some other listed options)
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've stayed at the Liberty Hotel (using SPG points) twice in the last 8 months and have had pleasant experiences each time. As a category 5 hotel, the rooms themselves aren't overly impressive (think about a standard Sheraton hotel room plus some higher thread-count sheets and some brand-name shampoo), unless you get a city view room. The first trip we were on a mid-level floor and our windows looked out onto the brick wall of neighboring MGH - needless to say we didn't want to spend much time in there. The most recent trip, however, afforded us a fantastic view of Boston and the Charles from the 15th floor. One of the highlights of both experiences was the complimentary glass of champagne at check-in - it certainly eases any travel anxieties that you might have!

Having lived in Boston for several years, I always enjoyed coming to Liberty for drinks at Alibi, Clink or Catwalk - it's a great place to hang out at night and the bar scene gets quite lively (though I've never heard any noise in the guest rooms). Additionally, the hotel location is walkable to everything you'd need - 15 minutes to the public garden through Beacon Hill, 15 to Faneuil Hall, 25 minutes to Back Bay, and just 5 minutes to the Esplanade. It's also across the street from the Charles/MGH red-line stop on the T, which makes it even more accessible without being in the most "touristy" area.

Overall, I recommend anyone visiting Boston to stay at Liberty - it's especially a good deal if you can redeem SPG Free Nights. We look forward to staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city or river view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spectacular bird cage lobby, two popular bars, above average restaurants and ultra modern hotel rooms make this one of my favorite hotels. Bicycles are available for guests at no additional charge and parks along the Charles River include a scenic bicycle path right across the street. The main lobby originally housed prison guards who viewed the surrounding cells and prisoners in a surrounding large bird cage shaped room. Originally constructed during civil war era. Staff is attentive and responsive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liberty Hotel

Address: 215 Charles Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Liberty Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sun sets over an iconic architectural gem, where unrivaled views, indigenous flavors, and the vibrant colors of this timeless destination await. Once the storied Charles Street Jail, The Liberty Hotel welcomes guests to Boston with the spirit of a landmark liberated following an extensive $150 million acquisition, renovation, and construction process. Commanding style and elegance, this property accommodates 298 guest rooms, including a 2,200 square foot Presidential Suite and nine additional suites. With complimentary high speed internet access in all of our spacious guest rooms, business and leisure travelers alike will feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Liberty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.