We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Liberty Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Liberty Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Liberty Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 Charles Street, Boston, MA 02114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #32 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very cool one of a kind hotel. We celebrated our anniversary here and I am very happy with our choice.

We were fortunate to receive a room with a view of the river and city. It was stunning. The room was clean - not huge - but met our needs. I researched the rooms available and was glad that I asked to be on a high floor with this view.

Just wandering around the hotel was a treat. It is very historic.

It is in a good location for exploring Boston. Right next to a 'T' stop. Easy to get anywhere.

We were here mid-week and therefore did not encounter the lobby noise others have encountered.

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLDOR, Director of Rooms at The Liberty Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks for the kind words regarding our friendly staff and convenient location! We look forward to seeing you back at The Liberty on your next visit to Boston.

Kind regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    164
    60
    19
    22
See reviews for
106
196
21
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

In the historic Charles Street Jail, this has all the promise of being worth the exhorbitant room rates. Unfortunately, every single night, the two lobby bars turn into jammed singles bars with music playing at crazy decibel levels. Think Studio 54 meets 2013.


Sound bad? Tonight, the whole hotel had to be evacuated for a fire alarm at 1:30 AM. I guess that's inevitable on a Saturday night with 500 twenty somethings jammed into your lobby.


We're here for a graduate school reunion. I would not voluntarily stay here on my own volition.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLDOR, Director of Rooms at The Liberty Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Liberty is a Starwood Luxury Collection hotel with several outlets for drinking and dining. I am very sorry for the fire alarm that occurred during your reunion visit and wish this could have been prevented. We are passionate about guest safety and are grateful there was no emergency. As you experienced, our lobby atmosphere is energetic on the weekends, however I am not sure if you were able to take advantage of our Catwalk lounge on the third floor. This is an exceptional space for hotel guests to enjoy cocktails on our beautiful rotunda. We hope to provide you with a better experience in the future!

Kind regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Or it was! The architecture of this place is really cool. The exterior of the hotel is beautiful, and the lobby is very interesting. It was a prison until 1990 I believe, and more recently converted to a hotel. They have clever names for their restaurant (Clink) and bar (Alibi) and have left cell doors in place so you can appreciated what they have done with the conversion. The staff is very helpful (we found Boston to be a very friendly city) and the location is great. Next door is Mass General Hospital and out the front door is a train station, so getting around town is easy, inexpensive and convenient.

While I think they did a great job repurposing this into a hotel, they used purple backlights in places that de-class it. I wish they stayed with a more natural lighting instead of introducing the purple.

We stayed in the tower of the hotel that is an addition to the original building. Our room was nice, but nothing to write home about. Our window looked directly into offices across an alley way, and our bathroom was very understated. I expected more for $500 a night.

Again, the location is excellent. I walked or rode the T everywhere I wanted to go, and there are good restaurants within walking distance. One evening, we dined in the North End and walked back to the hotel afterwards. Can't beat that!

Room Tip: Try to get one that doesn't look across the alley staring directly into the offices there. We w...
See more room tips
Green Features: The room was $500 a night. On the nightstand is a card that says if you want to forgo housekeeping for a day, they will credit you $5 to spend in the Resturant. Really? I doubt Al Gore would even do that! 1% kickback? Are you kidding?
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLDOR, Director of Rooms at The Liberty Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I’m pleased to hear that you are a fan of the unique architecture and special history of The Liberty. Thank you for sharing this review and we hope to see you back on your next visit to Boston.

Kind regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My family and I had a fantastic time at this hotel and wish we had been able to extend our stay. The hotel was converted from a former prison and so the restaurant and bar there (as well as some of the décor) kind of takes off from that theme. The location is perfect. It's important since there is so much horrible traffic around the area-we were able to walk all around the Beacon Hill area as well as to the Science museum. The rooms were spacious and clean. We had excellent service. It looks like it has quite a night crowd of young folks. The inside of the hotel was really cool. When we go back to Boston, this will be the hotel where we stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLDOR, Director of Rooms at The Liberty Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I’m happy that you were able to explore the surrounding Beacon Hill neighborhood with ease! How wonderful to hear that The Liberty will continue to be your hotel of choice on future visits to Boston. Thanks for sharing this review.

Kind regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Luxury it is not. As a Starwood Platinum, the disappointment began at check-in. Had to ask for a bell man to assist with luggage (not apparent to the desk personnel to offer"). The so-called "upgraded,room" (1 level below a suite), a joke. The bed consumed most of the room space. The mattress substandard. The bathroom, small, cramped. Zero storage space. The clothes closet, totally inadequate. Luggage space non existent. Sleep, impossible, due to noise of "in room" air-conditioning unit..loud, intermittent .on/off operation.
Over all evaluation, other Starwood properties in Boston area are superior, even the Aloft and Element brands. The so-called Liberty "rack-rate" of $600, another ridiculous joke

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLDOR, Director of Rooms at The Liberty Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We sincerely apologize for your poor experience. This is not the impression that we want any of our guests to leave with. Had our service been more proactive (as it customarily is) we are confident that you would have rated your experience more favorably. I am sorry that a suite was not available but we do have some well appointed spacious rooms in other categories that I would be happy to discuss with you in more detail to prevent this from occurring again. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and preferences as a Starwood Platinum guest and I am certain that you would have a much better experience should you be willing to give us a second chance. I will be pleased to assist with your reservation details personally!

Kind regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

After trying their restaurant a few years ago, we've wanted to stay a night at the Liberty. Being New Englanders, we are familiar with the hotel's history as a historical prison - you cant help but imagine what was going on in the very spot you are partying in.

We didn't pay top dollar, we had a deal through Hotels Tonight, so I wasn't expecting much. However, to my surprise, the hotel staff were the friendliest I have run into in a very long time. We were checked-in in no time and handed a welcome glass of champagne before heading to our room. The room was very large, well appointed, and comfortable. The marbled tile bathroom was also large with a soaking tub and large stall shower.

We checked out the trendy bar, Alibi, for an hour or so, and then went to the private lobby lounge (for guests only) on the 3rd floor overlooking the activity in the bar below, It was so much fun being able to relax and watch the action below.

Brunch in The Clink the next day was limited, but very good.

The location is perfect, right at a metro station, and just a few minute walk to fantastic restaurants and shops on Charles Street. We walked to Bacon Hill for dinner, and then the next day through the Public Gardens to "The Pru" where we took a fun Duck Tour".

I can't wait to go back to the Liberty!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLDOR, Director of Rooms at The Liberty Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
What a stellar review! We can’t wait for your to come back to The Liberty as well! Thank you very much for this thoughtful and very detailed review. We appreciate the kind words and I will be sure to share your wonderful feedback with our staff.

Kind regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Check in experience was delightful; lobby is still nice. We stayed in 2008 on New Year's and it was glorious & have stayed a few other times but last week, our room, 301, was so knocked up that we wouldn't stay (not at $500/night). We travel frequently and the Marriott Residence Inn or Holiday Inns are nicer than this boutique hotel. All the furniture was damaged, the dust on the marble threshold was evident, the carpet was stained in many places, the painted walls all marked up. So, we called down and moved to 601, which was a slight improvement but I still got sticky from the carpet while in bare feet. Won't stay there again. There are many hotels in Boston and this one has definitely lost it's charm. Also, they advertise water as included in the room but it's only 1 bottle per room, which doesn't work when 2 people stay in a room. It was a jail...is starting to feel that way again.

Room Tip: Good for location, but Intercontinental or Boston Harbor Hotel is better value
See more room tips
Green Features: None...no recycling evident in rooms or hallway. Perhaps they "sort" after we leave but newspaper, glass, plastic & trash all went in one basket.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLDOR, Director of Rooms at The Liberty Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank very much for your return reservation, we are grateful to have you again as our guest! However, I am so sorry that this stay did not reflect the high quality of your previous stay. We recently shampooed the two rooms outlined in your review but we will revisit both of them again to examine the condition of the carpeting. I understand why you were disappointed but we still have a team that is dedicated to continuously improving our guest experience and ensuring guest expectations are met or exceeded. If we have not sufficiently made amends, will you please contact me directly at the hotel?

Kind regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liberty Hotel

Address: 215 Charles Street, Boston, MA 02114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Liberty Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sun sets over an iconic architectural gem, where unrivaled views, indigenous flavors, and the vibrant colors of this timeless destination await. Once the storied Charles Street Jail, The Liberty Hotel welcomes guests to Boston with the spirit of a landmark liberated following an extensive $150 million acquisition, renovation, and construction process. Commanding style and elegance, this property accommodates 298 guest rooms, including a 2,200 square foot Presidential Suite and nine additional suites. With complimentary high speed internet access in all of our spacious guest rooms, business and leisure travelers alike will feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Liberty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.