We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oishii Boston

Oishii Boston
1166 Washington St, Boston, MA 02118-4113 (South End)
617-482-8868
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oishii Boston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 2,672 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South End
Cross street: E Berkeley St
Transit: Silver line E Berkeley Stop
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

One of my favorite restaurants in Boston for any cuisine. Very inventive menu and a great room. Sushi is super fresh and dishes are tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    34
    10
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Talk about AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This place is fantastic. The sushi is fresh, the menu inventive, the cocktails tasty, and the ambiance great. One aspect of our meal took a while to come out--a computer issue--but they made up for it with a comp cocktail, and a 32-crepe-layered-green-tea-tiramisu. It was amazing. The seared hibatchi with shaved truffles, topped with caviar was quite possibly the best sushi roll I have ever had. You will pay a bit, but it is def. worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“South End Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Spent the last weekend in the South End during a big snow and sleet storm. The streets were miserable and it was a joy to wander into this cozy Japanese restaurant. We sat in the room with the sushi bar which I recommend because not only can you see the amazing array of seafoods on display but get to watch 6 top chefs assembling roll after roll. All the sushi was of the highest quality but what I enjoyed the absolute most was the spicy seafood soup with udon noodles. The broth was so rich, the noodles cooked to perfection and there was a ton of delicious seafood not all of which did I recognize. This quality does not come cheap but there are many individual choices in different price ranges. Check it out!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adaptible service, phenomenal, well-thought-through food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The staff was courteous, available, and willing to adapt to our needs (recent leg surgery, and a need for space around the table) and mistakes (being late and missing our reservation, and having to dine a bit rushed to make an 8pm theater event). The food was phenomenal--the famous/Food Network-featured dishes were all that was promised and more, and the more common fare/Japanese-junk-food gems like the Okonomiyaki were fantastic. If mushrooms are your thing, the wild mushroom sauté is great, and not (unlike many equivalents) soaked in butter, allowing the delicate flavors of the Chanterelle mushrooms to shine through. Little touches (like receiving our second course on plates that would ordinarily have been way too hot, since the staff noticed we weren't that far through our first course) really paid off. The prices are on the upper end of Boston casual-dining sushi (a little steep, but nothing compared to O-Ya), but that's as advertised; the ambience and attitude of Oishii is one that makes the prices unsurprising, and the quality of the food and service totally justifies the slight extra cost. If I had one complaint, it would be that the portion size was a bit inconsistent--foods from the same areas of the menu had dramatically different sizes: the Salmon On Fire is small-plate-sized, but the Okonomiyaki was a meal unto itself. That's a minor trifle, though: overall, I'd recommend this place for dates (formal and informal wear) and group dinners alike.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
1 review
“Pretty Ok!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Food is pretty good, but the price is a bit pricy! Most dishes were very artfully presented and tasted good! My favorite was the sashimi "boat" with 3! Different kinds off toro sashimi. Smoked salmon, salmon on fire, soft shell crab - all excellent! Will come back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oishii Boston also viewed

 

Been to Oishii Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oishii Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.