We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Boston to your Saves list
InterContinental Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canada, Kentucky
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“very satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

A high quality stay on all fronts. Excellent location, service, and room attributes. The most expensive continental breakfast I've ever ordered from room service was quite tasty, but no more satisfying than the buns and coffee obtained from Au Bon Pain at South Station (three blocks away) for one-fifth the price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Carrie Flynn Asst. Marketing Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 6, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding our in-room dining menu. It is our goal to offer the highest quality that we can at a reasonable cost to our guests. I understand that we did not exceed your expectations in this specific area. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    531
    131
    56
    47
See reviews for
392
673
127
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, IL
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

We experienced so many problems with this hotel it became a running gag. The beds were too small; they never gave us more than two towels despite requests for more. One day our room was never cleaned after several requests to have it done. The staff insisted it was our fault for leaving the do not disturb sign on, even though the sign clearly requested to have the room cleaned. They accidentally checked us out a day early and we had to stand in line twice to get that fixed. Each staff member acted confused and clearly disagreed about how to handle each problem we experienced. At the restaurant, it was the hostess's first day on the job and she couldn't answer any of our questions about the restaurant. I guess the only positives were the location and a nice looking bathroom. The price was tolerable only because we had a bargain rate. We won't be staying there again in any case.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Carrie Flynn Asst Marketing Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 6, 2009
We sincerely apologize for the service challenges you experienced during your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to provide the highest level of service and in this instance we clearly were not able to meet your expectations. The problems you mentioned are certainly not the standards here at the InterContinental Boston and we are taking the necessary steps to be sure problems like these do not happen in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and although we never want to learn that a guest has had a bad experience, comments such as yours allow us to take a honest look at our operation and make necessary improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Rooms are outstanding. Very modern layout with great furnishings and bathroom. Three bar/restaurants....all cool (if not expensive).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fla
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Paid $320/night

Pros:
- room is large, nice view of city avenue
- close to Faneuil Hall.. lots to do
- central to excellent restaurants, the seaquarium, financial district
- close to convention center
- pretty much right on the water
- Tequila-Sushi bar is small but neat; Rum bar is ok
- room service is quick

Cons:
- booked one large bed, but "punished" by reserving the room through expedia.com
- fairly long wait to check in
- unfriendly reception, other staff ok though

Overall: ok stay, other hotels such as Boston Harbour are nicer at the same price. Bostin is a beuatiful and walkable city. Do the Duck Tours and the Seaquarium!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Booked this hotel through priceline ($113/night) for a late spring weekend to see a concert and visit with friends. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was well outfitted althrough a bizarre "window" of sliding panels separated the bedroom and bathroom. Lobby and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. On the harbor side of the hotel there is a great patio area for sitting to enjoy a coffee or cocktail. The pool in the spa is nice, if a little on the small side for swimming laps. This part of the Financial District is a little dead on the weekends, so aside from the restaurants in the hotel, a walk or T ride is necessary to grab a drink or bite to eat. All in all a great stay and would be thrilled to come back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Location, Location, Location is everything in the financial district in Boston. I have to admit, for location it doesn't get much better than this hotel. Seated right on Atlantic Avenue and the Boston Harbor for it's backyard , there's not too many places that are better. You can walk everywhere for this hotel. The Freedom Trail, Hanover Street, and everywhere else that you would want to see without killing yourself.
The hotel is expensive and rooms are average, but if your wanting to walk Boston's historic distric, this is a great place to stay. No coffee maker in the rooms - you have to go downstairs to get a cup. Bathrooms are nice, flat screen t.v's, and the beds are decent.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

We drove from VA and went up to see the NCAA Lacrosse Championships at Gillette Stadium. Got the Hotwire room on the 4th Fl, across the street from the fire station, so sometimes you'll hear the sirens in the middle of the night. Room was clean, fine for us since we were never in the hotel except to sleep. Valet parking was $40 for 24 hours so be prepared to pay. Gillette was about 25 miles away and you have to go on a main thoroughfare so if it's rush hour, make time to go there. Freedom Trail is within waling distance, be prepared to walk alot, or take a taxi back from Bunker Hill back to hotel. It's also down the street from the Children's Museum. Hotel is pricey but clean and modern so if you just want a posh stay at a cheap price go to Hotwire or Priceline.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.