We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel by the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Boston to your Saves list
InterContinental Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel by the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Lovely spacious room with fabulous bathroom, only used the shower but the tub very deep. All areas of the a hotel were clean and staff were polite. We arrived a few hours before official check-in time but were allocated a room immediately. A short 10min walk to South station. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    531
    131
    56
    47
See reviews for
391
673
127
482
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Took a family trip to Boston and this hotel met our needs nicely. Our room was not ready when we arrived 1/2 hour before check-in, but they kindly gave us the option of taking a city view room right away vs. waiting for the water view room we had reserved. The room itself was spacious and clean, with a nice bathroom, although the beds were not as comfortable as would be expected for this type of hotel. Although it is in the financial district, which itself is pretty much deserted on the weekend, we walked all over Boston from this location - the Quincy Market area was just 10 minutes away. It was also nice to walk along the water and sit outside. We did not try the food at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear MorrisNJMom,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Boston, I’m very glad that we met your family’s needs. We always do our best to accommodate early arrivals and I’m sorry that we weren't able to do so on this occasion. Thank you for your compliments to our facilities and location – we certainly hope to welcome you and your family back again the next time you’re in town.

Best regards,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed at this hotel to celebrate a family event. It's pricey, beautiful, plenty of front desk staff prepared to assist with courtesy. As we had plans before noon at the spa, we hoped for early check in. They were clear they would accommodate if possible and they were able to let us into one of our rooms early which was a big help. The spa treatments were perfect and all 6 women had a great time and felt well pampered. Along about 7pm I realized a crib would be welcome, and a quick trip to the front desk resulted in a promptly delivered crib. Valet parking staff did great. First thing Sunday morning we needed one boarding pass printed. As we noted the business center was closed a staff member asked if we needed something. When we explained, he took care of it. As the title says, the service at this hotel, from the front desk, to the restaurant, to the valet parking, lives up to the promise.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Kath343,

It is such a pleasure to read your comments, thank you so very much for your outstanding review! I’m thrilled to know that each and every experience throughout the hotel went exactly as it should have and I am so thrilled that our team was able to thoroughly deliver a true InterContinental experience. We appreciate all of you compliments and hope to welcome you back again very soon for another great stay.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and 2 daughters, ages 12 and 15 just returned from a fun weekend in Boston. We arrived at the InterContinental early Friday morning and planned to leave around check out on Sunday. Since we were going to be parking for more than 48 hours, there was an additional $20 parking fee - but I was told this when parking and wasn't surprised by this charge when I was leaving.
Check in was delightful and a very, very gracious and helpful Lize checked us in. I actually found every encounter with every staff member to be outstanding. We stayed in a Junior Suite with a view to the Children's Museum. Yes, there was some rooftop there, but we honestly didn't chose this hotel for the views, but rather the location so we were perfectly happy.
You can not beat the location. We walked to the Aquarium, which is where you can also get Whale Watch tickets, trolley tickets and a host of other touristy type things.
We did not eat in the hotel. Instead we opted for local restaurants which we walked to. There is also a 7-11 near the aquarium, which was great for a drink, snack or even alcohol if we had wanted to purchase it there. We opted to walk to Fort Point Market, which had a very small and expensive food selection, but had a bunch of different beer and wines to choose from.
I also see why everyone raves about the bathrooms - I just HAD to have a bath in the fabulous bathtub and the toiletries were excellent. I am always cold and was really happy that they offered robes as well.
Overall I would definitely stay there again and I would definitely recommend the hotel if you want to be close to the sights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Excellent location.
The hotel and rooms, and are comfort.
Staff are nice and friendly.
One area to improve is to have buffet breakfast in all days of the week.

Definitely I recommend the hotel to Middle Eastern whom come to Boston for business or Family.

Subhi ; Saudi Arabia

Room Tip: Higher Floors and have marine view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

One night here. Curious arrangement with window between bathroom and bedroom. Room very comfortable slept like a log. Gym pretty good too. Good location short walk to back bay and north side. Didn't have breakfast - plenty little cafés around the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I come to Boston several times a year but hadn't been to the InterContinental in a few years because of bad service... however, I am so happy I went back :)
Check-In - Very Friendly
Location - walking distance to a lot of attractions
Room - I had reserved a city view room on the club level/concierge level, but I am assuming when I mentioned it was my birthday they upgraded us to a water view room. The rooms are a comfortable size with a very large bathroom with soaking tub and separate shower.
Amenities - They have a well appointed gym, spa and large indoor pool
Service - Outstanding. All of the staff is very nice and they go out of their way to make you feel special. The turn down service with chocolates is a really nice touch, but the champagne with chocolate cake and hand written birthday card was truly first class.
Thank you InterContinental for such a wonderful birthday surprise, I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I like a high floor, a way from the elevator. I think any view would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear dmacq,

We are always very appreciative when guests to allow us the chance to turn around a negative impression; thank you for providing us with this opportunity. It is great to know that every aspect of your stay was positive and we are so pleased that you had such a great birthday celebration with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town!

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#5 Green Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#9 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.