We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Boston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Boston

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Spa Packages!
Ranked #14 of 77 hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good choice in Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel several times over the past 5 years for business. What I like is it's very consistent delivery of quality services, friendly and competent front desk and bell staff, good value, and great location. The rooms are clean and quiet. I have stayed at several other InterContiental properties in the US and this one is as good as the others. The hotel's location and services make it a good choice for both families and business travelers. I didn't give it 5 stars because the room service choices are a bit limited and the quality, while good, needs to be better to rate higher.

Room Tip: They're all good. I'm in a room right now next to the elevators and I can't hear them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    888
    471
    119
    51
    44
See reviews for
326
549
112
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, about 10-15 minutes from the airport, and within walking distance to many of the sites in Boston - such as Quincy Market, north end.... There is public transportation ( south station) located less than 5 minute walk away. I stayed on the 12th floor, in a Club King Room overlooking the water. The room was nicely appointed, with a large bathroom and work space. The club lounge was very nice, offering a nice selection for breakfast, and evening snacks. It was a nice place to relax for a few minutes, and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: club level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Having stayed at many InterContinental hotels, I've developed certain expectations. This Boston property fell a bit short in many respects. Let me start with the positive before touching on the shortfalls:

1) The hotel is conveniently located--less than a 15-minute cab ride from Logan Int'l and less than a 10-minute walk from Faneuil Hall and the Quincy Markets.

2) The hotel has great meeting space.

Now for the shortfalls:

1) Room service--don't both. Both times I ordered it, my food arrived cold. For $50, I would expect at least a 'warm' waffle and 'warm' breakfast potatoes. Oh no, they were stone cold.

2) The furnishings are showing significant wear and tear.

3) The property seems to cater to Chinese clientele, which means the beds are rock hard.

4) The hotel's cleanliness is lacking. The lamps and tabletops in my room hadn't been dusted in ages, and the bathroom floor of my first room (I asked to be switched) hadn't been mopped. The toilet was also running incessantly.

5) Not the best value in town. I was able to secure a reduced rate of $199/night (down from $299) but this hardly seems a bargain.

Would I stay there again? If I had to, but I'd look around for another place first.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear travelitis9,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at InterContinental Boston. Although we are pleased you enjoyed our meeting space and convenient location, we are disappointed to hear that your overall experience was not up to par. We strive to provide our guests with consistent, high-quality service and in this instance clearly fell short. I have shared your comments with our management team and we are currently evaluating our procedures. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to make necessary improvements to our service and hope you give us another opportunity to provide an experience that exceeds your expectations.

Sincerely,

Michael Ditterline
Director of Rooms
InterContinental Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very well located, very clean, spacious rooms, high-quality Internet connection (a rarity these days). Highly advisable if you get it at a reasonable rate. If applicable, check parking rates too: they can be surprising.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Beautiful rooms- try junior suite specials with a good view on the water. Very friendly staff and above all extremely good food- Miel restaurant is sfinetely a place you should visit.
Rooms top notch modern, and clean.

Room Tip: Upgrade to jr suite and choose a room facing water. A way to get benefits is to become ambassador cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a whistle-stop trip up the east coast to New England. This hotel was amazing and was a real find. We booked it in advance, and got a great deal. The staff were welcoming and friendly and we were astounded when we received a knock at our door within an hour of our arrival with two bottles of beer, crisps and a note to wish us a great stay/night watching the Boston Celtics! Beautiful, immaculate and spacious rooms with a view of the boston skyline - you can either face the coast or the city.

Room Tip: If I stayed again, I would ask for a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked this hotel for a family holiday with my husband and two adult daughters. We all were pleased with the large, comfortable, well equipped rooms. The pristine bathrooms were huge with a separate shower cubicle.Every member of staff we met were friendly, polite and efficient. Breakfasts were overly generous and we soon learnt to share orders. The food was good and well presented but tended to be very oversalted! The hotel's location was ideal with most of Boston within walking distance. The only criticism I have is the charge for internet access which we found excessive, considering this hotel's rates, we would have expected this to be free! Overall we would happily recommend this hotel to anyone, just avoid the internet!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Boston 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.