We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip over Thanksgiving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Boston

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
InterContinental Boston
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Parking Package!
Ranked #16 of 77 hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family trip over Thanksgiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked this hotel for a family holiday with my husband and two adult daughters. We all were pleased with the large, comfortable, well equipped rooms. The pristine bathrooms were huge with a separate shower cubicle.Every member of staff we met were friendly, polite and efficient. Breakfasts were overly generous and we soon learnt to share orders. The food was good and well presented but tended to be very oversalted! The hotel's location was ideal with most of Boston within walking distance. The only criticism I have is the charge for internet access which we found excessive, considering this hotel's rates, we would have expected this to be free! Overall we would happily recommend this hotel to anyone, just avoid the internet!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    780
    432
    110
    50
    43
See reviews for
276
495
109
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I went to Boston with my fiancée to discover a new city in the USA.
The hotel is located in the financial district. It is 5 minutes walking from Union Station and 10 minutes from The Market. The hotel is really comfortable and nice.
We had a Superior room with waterfront view. Honestly the view was not as good as on the pictures because what they call waterfront is only a small area of water with 2 boats but you have many other buildings after the water so you don't have a complete view on the bay. Maybe try upper (we were on 7th floor).

But the room was so nice. There was a wood window between the bathroom and the bed so you can open it and enjoy the night and the stars from your bath. Alone or with your husband/wife it is so good ! You can have a nice music on the iPhone station to complete your romantic night. The bathroom is huge, with big shower and profound bathtub. Large mirrors.

The staff is really nice and many services are available in the hotel. A big indoor swimming pool, health center, spa, 3 restaurants/bar: A French brasserie and a sushi bar.

You have a concierge at the entrance and he will provide you all the information you need to enjoy your stay in Boston.

Good place for working people also, with a large desk and many conference and reception rooms in the hotel.

So whatever your personal status and the reason of your stay, you will find everything you want in this hotel.

I highly recommend it !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My second visit to this relatively new, stylish and modern hotel which is located both very close to the business district of Boston and Logan Airport. I got upgraded to a huge club room with a fantastic view. The service was good, with a reasonably priced breakfast at the French style restaurant, and a very well equipped 24 hour state of the art gym. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The rooms here are pretty large, with plenty of room for the bed, bench at the foot of the bed, desk, and so on. The windows are also large, and there was a decent view of the street and the nearby buildings.

I really liked the bathroom too. The wall between the bathroom and the bedroom had a sliding screen in front of the tub, so you could sit in the tub and look out the window or watch TV. There was also a shower.

I booked an executive level room, so I also had access to the lounge, which served a pretty nice breakfast in the morning. There was smoked salmon, some fruit, and some pastries to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The room was nice. Thought pretty tacky to charge $14.95 if you wanted wifi in room when the rooms are already pretty pricey. Our room had a view directly into another building where we could see office workers at work. Pretty weird, but you are in a city. People all pleasant. Good location but I was at a conference at this hotel for 2 days so didn't get out much. Parking pricey at $40 per day but again you are In city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great hotel, location & service! The rooms were modern & clean. The lounge area is great...service was excellent! AND....there is a Sushi restaurant in the hotel!!! The breakfast items are a little to expensive! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

What a beautiful hotel. The rooms were small but well appointed and extremely comfortable. The food and the spa were both fantastic. I felt that the hotel was easily within walking distance of many attractions here in boston (I am a walker though). I walked into Chinatown for dinner and drinks and into Faniel Hall for some shopping. The staff was wonderful. My only complaint would be my view...I happen to get a room that looked out at the building under construction next door. Oh well. I had a great stay every thing was clean. Parking was expensive and valet is really your only option but they have a good in and out policy and I walked most anywhere so it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Boston 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the very spot where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution, InterContinental Boston puts you at the heart of history in ultra-modern style. Adjacent to the Financial District, our gleaming glass towers are a short walk from Faneuil Hall, Back Bay, Chinatown, Beacon Hill and the Boston Convention & Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.